Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Francis Xavier School

Private | PK-8 | 588 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $179,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2014

We are new to St. Francis and have to say that we have never felt so welcomed by a community of teachers, parents and students. This operation is top notch and really emphasizes the well-rounded student, not only academically, but also spiritually. Having come from a school with only an academic emphasis, it is so refreshing to be in an environment that really cares about the overall well-being of each student. That's not to say that academics are not a priority, just considered one piece to the equation of a successful child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2014

We love St. Francis Xavier and could not disagree more with some of the negative reviews. The principal and staff are wonderful and work incredibly hard to continually improve the school in all areas of student life. Every child and family matters. And honestly if the only reason you are sending your child to SFX is so they can get into Xavier or Brophy then you are there for the wrong reason. SFX is about educating the whole child and fostering an environment of love and compassion that compels children and families to serve others. If that is what you are looking for in a school then that is the reason to send your child to St. Francis. We, as a family, have been blessed to call St. Francis our home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

Other than a few pretty buildings, there isn't much that separates this school from other Catholic, charter, or public schools. In fact, you will get more rigor in the curriculum and a more welcoming culture at most public schools and definitely at other Catholic schools than here. The favoritism is blatant and the brutal gossiping from the administrative "team" is quite unprofessional. I agree that the teachers are incredibly stressed and overworked. Student discipline is arbitrary and, unfortunately, the principal although quite good at marketing has limited experience in early childhood development and elementary curriculum. Send your child to another Catholic School. They'll still get into Brophy or XCP if that's what your goals are. At the very least, they'll be loved for who they are as opposed to the money your family can contribute to the school/parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

I would have given this school four stars a few years ago. The only thing missing back then was a little stronger academic rigor. Since constructing the new school, tuition has inreased, class sizes have increased to a minimum of 32, children above 2nd grade have only one 15 minute recess a day, and a 15 minute lunch. The teachers seem much more stressed than they were even 2 years ago. We chose this school because of their commitment to maximum class sizes of 30. We also chose them because they provided 2 recesses every day (15 - 20 minutes each). Those have been cut to one a day along with a 15 minute lunch, where most kids are not able to finish their lunches. My daughter in 5 th grade still loves her teacher and her friends, but is beginning to see the "favoritism" many talk about at this school. If you are not one of the "in" families, your child's opportunities will be limited. My other children haven't noticed yet as the younger grades teachers are really wonderful, albeit tired and stressed. My hope and prayer everyday is that the Jesuit principles they speak about are demonstrated by the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

This school is run by a group of parents that dictate how the saff should work and do their duties; favoritism is a big issue. If you're not in the "popular parents group" prepare your child for dissapoitment as they won't be allowed to make friends as they wish. Yes they have students attending from different socio economic backgrounds however they are treated as outsiders and not really desired. We wish we would have paid more attention to this a few years ago. What the principal should do is eliminate this blatant favoritism and stand up for what they know a Christian school whould be. Also attract quality teachers that are able to actually teach the subject in the time they have dedicated in class so that parents don't have to come from their job to work on the same subject at home all over again.I experinced this too, teachers are un organized and also have snacks and drinks during class time. That should stop at once, teachers need to have snacks at recess... is completely unprofessional.Shoukd you have a complain or issue that needs to be adressed and you're not in the "popular group" you will be ignored and ridiculed and your child will be made feel as an outcast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

This school used to be good but now is very disappointing to me. The teaching quality is not there. They don't teach them anything. My children are there 2 years now with promise of changing the curriculum but nothing has changed. I am pulling them out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2011

We visited St .Francis Xavier's open house and interviewed with the principal. We liked the physical and religious setting but concluded that the class sizes of around 30 are just too large. We found another Christian school (with lower tuition) that has a class sizes of around 10.


Posted May 25, 2011

I can only speak to the lower grades in this review as I had two children in grades K-5 here before we moved out of state, but we had a wonderful experience during our years at St Francis Xavier. The school most certainly fosters the entire child, both their intellectual and spiritual development. My children looked forward to going to school every day and actively made efforts to be kids for others . The academic curriculum was high quality, although perhaps not the most rigorous in the area. The teachers were very communicative with us as parents and I feel they frequently went above and beyond to help our children excel, understanding that the children were individuals with different learning styles. The principal has also been a great motivation and driving force in keeping this school on track and providing a true Catholic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

This school by no means compares with other Catholic schools. My children were in another Catholic school in another city, but we were forced to enroll them in this school last year due to transportation issues of sending our older child to the high school next door and not having time to return to our old school in time for the school day. The school is terrible. Get ready to work with your child from home if you want them to continue to be a top student. The teachers here really need to work on communication skills, particularly with being honest and knowledgeable. I am also sad to say that many of them seem to be not only incompetent, but many in the upper grades are not qualified to teach in their content areas. If you walk through the school, you will see piles and piles of stuff (papers, boxes). The teachers are very unorganized. The favoritism here is appalling. Some top notch teachers like the religion teachers and the principal are the only real blessing here. This is the worst school, and I regret not finding a carpool or way to keep my kids at their old school. Please visit this school before deciding to send your children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2010

The school fosters " Being kids for others" - an Ignatian concept that all Jesuit Catholic schools hold dear to their hearts. The community is wonderful and caring. Teachers are friendly and Ms. Connie in the front office greets me with a smile. There are probably other schools in the area that may have a deeper commitment to how kids achieve on a test, but St Francis is committed to encouraging kind, accepting and compassionate human beings. This is not the "private school" for you if you are looking for purely academic rigor - try All Saints or Veritas. It is the school for you if you want to see your child reach their sprirtual potential and make life long friends..... And yes - in spite of not pushing academics,most of the kids end up going to Brophy and Xavier. Funny how that seems to happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

Since the school has had a new principal Mrs Cavnar, from Brophy, there is a new spirit in the school. One that fosters the whole child, body, mind, spirit. This school is great, if you want the BEST Catholic school, in the Ignation Tradition. The community is great, the teachers DO care. The children asipre to be more and do more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

I love St. Francis Xaviers and as a student I feel as if I have my own personal achievement in this school then in any other school I have been to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2008

St. Francis is deteriorating. Those of us with upper grade children are sticking it out long enough to get our kids into Xavier & Brophy. Take away the community and you're left with a mediocre school with tremendous staff turnover and low test scores. From the bottom of my heart, try St. Simon & Jude, Most Holy Trinity or Veritas Academy. Your children will be happier (and can still get into Xavier & Brophy).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

I feel ST. Francis is an excellent school. The parent involvment is exceptional. The children are encouraged to be respectful, helpful and caring for one another. The children are safe and appear very happy. The sense of safety stability and community worth every penny. The religious education is excellent. As far the education the kids are getting into Brophy, so that's says something. I'm very pleased with all aspects of the school. One negative is I wish the class size was smaller.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2007

The teaching staff is experienced and good. The children seem to be happy. The concern and service to others is shown in the children's willingness to give their time to various causes. Parents are involved and energetic. There is a nice mix of students from different economic and social backgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

St. Francis Xavier used to have an excellent reputation. Unfortunately the school has deteriorated significantly. There are still a number of intelligent children at the school that will sustain the schools reputation for a while but the administration and most instructors are mediocre. Teachers do not teach or give insight for most classes; they merely give assignments. No attempt is made to adjust the education based on a childs ability. For a Catholic school the religious education is almost non-existent. The administration is weak at best. Ask to see how RENWEB, the Internet system to communicate with parents about their childrens progress, is actually used. Most teachers ignore it and say it is too time consuming. Ask specifics. You can do much better elsewhere and find a school that will far exceed St. Francis. I wish I had known this before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

Parent involvement is high and expectations are high - I find this a positive. Availability of music, art and other extracurricular activities is a bit limited. This school is not equipped, or a good choice if your child has any 'out of the box' needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2005

Great school - great start to a little life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2005

This school at one time was great! It not only emphasized the importance of academics of being 'the best you can be'. It was concerned about teaching children how to care for and support one another. Over the last couple of years, the emphasis has been on academics and the physical appearance of the school. They do not emphasize the well rounded individual. The communication between the school and the parents is the poorest I have ever experienced. The administration wants you only to know about the things they feel important. (Which is genrally fundraising.) When a parent asks questions regarding things not on the administration's list, that issue will get skirted. On the other hand, the individual teachers are great! They are concerned about the students and make learning fun. It is because of the teachers that my children still attend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

THis school is great. they are updated to the 21st century. There are smartboards in every classroom and dell computers. This is one high tech school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Two or more races 9% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Phoenix
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4715 North Central Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85012
Phone: (602) 266-5364

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT