Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools

Charter | PK-8 | 752 students

Valley Academy was named 2011 Arizona Charter School of the Year
 
 

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $83,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 15 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

121 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2014

This is a traditional school, but I loved it. My kids started out with Mrs Trotter, in Kindergarten, and she was warm and engaging with my kids. To me, her personality should be the model for the entire school. She worked in all the course material in a clever and calm manner. Like all schools, it's not for everyone. It emphasizes order in the classroom, and some find that oppressive. I saw growth from my kids. As for the negative comments about the facility itself, in my experience, it's the people that make the difference. And when you remember the schools you loved, do you ever think about the size of the windows? When we left, it was because we wanted a Catholic school experience. But no complaints, and a lot of memories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Valley is wonderful and supportive environment where children can feel safe and learn in a traditional education setting. This school has exceeded my expectations. The involvement of the administration is also impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

Valley Academy has the BEST parent volunteer system! The Valley Academy Parent Organization gets parents involved in EVERY event and thousands of dollars are raised from these parents volunteering their time. Love, LOve LOVE the ZERO TOLERANCE rule for bullies. The teachers are heavily involved ACADEMICALLY with each child. Communication with parents is open and notification with problems are quick. Valley Academically is AWEDOME! I AM Very Happy Parent!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

My school is a really great school that can use some upgrades so please let us win the 5,000 dollars


Posted May 31, 2013

I have been an involved parent and employee at this school for a total of 9 years. I love the family atmosphere and the high academic standards. The administration has an open door policy and the teachers are always willing to go the extra mile for student success. This school of choice is for families who want to be active in their child's learning experience and help them become responsible citizens as well as critical thinkers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 6, 2013

I am a student from valley academy I am very glad with my parents decision on make me go here sense kindergarden and I am currently in 6th grade it is the best school ever and I'm reading at a 12th grade reading level


Posted April 4, 2013

I can't believe people would choose to use this venue to post such negative and untrue statements. The principal at Valley Academy puts her heart and soul into the job. She creates an environment that promotes a feeling of family by all involved, students, parents and staff. I am proud to say that my daughter admires and looks up to her as a positive role model. Our Principal is kind, compassionate, empathetic, and cares enough about our school to be strong for what is best for every situation. It is difficult to make everyone happy all the time but simply puting unexplained and unjustified negative comments out there doesn't help anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

Valley Academy is an outstanding school with rich tradition. Having been involved with Valley in multiple roles I can honestly say it exceeds expectations. Students are held to a high standard both academically and morally. The administration is highly visible and involved on campus with their students with in an academic and extra curricular setting. Teachers are willing to help any student succeed in their goals. I know first hand many teachers and administrators that not only care academically but will take time out of their schedule to go see them in other activities even many times even after graduating from the school.


Posted March 31, 2013

Valley Academy is an awesome school with caring teachers, great kids, great families and an awesome administration!!! The principal is wonderful to work; with she knows almost all of the kids by name.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 30, 2013

The principal demonstrates no leadership skill at the Valley Academy. She has no creativity and has very minimal interactions with kids at school. She certainly is not a role model for students to look up to. It is time to have a new principal at the Valley Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

The teachers at Valley Academy are amazing. While doing a fantastic job at Valley, they have also made time to help the faculty at their new sister school. With their help, Painted Rock Academy is now delivering the same excellent curriculum in the same caring traditional way.


Posted December 13, 2012

Valley Academy does not need an introduction, it is very well known and popular school among parents who strive to make sure their kids get an excellent education. Their office staff and teachers are commendable. Parents send their kids to VA for its excellent traditional teaching program which includes Spalding Reading and Writing, Saxon Math, strict dress-code, campus environment and diverse student population amongst many others. VA instills discipline and study habits in kids that will remain with them for a lifetime. I wish there was a VA in every city !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

My son attended this school for 2 years and I must say it's been challenging. A lot of homework and discipline is what most of the public schools lacking but it is what most of american children need. Education is great, however the lack of creativity and developing logical and critical thinking is frustrating. I understand it is traditional school, but why not take all the good from tradition and leave mediocrity behind. The way my son studies for the tests is unacceptable, he says he only has to memorize, he doesn't have to understand the concepts, school requires memorization, not thinking. He says his older public school was the best school he ever attended because they had ELP, which was all about creativity and critical thinking. I wish Valley Academy adopted some of the tools ELP uses to become truly great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

My child has attended Valley Academy since kindergarten. I have notice when I have been waiting to sign my child out, the office staff is pleasant, concerned and have respect for all children. The administration is consistant, thoughtful and mindful of the office setting. I have also noticed that the preschoolers are a little too noise when "marching or running" through the office, trying to get away from their parent. Perhaps just a little common courtesy is all that's needed. I continue to support Valley Academy as the first rate education,it provides for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

Valley Academy is an amazing place to be! It seems to me it would be common courtesy to keep the noise level of your children down as you walk through the front office, which is a place of business. The policies that some would consider ridiculous and annoying are, in fact, part of the reason that Valley Academy has been so successful in the past 18 years. The dress code, in particular, is spelled out quite plainly in the student handbook. People should not be surprised when there are consequences for not following clearly stated rules. There are plenty of other schools around that will allow students to dress and behave any way they like, and they do not have the proven track record of Valley Academy! I love Valley Academy and would not change it for anything!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

My son is enrolled in preschool and my daughter is in grade school level. This has been the most problematic school year thus far. The adminstrative office has done nothing but control normal noise level for a workplace that is constantly active. I have continuously observed adults and children being told to "be quiet, walk quietly, whisper, you're too loud". This is not a library!! The rules and policies of this school are more rigid than a military site! Focus your time and attention on more improtant issues like education! Secondly, my child is constantly getting dress code citations for the most ridiculous things. Yes, she looks very well presentable. I had high expectations of this school and they were easily and quickly lowered. I would not recommend this school to anybody. My first imperssions start at the office and that is poorly rated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

Anyone that has anything negative to say about this school is just plain out of their mind. It is a "traditional" school, focusing on citizenship, COUNTRY and manners. actual teachers not 20 somethings that just graduated and have zero experience dealing with any children let alone 25 of them! It is also the small things that public school parents may overlook like, ALL desks face FORWARD, singing the Pledge Of Allegiance, letting kids and parent's express their faith without retribution, structured learning, DAILY homework, teaching the students and NOT celebrating mediocrity. Valley Academy teaches UP not down and that is the reason they are excelling. They are doing the very opposite of ordinary district public schools which is exactly why they succeed. There are more books than toys, they let parents on campus and in your child's classroom at ANYTIME, which says to me that they have confidence in the staff and teachers with nothing to hide. They hold your child accountable for EVERYTHING which in turn teaches them responsibility and supports what we try to teach them at home. So when we send them to school it's not a regression, it's a supplement to the parents. if you want
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

As a parent of a child in the 4 year old class at Valley Academy Preschool I was a bit disappointed in the previous post. I have a very bright little girl who has gone through the 3 year old program and now is in the 4 year old class. She is learning by leaps and bounds. She is very excited about school and is learning many new things that were not a part of her 3 year old program. I spoke with the administration about the concern this parent had and was assured that the curriculum has been adjusted to make sure the 3 and 4 year olds are learning at a different level. So, if there was a problem in the past it certainly is not evident now. I am very happy with the preschool program at Valley Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

This is for the preschool only, as we had no experience with the K-8 portion. First of all, the principal seems very warm, caring and competent. However, the preschool was not up to par. The four year old class had the same exact curriculum as the three year old class last year...which covered less than the three year old curriculum covered the year before (the first year of preschool). We had a great experience in the 3 year old room. But the 4 year old room was a complete waste of time and money and the kids were bored. Kids in daycare were taught more than kids in last year's 4 year old class. Ask lots of questions before enrolling in the preschool and ensure that the basics are being covered! Also, by state law, getting your child in the preschool does not assure them a place in Valley's kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

I am a teacher at Valley Academy, and someone who has been campus through all administrations. The current administration is by far the best since the school opened for business in 1995. Teachers have the ability to be as creative as they like, while teaching the basics on which Valley Academy was founded. The Principal in particular is amazing to deal with both as a teacher and a parent. She truly cares about maintaining the level of excellence for which Valley Academy is known state-wide. She is supportive of teachers, helpful to parents, and, most of all, has the best interests of the students and traditions of Valley Academy in mind with every decision she makes. There is not a finer school in the state of Arizona! I am proud to work there, and proud to have had my children educated there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 32% 3%
Hispanic 9% 43%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Charter School of the Year (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:15 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Victoria Wilber
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 516-2703

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Direct instruction
  • Spalding Phonics, Saxon Math
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Co-ed Softball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Scrabble
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1520 West Rose Garden Lane
Phoenix, AZ 85027
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 516-7747

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT