Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Happy Valley School

Charter | K-6

 
 

Living in Peoria

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $232,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

103 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2006

May daughter started kindergarten this year and its amazing! She is reading and doing double digit math with great success. The teachers and staff are fabulous and its a great place for kids to learn and be. We are very happy with Happy Valley School. Awesome Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

My daughter started Kindergarten at Happy Valley School this year. She reads to me, she can read signs, labels, and even words we try to spell out so she doesn't know what we are talking about. She can do addition and subtraction with single and double digits. Every Friday they have ten spelling words plus two bonus words. I have never seen children who absorb so much information and get so much out of a wonderful school like this one. Our daughter loves all of the teachers and staff. She can name all of them. Her teacher always keeps me well informed! They also have music, art, and sports after school. My daughter takes art class once a week. I can't wait for next year! This school has surpassed all of my expectations! I highly recommend Happy Valley Basic School to anyone and everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

My son has learned a lot and is still improving. There is plenty of Activities available. Tons of Parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

Very pleased with school. Daugher is currently enrolled for her second year. Teachers seem to be very hands on with each child, and most if not all grades have an assistant that is also continually hands on with children. There is usually one oportunity a month for parents to come see 'something' going on at school. They send out flyers quite regularly with mini concerts (performed by the children), to class 'get-togethers' (usually focused around a nearby holiday). I've attended a few of these, and usually the school is packed with parents from all grades. There are extracurricular activities, which vary from time to time between sports and enrichment (art and music). Overall we are very happy with the quality of schooling our daughter receives here, and will stay as long as there is room.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

My son has gone to this school for 4 years and my daughter for 2. They are getting the same education at this fabulous school that my son received in a very expensive private school. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

I love the variety of subjects they offer as a mainstay. The familiy atmosphere is a welcome change to the big public schools. I just wished they offered more in the way of after school activities such as track and field or baseball and basketball teams
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

Academically, it's very good. Kids are more advanced in reading than other schools. But they are lacking in extracurricular activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

We love the family atmosphere at Happy Valley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

happyvalleyforum.com is an awesome user-friendly free bulletin board for parents to network, keep each other informed, and express opinions. It is totally free and created by a HVS parent. Teachers can even have their own section to post homework and class announcements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

This is the best. My daughter is in 2nd grade there this year and I am still surprised at what she learned last year. She knows her complete multiplications and the spelling is unbelievable. My whole family is completely amazed. I cannot say enough about this school. Maybe thats why there is a waiting list that by the way is well worth the wait. You have to try it to believe it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2005

Academically the school pushes the children to learn advanced skills, such as the entire multiplication table in 1st grade; yet my child is still trying to master addition and subtraction. I was not impressed. We will be leaving and going into the Deer Valley School district. I can say that the music program is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

Quality of academics at this school is fantastic. I'm not very familiar with the availablity of extracurricular activites, I know they have them but are limited. Parent involvement is not encouraged but it also isn't rejected. That could use improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

Over all I think it is a pretty good school. I have had some minor problems with the after school sports. Days would change without notice and make up days would be made without notice, I have also had some problems with the bus not coming on time. They would be early and leave or just come late. The teachers are great and the after school daycare is very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

We have 3 boy's attending HVB and are so impressed, we are gladly enrolling our 4th child. We are impressed with the cirriculum, the philosphy of providing more than just the 'minimum's', the manner of teaching, the teaching staff and the school's code. When I say code, I mean the idea of teaching children good values, honesty, respect and responsibility. They have dress codes and they dress appropriately. If your thinking that is sounds more like a military-like environment, it's not, but more like when I went to school. Not like now where the boys wear their pants down to their knees, piercings, etc. To sum it up, a wholesome site for education and growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

Happy Valley Basic School is a great school. The teachers are very attentive to the childrens needs. It is teaching the way teaching should be. All the teachers are great. I recommend this schhol daily to people. We love going there. They get spanish from kindergarten through sixth, which I think is great because we live in AZ and it gives them a basic understanding of the languuage. They also have health, computers, music, and PE. They have assemblies weekly where the children are involoved and they teach the children good morals and beleifs. Excellent school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

This school is great at teaching the basics for reading and math. However, they lack on the enrichment programs. There is no library or art program. The class sizes are very large. They are sitting at 38-50 students in Kindergarten and 38 students in 1st grade. They do have a teacher and one full time aide in each classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2004

We are a past Happy Valley family and had a wonderful experience at the school. Admin was great, teacher were supportive and communicated well. Class sizes kind of large.. but other than that ..great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

I have two children attending this school, one in first grade, and one in second. They love school and learning more than ever. They are more challenged acedemicly with less out of school work. I am surprised at the amount they are able to teach my children with minimal homework. The only required homework is to read everyday. One of the schools main focuses is reading comprehension. They also teach spanish and computers to every student. Another added bonus is that they provide bussing. The music performances are great. I will be enrolling a kindergartener for next year in their free all day kindergarten program. I am very please with the parent teacher communication. The teachers communicate daily if wanted through the students notebook or will have set up a p/t conference any time. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2003

My son started K in a charter school then went to a horrible experience at a public school. We found Happy Valley school for grade 2. This is his third year at Happy Valley, he loves it and is very proud that he is learning grade 5 and 6 year words and math problems in grade 4. The ability based placement helps children at the same level learn together. Slower kids learn at a slower pace without feeling bad. Quick learners move quicker. The teachers truly care about the academic acheivement of each student and my son has loved every teacher he has had. The music program rocks and the computer class is great. A very well rounded cirriculum focusing on basic math and reading because once kids have the basics they are set to excel beyond the basics. Go Happy Valley! My Number 2 will be in Kindergarten next year there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2003

We have 1 child currently attending HVS, and he has done so well, if we were to move farther away, we would find a way to bring him to this school, that is how impressed we have been. Most importantly, he loves going and has learned so much-what more could we ever want in a school? Very highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 10% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A47%
Female 54%N/A49%
Male 46%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7140 W. Happy Valley Road
Peoria, AZ 85383
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 376-2900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Candeo Schools
Peoria, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT