Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Awakening Seed School

Private | PK-4 | 150 students

We're best known for community, creativity, and compassion.

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $92,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2008

Our son (first grade) and daughter (pre-school) have attended the Awakening Seed for the last few years. The teachers here are highly caring and creative. The Seed also does a wonderful job instilling a sense of caring for one another and problem solvng. Bullying is nonexistent. The creative aspect has lit our children's imaginations on fire. They come home wanting to duplicate their school day: doing yoga poses, singing songs, wanting to write and illustrate their own books, making up board games, drawing, painting, making a giant model of the human body, and on and on. Our son read a book to the class at the end of his pre-K year. Clearly, they are doing something right at Awakening Seed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

The Seed is a wonderful environment for our kids. The only draw back is the decline in the quality of the academics and teaching in grades 2-5. Perhpas this is the reason for the huge decline in student enrollment and the schools need to rid of the higher grades (so far only 5th, but one can feel that 4th is around the corner). It is slowly turning into a day care through Kindergarten school. The consistency in some of the classrooms is poor, which teaches kids the wrong lessons. Teachers also do not take advantage of prime learning moments when conflict or confusion ensues amongst students. My biggest disappointment has been the schools failure to provide high quality consistent teaching & classroom projects in classrooms with low enrollment, teacher's assistants and abundant parent volunteers. The upshot, the school does nurture a community family environment and positive problem solving modelling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

The Seed is the reason that my husband and I don't plan on moving for years. My daughter is under 2 and absolutely loves it. The environment is loving and supportive. Where else do you get music, PE and spanish in addition to the usual structured environment? We already see a love of art, music and school in general flourishing in her. The outdoor section for each classroom is also treated like an amazing learning environment. We get daily written and even verbal feedback on her day. There are also regular parent/teacher conferences to discuss progress and any issues. Parents can come by anytime and observe, but helping in class is more appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

The school provides a good environment for children who are ages 2+. I would not recommend starting your child off in this school if your child is under two years old unless your child is able to talk with you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I love this school and so does my daughter. The teachers, staff & the owners dedication to over educate gives me the feeling of relief.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

The overall feeling is warm and welcoming. It's areal community where children are supported and nurtured throughout the year. Teachers really care and it shows by the way in which they treat the students. Art, music, P.E. and Spanish are a regular part of the curriculum at no extra charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

Amazing school. I can't say enough great things about it. From the moment you walk in the door each and every person cares and soon knows your child. I truly feel it's the best school in the Valley. It's a 'pet' school for ASU's department of Education. I first heard about the school from a professor in the school of education at ASU. My child is a quiet observer and has blossomed here. They understand her way of expressing herself and validate it, in turn she's outgoing when she wants to be and reserved at times too. They value each child for who they are. Their approach to discipline is respectful and clear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

Great school for any kind of kid. they learn how to solve conflict and good social skills. Lots of activities to inspire thier creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2005

The Seed is superb. Parents are involved daily with this true community of enthusiastic learners. We all learn from each other at the Seed from the youngest child to the most educated teacher. Our children are involved in a well rounded curriculum which encourages global learning; a love of learning; and compassion. My oldest daughter attended the Seed for preschool and 1st grade. I know the Seed greatly assisted her present abilities/passions. A junior in high school participating in honors classes; newspaper; film production and editing; reads for fun; writes and produces music (words and music) and performs 3 musical instruments. She has benefitted from the Seed. Her younger sister and brother attend the Seed now. They are flourishing in all avenues of learning. Functional cognitive skills; compassion for others; joy of learning/reading; personal attention; social skills; along with support and guidance for parents. The Seed is superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

Our son has attended Awakening Seed School for almost 3 years now, and we love it. The staff really goes above and beyond to individualize each child's experience. We receive incredible feedback on our son's progress, and we are able to be active participants in the educational experience. The Seed is a small school that feels like a family. The kids are exposed to a wide variety of creative activities, and are given ownership over their own educational experience. Academics and learning to be a good student are strongly emphasized. Intellectual curiousity is encouraged in a way unlike anything I've ever seen. My son loves to learn, and feels empowered by the leadership opportunities offered in the Seed's classrooms. The after-school program at the Seed is the best. ASU Education students run the after-school, and provide both structured and unstructured play opportunities. Art, dance, gymnastics, organized sports, and outdoor play happen everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

My child has attended the Seed since he was 2 and we can attest that its a great school. The teachers really treat each child as an individual and work hard to provide the best learning environment. There is also a wonderful family environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

Our daughter has attended the Awakening Seed for five years from ages 3 to 8. The teachers here are highly creative, always growing and a very dedicated group. It has been a home away from home for ar the joyous sounds of the whole school singing together! Ask any child that attends here and most will tell you that growing their own garden is one of their most memorable projects. Imagine that, right in the middle of the city! Theour girl and she has blossomed on all levels; academically, socially and beyond. There are many opportunities for parent involvement. Art and music are a big part of every day at the school. Stop by for Monday morning meeting at 9am and he children here are true Seeds and the amazing, wonderful teachers are their ever mindful gardeners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

My child has attended this school since preschool and has excelled due to the attention and caring of the staff at Awakening Seed School. The learning program employed by this school allows individuals to express themselves in an environment that promotes self-realization while providing assistance to students who need it. No one is left out or behind and the students learn important social and coping skills. Parents are highly encouraged to participate in their child's learning experience and school activities. This is a GREAT school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

This preK to 5th grade school is excellent with customized curriculum. My son needed a class with fewer children per teacher since he was learning English as his second language and had been in English for only two years. The teacher has worked with us to give my son the direction and instruction he needs. There are no set extracurricular activities but he is not lacking in sports activity here. There is a very active parent group. My only concern is the expense of this school and that the fund raising efforts are not made broader but continue to ellicit money from the families who already attend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2004

Our son was at the Seed for seven years. We found the teaching to be top rate for all but one year. Our son was challenged both academically and socially. I have to say that the one of the greatest strengths of the Awakening Seed is the overall community. There is strong parent, teacher and returning student participation. The seed is a nurturing environment from early childhood through the 5th grade. Mary Glover is a gifted teacher, artist, writer , thinker and Director.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2004

Our child has grown and learned so much at this school. It has a very friendly, family atmosphere, with an emphasis on theme curriculum, art education and reading. There is a lot of interaction between classes, which was great for my child who enjoys spending time with older children. The staff is very caring and developed individual plans for our child. The after care is also fun, with outside and arts activities every day. School has small classes, very involved parents and several annual events that bring the school together. Classes are toddler to 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

Awakening Seed is a great school. Children seem very happy and well behaved. The staff are very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2004

This school has emphasized the whole child approach to learning which has had a very positive effect on my daughter. I feel that the educational experience she has had at this school, will stay with her for the rest of her life. She is a top student with excellent grades, and ability to think for herself. She loves the arts and the outdoor activities that this school has created, giving each child a chance to grow their own gardens, planting and watering plants and watching them grow. What a great experience! I am sad that she is graduating. We now have to find a school that can match the caliber of this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2003

Awakening Seed is a wonderful place where exceptional teachers and staff take a real, personal interest in each and every child. Learning isn't drugery but vital, fun and meaningful. Education at this school isn't limited to academics but covers every facet of the person - mind, body and spirit. There is an extraordinary atmosphere of respect for one another, cooperation and comraderie. Our third child to pass thru the school is now in 4th grade and we have nothing but praise and high marks for Awakening Seed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 27% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 0%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mary Glover
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCACS
Fax number
  • (602) 454-2773

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • emergent curriculum model
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • parent arranged services
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$7000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona School for the Arts
Horizon Community Learning Center
neighborhood school
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6630 S 40th St
Phoenix, AZ 85042
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 454-2606

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Brooks Academy
Phoenix, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT