Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Emmaus Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 80 students

We have provided a quality, Christ-centered education since 1976.
 
 

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $65,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

My children have been attending Emmaus Lutheran for the past three years. The staff is caring and amazing! I have an extended family here, my children are not just a number. I have a child with special needs and the school has worked with me to get him the help he needs to succeed!! I would highly recommend this school to any parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

My child has been attending Emmaus since pre-K and is currently in the eighth grade. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. The children are taught much more than just academics here. While the academics are far superior to what I was taught in public school, here in Arizona, it is the other stuff that really impresses me. The kids learn respect, sportsmanship, to participate, to mentor and to treat others in a Christian manner. The students, as well as the parents, are kept informed about what is expected from the students and whether they are meeting expectations. Emmaus is not a school where a child can fall though the cracks. The teachers truly care and stay involved. In addition family is a big part of what happens at Emmaus. Since it is a smaller school and everyone is able to participate in the extra curricular activities, you have the opportunity to meet and socialize with the other families. Many friendships are formed not only among the students and faculty but among the parents and extended families as well. If you are looking for a quality education as well as a quality environment for your child Emmaus is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

My daughter has attended Emmaus since pre-K; she'll be entering 5th grade this fall. As a side note, my husband also attended Emmaus as a child and my daughter has shared some of the same teachers with him. Class size is great. Teachers - by and large - are great. I've encountered one or two that I'm not entirely pleased with but to be honest, I don't think a teacher makes or breaks a student's education. A parent does. We've watched a few kids leave the school for various reasons, but I can't come up with any reasons to relocate my child. She loves it, loves her friends, likes the smallness of the school and I like that I can just call Lori in the office, say my first name and she knows who I am. I don t have to explain to her who my child is. Everyone knows everyone. We re all on a first name basis (except the students and teachers of course!) The Christ-centered education is a bonus for us, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

I love this school! My son is learning so much every day. The environment is a positive and healthy one and I could not recommend it any highter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

At least one of my two children have attended Emmaus every year for the last 13 years. Although there was a rough patch a few years ago when some brand new teachers joined the staff, those issues have now been resolved. The teachers are very involved and make themselves available at all times of the day or night to help the kids. My daughter has called teachers at 7pm to ask about an assignment. What other school can say that? Parents are encourged to participate, and even come sit in classes if they wish. We have been very happy and feel that our children are recieving the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

I have had a wonderful experience with this school. My son has been attending since preschool and he has learned so much. The teacher/student ratio is very low, which allows for a lot of one-on-one time. We will be sending our daughter here too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

My son went here for Pre-K and I would not recommend it to anyone. Unfortunately, a few of the teachers have lost their love of teaching and their respect for the students. On more than one occasion I witnessed a teacher roll her eyes at some students when they were asking questions. I felt very sorry for those children because nothing is worse than having someone like a teacher treat your questions with distain. The secretary and the principal are great, and I don't know the PE teacher, but the rest of the teachers need to get their love of teaching back! I will not be sending my children there again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

My son attends Emmaus as pre-K student and he is doing great. He has made many friends while learning the basics of attending class and following directions. Mrs. Rendel is very experienced and dedicated to her class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

Wow, a lot has changed in the last few years. Reading the posts on here from previous years you would almost certainly believe this school is great for your children. In all honestly though it is deteriorating by the minutes and have seen parents/children leaving the school. We will not be sending our children back to Emmaus next year. New staff, less parental involvement, extracurricular activities are less important as they used to be. Time for a change!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

Excellent - I have two kids going to Emmaus. The teachers are terrific.. The small student quantities are wonderful. The kids get one- on-one instruction. This teachers are wonderful. The test scores are awesome. Make a phone call and visit the school. It will be very worth your time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

Emmaus is an awesome school. There is a high level of parental involvement. The principal and staff encourage a family atmosphere so that everyone feels a big part of Emmaus. It is refreshing to have this 'small town' atmosphere in the huge metropolis of Phoenix. The education they provide at Emmaus is outstanding. Test scores are above average and students who go on to public high schools receive exceptional grades. I have a son in 8th grade has attended since he was 4. His Stanford test results are always above the national average. His brother attended also from age 4 through 8th grade. He has recently been awarded a Provost's scholarship (worth $30,000) to attend ASU next year. I credit the education he received in both grade school and high school for making this dream a reality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

I love emmaus. It has high test scores and fine teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2006

Emmaus is a great school. I graduated from there last year. I had gone to Emmaus kindergarten and up. I had a really great learning experience. They just got a new principle this year and he is doing great. The sport program at Emmaus is really and and has exceeded in the past years. Every Christmas the children put on a performance which is worked on very hard. The teachers teach the material very well and are always understanding if you don't understand. Parents are involved plenty and there is great communication between the teachers and parents. Emmaus is truly a great school and I would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 21, 2005

Children have strong morals, classes have exceptional teacher to student ratio, lots of attention and parent support. I know of a parent whose child graduated and went on to public High School. She was getting a c in Math at Emmaus and in High School got an A+. They wanted her to take accelerated course. This school is awesome. Plus kids are kind and accepting of one another, never any teasing going on here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

My son is in pre school and has a friend who goes to the same pre school with him. Her older brother goes to Emmaus Lutheran. We visited the campus last year . It is a small school . The student to teacher ratio is about 1:7. The children get alot of one on one attention. The children were working on a musical production when we visited. The children are held to strict moral standards and action will be taken if students are not behaved. The chances of your child being exposed to bad influences is reduced greatly in a school like this.Parent involvement is mandatory . The parents of this friend of my sons like the school so much they have decided to enroll their pre schooler in next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Chris Hintz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod
Fax number
  • (602) 942-4924

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Drama club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Drive for field trips & sporting events
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • 2013 AIMS Results 83.3% of our 3rd-8th graders tested above the state average in reading. 66.7% of our 5th-8th graders tested above the state average in writing. 33.3% of our 3rd-8th graders tested above the state average in math. 50% of our 4th and 8th graders tested above the state average in science.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
14
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
15
Students typically come from these schools
Chaparral

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona Lutheran Academy
Moon Valley
Greenway
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3841 W Sweetwater Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85029
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 843-3853

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sahuaro School
Phoenix, AZ


Sweetwater School
Glendale, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT