Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Country Meadows Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2014

My daughter started kindergarten at Country Meadows this year. It's not even a full month into the school year and I am already pulling her out. She has an IEP for speach and yesterday she was placed on the wrong bus home. I was never informed by the school about what was going on, it was my 13 year old son that contacted me. When I got to the front office I could hear one of the office staff telling to assure me that everything was fine and they had finally found her on a different bus. I was very upset I began to yell when they had a police officer approach me to tell me there were laws against my behavior. My response was what about the lsws against loosing a child. Not once did we receive an apology for what happened and the follow up phone call I was supposed to receive from her teacher (the one who put her on the wrong bus in the first place) never came. The response I got from the the staff and principal was well these things happen. My child wasn't the only one put on the wrong bus that day. If you aren't concerned with the safety of your child by all means Country Meadows is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2014

I find it very difficult to give this school, Country Meadows Elementary, any star rating. My student was treated very poorly. For my student it began on meet the teacher, then when school started the teacher was very mean and uncaring toward my student. She was even rude to myself at parent teacher conference. When the teacher started to ignore notes from my students doctor, I brought this to the principles attention, and when the teacher was spoken too, things got worse for my student. My student had to see the doctor more often then normal. My student ended up developing severe stomach issues. I ended up removing my student from this school, it's a shame when a student is told they are not allowed to go to the nurse and then the student gets sick in the trash can and in front of all to see. Also I didn't realize that a student of age 11 is able to sign a legal document from the truancy officer without a parent present. If that's the case what do you need a for, why not just let the student sign all paperwork and make all of their own decisions, if they can sign a paper that gives them a juvenile record what do they need parents for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

This school is helpful and on top of things. My son is enrolled this year. He is starting 4th grade. His is special needs and the teachers are very helpful and adaptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

This is an awesome school All of the staff has been wonderful. Thank u Country Meadows for all ur staff and everything they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

Run do not walk your children away from this school. If you ask around to other schools in the area, or do your research you will find this school has a horrible track record of unsatisfied parents, bullying, and outright lack of education or proper administration period.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

My experience with Country Meadows Elementary School has been excellent! Every staff member I have encountered, especially the principals and office staff, have been wonderfully supportive and genuinely caring about the academic and personal success of their students. Their commitment to improvement and the overall quality of their school environment has been inspiring and I look eagerly forward to all future collaborations!


Posted October 7, 2011

My daughter started attending country meadows in kinder and is now in the 2nd grade. I heard some not so nice things about the school but decided that I would see for myself if I like the school. Obviosly it's going well because my daughter is still attending! There is always room for improvement but my daughter has been blessed with amazing teachers like mrs. Miller and as long as that continues I will keep her here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

I hate to rate this so low. The teachers have been great. But It seems my child is not being challenged at all. I know what my child is capable of, but I am not sure that the teachers are prepared to really push the children. For example, there should be a lot more science and technology taught, this could help improve math scores. I am not a teacher.. But I know that for a fact. The homework that my child brings home...really only takes 2 minutes to complete. And its with very little help. I know my child can do more, and would if challenged. I am giving the teacher a few months to notice my child's strength, if I don't see progression, I will need to take him from this school, and try another school. Especially in science and technology. My child wants to be a scientist, and I want to do what I can as a parent to aid that. Again, the teachers are nice, and so is the staff. But I don't think the quality of education is where it needs to be. One year, they didn't even send homework home, because they were trying to cut cost by not printing as much paper.... All I could really say is...seriously? I can send paper. I really don't want to transfer my child, but may need to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2010

My daughter has attended Country Meadows for the last 7 years. I know a majority of the staff there personally, and I can honestly say that they are some of the most dedicated, hardworking individuals I have ever met. They truly care about all the students that attend this school. Having said that, Country Meadows houses one of the largest student populations in the state (I believe they are #2). Its large school status presents a unique set of challenges that other schools don't have. This coupled with the fact that many students who attend Country Meadows come from low socioeconomic levels, may contribute to the school recieving the derogatory label "Country Ghettos". I believe this is an unfair characterization of the wonderful staff and students. My suggestion is GET INVOLVED! Become part of the solution, not the problem. Build up instead of tearing down. Isn't your child's education worth It?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

This school has excellent teachers and know how to teach. I loved when i went there. I'd recomment this school to anyone.


Posted January 12, 2010

Great Staff, and parents who volunteer routinely to enrich our student's lives
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

This school is so bad that we moved out of state so that our child could get a real education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

I definately dont agree with the reviews below me. They are parents that arent attending Country Meadows. I know Country Meadows is a Great school and people are mistaking it for 'Ghetto Meadows' which is not at all true! It has great teachers, academics, and best of all spirit. I would recomened this school to anyone available to go. (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2009

Where to start.....from the sorry administration's lack of discipline, to the endless stream of quality teachers who run screamining from the campus after a year of trying to get through to the most pathetically ignorant & disrespectfull studunt body I've ever come across - this school is a complete failure! Country Meadows has become the dumping ground for the Peoria districts trash students. Parental involvement & suppport is completely absent both on campus & in the community which has unfortunately taken it's toll on the school & the handfull of respectable students that are left there. If there was a negative rating available, that's what I'd give Country Meadow's Elementary School........it's administration, it's faculty, the student's & their parents! If you're looking for a school capable of providing your child with a quality education in a safe learning enviornment, then look elsewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I have two daughters, one started at Country Meadows when it was first built, she was in 4th grade. It started out as a great school, Mr. Rodriquez seemed plugged in and both Mya's Dad and I were pleased with the teachers as well. Then I enrolled my second daugther into Kindergarten when our older daughter was in 6th grade,but I started noticing around 2006 that the office staff was getting lax with attentiveness, and professionalism. I sensed a growing deterioration with the kids that were getting enrolled and attending Country Meadows, trouble makers, bully's, thieves and taggers. The school was being called 'Ghetto Meadows' by other schools. Mr. Rodriquez was severely lacking in leadership. My kindergardener is now in 8th grade. Dr. Graziano has taken over and with his no nonsense approach, I think this school has a fighting chance of coming back to its early day glory.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I do like the teachers at Country Meadows, however I don't feel my children are getting the best education. Unfortunately there are so many hispanic students with non English speaking parents and they get most of the attention. I'm not impressed with the office staff. They tend to ignore you. And I'm extremely glad Rodriguez is gone. I think he was a horrible principal. I only hope they get someone in there that actually cares about the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

Teacher turnover is the highest in the district! Principal is not involved and very hard to reach. School is overcrowded and district drags their feet in solving the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My daughter has attended this school for the past 3 years, K-2. I totally agree with the other parents on this site who say that he principal is totally uninvolved and ignores the parents. He is impossible to reach and will not return phone calls. Teachers are the bottom of barrel and even if they were decent teachers, they would be simply overwhelmed by the sheer mass of children they have to deal with. If your child is even slightly above average in intelligence and performance, I urge you to switch schools immediately. This school completely teaches to the lowest common denominator and any child above that level should leave this school and never look back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

Well my son has been there for three years now very impressed with all that he has learned and very disappointed that we have to move his schools , we are moving will be missed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

Country Meadows is one of Peoria's 'mega-schools' which comes with some challenges. There are a lot of students, but I have been very, very pleased with the education K-3. The staff members are dedicated and classroom management has been good. I would like to see more leadership and communication from the aministration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 43%
White 45% 42%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 412-5207

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8409 N. 111th Ave.
Peoria, AZ 85345
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 412-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Crown Charter School
Litchfield Park, AZ


Luke School
Glendale, AZ


L. Thomas Heck Middle School
Litchfield Park, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT