Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ridgeline Academy 5

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
Ridgeline Academy (no longer part of TeamCFA) only opened in 2012. New school that just open may or may not have a perfect first year or two. It has its growing pains. I admit the first two years, there were minor things that we weren't happy about. But we didn't give up on Ridgeline. We have grown to love it. My son (a 4th grader) has been a straight A student since he started 1st grade in 2012. He has excelled so much that his teacher from last year actually asked us if we're interested in sending him to Basis once he turns 5th grade, because he has excelled ahead of his class and learns so fast. That's coming from a Ridgeline teacher. Mr. Barker, the school principal, has exhibit remarkable leadership for Ridgeline Academy. He has adept to the teachers, students, parents, and to the community which earned him their trusts. I have personally witnessed Mr. Barker recognizing students who excel in the areas of academics, leadership, and/or citizenship, yet reprimand and give praise when it's appropriate. He's an exceptional listener and most of all he's a visionary - always attempting to improve the school, and the teachers and staff are doing amazing jobs working with him and with the students to make it happen. Mr. Barker sees that no one gets too comfortable and that everyone is working to improve continuously. The teachers, the staff, & the Booster Club, are outstanding. I'm entering my little one in to K this year. I am confident that he will excel and succeed in Ridgeline just like his older brother. If you're a parent looking to consider Ridgeline Academy, do your research. Don't base your decision on the ratings and/or reviews from 2007-2015. Talk to the parents, meet with the school and the staff and schedule for a tour, and check out the school performance grade (which by the way Ridgeline Academy received an A in the Arizona Department of Education under School Report Cards). Good luck!

Ridgeline Academy 5

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
Ridgeline Academy has great educational values, curriculum is top notch and teacher dedication is beyond expectations.


Ridgeline Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 04, 2016
- a community member
Mr. Barker is a kind and caring principal, He's open to ideas and feedback, cares very much about the students, and helps create a positive energy that is contagious.

Ridgeline Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 04, 2016
- a community member
I am not a fan of homework. In 3rd grade, we typically have about 20-30 minutes a night, which I would consider average.

Ridgeline Academy 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a community member
Ridgeline isn't simply a school. It is a community where teachers, parents, and administration work together to create a fun environment for learning and building friendships. We've been at Ridgeline for 4 years. Every teacher has been excellent. Events and extra-curricular programs get better and better. We love our school.


Ridgeline Academy 1

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
No communication. Made my son carry a heavy backpack around with so called required supplies that he never used. I had to pay to see my own children perform and felt like I was getting a sales pitch from the music teacher every time. Money is not appropriated in the right areas. Teachers do not have to be certified to teach here. Less qualified.

Ridgeline Academy 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
My daughter currently in 5th has attended since it opened. I love the importance on education. I like the smaller classes. They are very hi tech savvy and are headed ij the right direction. Mr. Barker the principal is incredible with the kids and makes sure he know all there names. He is the reason that it is a great community. The only bad thing I would have to say is I cant stand that that my daughter has to walk home with a 50lb backpack. I wish they had lockers so they could keep stuff not using and not haul it around. Common core sucks but I think most agree with that. Regardless the education and individual attention is unheard of today.I wouldnt even consider a public school unless you're looking for.a daycare. This school is awesome and gets better each year.

Ridgeline Academy 1

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
This is our second year at this school and the follow through from the top down is horrible. I have asked to be part of my children's education, thinking this is not a tall order, but I do not hear back. I have sent quick emails inquiring about certain things, attach notes to papers and send back and have left voice mails. I have been told to keep track online, which is a very handy tool in which I try to do nightly. However, the issue there is that typically it is not current!


Ridgeline Academy 1

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
This is our second year at this school and the follow through from the top down is horrible. I send my children to school everyday and it is very difficult to get updates on their progress. I have been advised to keep track on line, which would certainly be a handy tool, but it is never current! When I send emails, written notes or leave voice mails, it is like pulling teeth to get a response back. I realize everybody is busy, but sending a quick note to a parent just to let them know they will touch base on a certain day/time would be nice.

Ridgeline Academy 5

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
Our 3rd year here and we love it. The staff is incredible! The curriculum is by far more advanced than another child I know who goes to pv school district. The Spirit and energy and great people keep us here!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ridgeline Academy
33625 N. North Valley Pkwy., Phoenix, AZ  85085
(623) 223-1335
Last modified Ridgeline Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ridgeline Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. Top