Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Biltmore Preparatory Academy

Public | K-8 | 300 students

We are best known for accelerated academics.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

59 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 28, 2010

This is a great neighborhood school for my kids, we considered many other options when searching for a school. I was pleased to find out that we had a great school right in our neighborhood. We like the small class sizes, the experience of the teachers, the enthusiasm of the new principal, the Spanish Immersion program, the accelerated curriculum, as well as the extra curricular programs for the kids such as Jr. Ambassadors. If you live in the neighborhood make sure you check it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

We could not be happier with our choice! Our kindergartener is loving school and the Spanish Immersion Program! The teachers are outstanding! The principal and the entire staff have created a welcoming environment that is evident to everytime we are on campus. We look forward to our child growing up in this great community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

Squaw Peak is an excellent neighborhood school. The Administrators and teachers show great concern for educational development and want kids to succeed. The teachers my child has had so far from K-2nd grade have been excellent and have done a great job of providing constant communication on my childs progress and been willing to meet with me and address my concerns. Through parent/teacher collaboration they have developed various programs to improve parent involvement and raise funds to update teaching tools and programs for the kids. The addition of the spanish immersion program is one more example of this school understanding the needs of the community and trying to prepare our kids with an value added life skill. Higher levels of parent involvement and assistance with fund raising will help this school to continue to elevate its ranking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

Just finished our parent/teacher conferences and I'm very pleased to see how much the teachers truly care about how my children are doing. It so apparent that our teachers will do everything in their power to help our kids succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

The Foreign language immersion is fantastic! Great principal and teachers ... A truly positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

It is a school that is trying to meet the needs of the community it serves on a very limited budget. It is the first school in Phoenix to provide a language imersion program which is critical to our children's development. It is our responsibility to prepare our children to compete in the global economy. Squaw Peak is trying to respond to this need. I applaud them for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Very professional and kid caring teachers. Highly performing school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

My daughter is a 6th grader at Squaw Peak Traditional, and she is what you would call a gifted student. The small class sizes, small campus siize, and the dvanced grading scale have finally provided her with the academic stimulation she wasn't recieving at Larry C Kennedy school. I am very happy with her attiitude and performance at SPTA, and I look forward to her fnishing middle school there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

They love their students and help each and every one of them to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

I love the academic structure & that by child is in a language immersion program. My child is speaking spanish & loves it. The teachers are outstanding in both spanish & english core subjects. Squaw Peak has the foundation to prepare children for college and living in a world economy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

This school (Squaw peak traditional academy) offers a great foreign language program. Great teachers. Great Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

We are a new family to SPTA this year - with one son in the Kinder Spanish Foreign Language Immersion Program and one son in the 3rd grade class. We have really been impressed with the high academic standards, teacher and staff involvement, new principal enthusiasm, and overall community of the school. We had been in a Montessori school for the last 5 years (and liked it very much) and were concerned about the transition to a "traditional" school - but they have adjusted well and are very happy. We also like that the school provides Spanish for other grades as part of regular curriculum and the boys enjoy all the other specials: music, technology, art, P.E., and library. They also have Chess club. Lots of homework - but very happy - highly recommend SPTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

After sending our child to an excelling school with a highly rated private preschool on the campus, we came to Squaw Peak for the Foreign Language Immersion program and for the structure that comes with the accelerated curriculum. So far, the school has exceeded our expectations! Our daughter is already speaking, reading, and understanding a second language! Her teachers are dedicated and go above and beyond to engage and develop a rapport with the children. Our daughter loves her teachers and all of the "specials" that the school offers (PE, Music, Art, Library, & Technology). We could not be happier with our decision to choose Squaw Peak to continue our daughter's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

We love SPTA! So glad we stayed in District. We have an amazing principal and teachers that are committed to challenging our students and seeing them succeed. We are thrilled that SPTA has an accelerated grading scale and just introduced a foreign language immersion program! Our kids are succeeding in phenomenal ways!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

We looked all over the valley for a Foreign Language Immersion program, and ended up finding one in our own backyard! The FLI teachers are amazing and the school and district have done a fabulous job developing this program. Thank you Mrs. Bennet and Sra. Contreras for being so warm, nurturing, and engaging with our children. My son loves going to school, and I see him flourishing with the structure and the academically challenging work. On top of it all, he is learning a foreign language so much more quickly than I ever expected! With the small class sizes, lovely teachers, supportive administration, active parent group, and resources of a large campus, we couldn t ask for anything more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

This school has been a great neighborhood secret the past few years but it is time to get the word out! We our now a "Highly Performing" school doing a lot of amazing things. We have a Spanish Immersion Program, small classes, wonderful teachers, a fantastic Principal and great staff and very involved parents. I feel so fortunate to have this school within walking distance and so happy my kids are able to be a part of this great opportunity!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

I am a proud grandparent of two kids attending Squaw Peak. It's a great school, in terms of teacher excellence, parental involvement, school spirit and general enthusiasm of the students.


Posted September 23, 2010

I have a kindergartener in the Foreign Language Immersion program at Squaw Peak. I am incredibly pleased with the school, the principal, teachers and parent involvement. We have small class sizes and an overall wonderful campus. The PTO has great leadership and providing many ways for parents to get involved. But the main reason I like the school is that my child is challenged, is learning and loves his teachers. Giving our children an education in a foreign language will set them apart from others, when applying to high school and college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

We are always trying new programs that help the students be successful. We are a great community to be part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

EXCELLENT Foreign Language Immersion Program!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 42%
White 39% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 6%
Black 6% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • We're an A rated school (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Faith Burtamekh
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 381-6170

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • intramural soccer ages 5-8
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • intramural soccer ages 5-8

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Enroll at Biltmore Preparatory Academy and climb the trail to academic success! Nestled in a shaded established neighborhood below Camelback Road, we offer a traditional school with traditional values. Our safe and secure neighborhood campus offers expanded opportunities for students to be immersed in Spanish, travel the world as a Junior Ambassador while excelling in a rigorous high quality curriculum. We are proud to be an &#34A&#34 rated school with a long history of high scores and a vision for our future that “We won’t stop succeeding until we’re exceeding”. Our teachers are hand-picked to be caring professionals with your student’s future in mind. We recognize that every family has different needs and priorities when choosing a school. Biltmore Preparatory Academy offers the neighborhood and surrounding area a blend of traditional educational values with today’s technology and provides a structured setting with consistent academics and expectations from year to year. Biltmore Preparatory Academy is a small school combining two powerful forces – caring parents and quality teachers – to provide a challenging academic environment for ALL students – kindergarten through 8th grade. Come join us! Faith Burtamekh Principal
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
North High School
Arcadia High School
Camelback High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4601 N. 34th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85018
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 381-6160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Phoenix Country Day School
Paradise Valley, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT