Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sonoran Trails Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 802 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2012

STMS is an excellent school. We have been so pleased with the quality of the teachers, their enthusiasm, their knowledge and their ability to incorporate 21st century technology into the curriculum. They bring a fresh approach to teaching which has engaged my child and increased their enthusiasm about learning. The principal and assistant principal have a strong presence at the school and are always available to both the parents and the students. STMS offers World Language as a core class, so students have language instruction in either French, Mandarin or Spanish daily. I would highly recommend this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

I have a son that is finishing 8th grade this year. STMS has really turned around with the new administration. It is the only middle school that offers a complete world languages program with daily language classes. We've encountered caring teachers that are willing to help kids that want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

STMS is a great school. The teachers are always very helpful and available at any time. The principal is very involved with the students. My daughter really enjoys going here. I recommend STMS to anybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

STMS is an excellent middle school and we feel so fortunate to have our daughter there. I was anxious about the school before she started, but the school completely exceeded my expectations. She was challenged academically, she was held to high expectations from the teachers and she has really grown this year. Discipline problems exist in any middle school, but the principal of STMS has a huge presence with the kids and his expectations are clear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

STMS is outstanding. We have been so pleased with the quality of the leadership - very grounded and the teaching staff are outstanding. My children are very happy and doing quite well. Issues are handled well and the teachers care a lot about their students. Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

We are from Europe and we moved to AZ a few months ago. Our son is currently at Sonoran Trails and really this is the worst school we have ever seen. Academic level is really extremely low, classes are more than full and there is a huge bullying problem going on. Some students are organizing themselves in little gangs and the lady who is in charge for this kind of problems doesn't want to hear about this matters happening in her school. Panels with 'no bully' are everywhere to find but again the person who is in charge has a very strange strategy to resolve the problems, she keeps the bad kids in the classrooms and school transportation and suspends the victims that are trying to defend themselves! Pretending there is nothing wrong going on. Really disappointed....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

3 of my children have gone through STMS - two are now in HS and one is in college. STMS has been a outstanding exper. for all my kids. The front office staff is very welcoming and the teachers are very committed and caring. The communication between parents and teachers is wonderful. Newsletters are very informative and interesting to read. Administration seems to be very committed to a well run, successful middle school experience for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

My daughter spent 3 successful years at STMS and is off to high school. As middle schools go, it was a good place for my motivated daughter. She had excellent teachers and great opportunities. She was involved and hardworking and got the most out of her experience. I think she is well prepared for the challenges of high school and AP course work. Parent involvement is encouraged and I was happy to have a network with other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

I've got one student in Sonoran Trails and another who is a past student in H.S. The quality of teaching is suspect. I've grown so disappointed with the academics at the school that I am looking to move just so I can enroll me kids in a better quality school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

Sonoran Trails provides a high quality academic program. The school offers a variety of elective subjects and sports programs. Their strength is in the welcoming atmosphere for parent involvment and genuine caring for studnets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

Academically, STMS is right on par. They have a staff of caring teachers who have really helped my son this year. They go out of their way to stay connected with both the student and parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2005

OK school that could be better - class sizes are much too big. The student population isnt very diverse which is reflective of the community. Teachers seem to know their students well which must be a challenge given the class size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

Need more organized gifted/honors programming; the district is working on this but not there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2004

Somewhat disappointed in overall middle school. I like the idea of the longer class times but do not feel that the time is used wisely in some classes. Would like more emphasis on achievement and music.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

I have one child currently at Sonoran Trails and another entering 6th grade this year. Our family loves the staff and teachers we have encountered. The teachers are very dedicated and go above and beyond the call of duty. I would like to see more technology in our school. I am a working mom who wants my kids to be sucessful in school. These teachers work hard and deserve all the support they can get. Sonoran Trails is a great school in a great community. Keep up the good work! We will keep pushing for better technology to communicate teachers needs and students progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2003

STMS has an extremely dedicated staff that bends over backwards to work with their students. Discipline is high and in some instances a little over the top. Implementing the new math program to students in middle school is ridiculous and has to be the reason why the students did so terribly in math testing. Many parents moved their children from the CCUSD to private or charter schools because of this math program. Get rid of it and get back to basics!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 42%
Hispanic 8% 42%
Asian 3% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 6%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 272-8699

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5555 East Pinnacle Vista Drive
Phoenix, AZ 85085
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 272-8600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT