Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paradise Valley High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2014

I have thoroughly enjoyed substitute teaching at this awesome school. The student body gets along well with one another and are respectful of their teachers. I accomplished a lot of academics when I subbed there. I especially love the block scheduling and teaching upper level Spanish classes. There seems to be a community atmosphere at pv high school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 2, 2012

I LOVE this this high school and the block scheduling! It affords so many more opportunities for students to explore electives while still getting everything they need academically. I have two honors students there and they receive excellent instruction. Their teachers care, and there are many, many after school opportunities. The administration is great and very responsive. Every concern I have ever had has been addressed immediately and to my complete satisfaction. I like that the CTE and Crest programs are there so there is something for every student. The opportunities for academic and life skill exploration are boundless! High School is where kids should be trying on different academic and skill hats to see what fits and PV offers and encourages that. Great job PVHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

Paradise Valley High School is under new leadership with a great new principal that is very involved in all aspects of the school. I wish that my student would have had all four years with her, she is student and parent friendly. My son graduated with honors, academic scholarships and was a full time student-athlete.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

^^^^^^^ lies the admins. is very nice,and helpful. and if you hate them then something is wrong with you because my daughter was a teacher aide and they only treated her with the most,utterly respect anyone could be
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

My son has had a very successful academic career @ PV. He has played sports and has been involved with the many activities that the high school has to offer. If anyone has a negative comment about the school it is because they are a student that does not put their best interest forward or someone from another school trying to better their school by defining our school by its boundary lines. Nothing could make me happier than to see the real world represented at PV. Young men and women trying to make a great high school experience by having a great education with many veteran teachers that care about the progress of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Our daughter just completed her freshman year. I found the teachers she had to be above average and very helpful. I like the block scheduling as it is better preparation for college and life application. Her involvment in the Band was the best thing for her as a freshman because of the family aspect. The upper classmen adopted the freshman so that by the time school started, the freshman weren't left out on a line to face the new challenges of HS. Parental involvement is also a key to classes and organizations. I even loved hanging and working with the band - great bunch of kids and parents. I guess my only complaint would be in communications. I believe if the school is going to have web sites for the teachers that they should be required to use them. They are great way of communicating with the parents if used right.T
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

My son is getting exactly what he needs at PV. The band and robotics programs are outstanding. Academics in regular classrooms are not strong enough, so he will be taking AP and honors classes next year, which I hear are excellent. Block scheduling makes both academic and extra curricular classes work much better. Students are held accountable for their work, so this may not be the right school to improve a student with discipline problems because they probably just flunk out. It is not clear to me that the school administration would be able to help. My son is attending this school out of district for the band program and excellent availability of vo-tech classes. Robotics is a plus (and they won state in 2008).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

Pv has a terrible admin. great teachers. but a horrible administration, which is the backbone of a school. With a bad backbone you will always fail.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2008

I love PV and I can't imagine going anywhere else. I have so many opportunities for AP classes and college credits that I couldn't get elsewhere. I love the block scheduling more than anythign though. I really feel that it helps me to learn more and to really comprehend the information. By the time I graduate from PV, i could already be a sophomore in college because of all the college credit opportunities I am receiving.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2007

Poor when it comes to instruction to student's with learning disabilities (ie dyslexia). High student grades give the illusion that the student comprehends the subject. My student passed without learning at grade level. My student cannot read or write at grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

My children have had a great experience at PV. My AP/Honors students have a wide variety of classes to choose from. Caring helpful teachers and staff. Great opportunities for participation in activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

If the students take part in the AP and honors courses the education is excellent. The environment at PV is very diverse and it helps prepare students for the real world. There aren't as many problems with the students compared to other schools nearby. I wouldn't have my daughter go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

My son just graduated from PV high school. I was not impressed with the academics at this school. I agree with someone elses comment here that it's a day care for teenagers. He had several ineffective barely competent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

We currently have two son's @ PV.One son is a senior,and will graduate this year with several option's in r/t (College/Sport Scholorship) opprotunities in both Division I & Community College.Our other son is currently a Junior taking AP classes,as well as,next year.He has also participated in athletic's and was recommened by PVHS staff to represent PVHS as a'Boy's State Representative'.I feel I need to mention we moved our family of '6' to the 'PVHS' from 'DVHS'in Ahwatukee,to seek a school that not only promoted student accountability & responsibility.We wanted a school that had our son's best interest at heart,not their's.I needed a school that was honest in communicating with me as a parent.My husband & I couldnt be more supportive or confident in the abilities as well as the motivation of PVHS Administration & teaching staff in wanting nothing less than the best for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

I feel that this school is only okay. Fees are also outrageous. That's the district's fault, though, I believe. Overall it's an okay school, not great, just okay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

Administration is poor. This is a critical part of the schools system. Mr. Van Buren rules!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

This is my son's 3rd yr. at PV. He has jazz at 630am, marching band at 730am and then all his academic classes after. At the end of this yr he will have 26 credits. The extracurricular activities are awesome at PV. The band and football parents are almost over involved. Without the the parents being so involved, the band and football staff would not be able to do the job they are doing so well. There are extracurricular activities before and after school, it's your choice to be involved or not. I can't say the same for ALL the teachers or the administration, unfortunately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

PVHS needs to focus on academics and not waste money on extra curricular activities. It's a good school but it need improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

This school was wonderful. Id recommend it to everyone! I loved it and learned so much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2005

This school is a day care for teenagers!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

439 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

443 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Hispanic 39% 43%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3950 E Bell Road
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Prospect School
Phoenix, AZ



Pvonline
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT