Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Pointe Preparatory

Charter | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

131 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2004

Our daughter is finishing 8th grade and has been encouraged and challenged to step up and do her best. As a parent, I appreciate that all students are expected to take Spanish every year for 6 years (helpful for employment here) and that continuation to college is the main emphasis in planning their overall curriculum. Their athletic departments are not as developed as regular public middle and high schools, however, that is increasing, and the possibility of your child participating is increased due to the size of the school. I have found that any problems or complaints are handled in a very professional manner, and parents are valued and listened to. No school is perfect, but NPP is striving to provide a quality education in a safe environment. I'm so glad we found them when my daughter was entering 7th grade so she can go to this school all 6 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

I am a parent of two children that attend North Pointe. I used to be pleased with the school, however there is a high turn around in the teachers. My daughter has just got her fourth english teacher this year. The dress could is a good idea except the cheerleaders don't have to follow it, which isn't fair to the other students. I am pulling my children out of this school at the end of this year. Last year the school was organized and the students were treated with dignity and respect something, that the school has a great lack of this year. The favortism is geared towards the cheerleaders. Which is sad because the focus should be on the quality of education, not the cheerleading program. Dissappointment is the only way to discribe North Pointe Prep at this time. I am hoping for a change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2004

I am a student at North Pointe Prep and I love it there! My parents thought about putting me in a school closer to home but at North Pointe I have great friends and teachers who care so I talked them out of it! I don't have to worry about fights or drugs at school anymore.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2003

I am one of those so called 'bitter parents'. Anyone who looks at the test scores will see this school is not what it claimed to be when I enrolled my son. The smarest thing I ever did was take him out before it was too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2003

NPP was a great school! My daughter loved it very much, but unfortuneatly our family moved and she was not able to attend NPP any longer. Now she is not doing as well in school because she doesn't like it anywhere near how much she liked North Pointe. Sending her was the best thing I had done and to the parents that say 'cheerleaders' get special benefits, no they don't. My daughter was a cheerleader and she had no special benefits, she got treated like any other student did. I think the Teachers and Staff are awesome at this school, Ms. Santangelo, Senora Rogers Mr. and Mrs. Davenport and Mr. Raso are all great and very good with all the students! If you want your child to have a good education with great teachers you should send them to NPP because the only mistake i evr made was having her leave that school!


Posted October 23, 2003

NPP has great goals and the ability to help the kids achieve them. There have been some teacher switching but all and all I believe the teachers care about the kids, my daughter loves the school (and she is not a cheerleader) and is doing alot better here than at a public school. Her self esteem is up, her grades are high b's and the family is happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2003

After reading some of the input from August and September, I couldn't help but give my two cents. North Pointe Preparatory is an awesome school! My son is getting an awesome education (Stanford scores in the 99th percentile). Don't dismiss this school because of a couple of bitter parents. If you are interested in a college prep education for your child, check it out for yourself. My son loves it there. He has great friends and great teachers. I wouldn't send him anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2003

This school is one of the worst charter schools in Phoenix, Arizona. As much as I hate admitting this, it is the plain truth. When I attended, I went through at least 15+ teacher switches. The students were left with nothing but a slight idea of why their teachers deserted them. The office staff was of little assistance to the students and to the parents. All in all, the quality of this charter school is terrible.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 12, 2003

We are very pleased with this school but would like to see more parent involvement and more club options for students. The teachers are great and work very hard. Dean Johnson is beyond excellent in her ability to deal with a constantly changing environment.


Posted March 30, 2003

Our son has been attending North Pointe Prep for its two years that it has been open. We love the focus on high academics, character education and consistent discipline. Dean Johnson and Chancellor Davenport provide a top notch curriculum that we would have to pay thousands of dollars for back East. North Pointe Prep is a wonderful, safe environment for those preparing for college.


Posted March 28, 2003

Great School! I would not send my students anywhere else. We love the administration and teachers.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 29% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sheri Kisselbach
Fax number
  • (623) 209-0021

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10215 N. 43rd Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 209-0017

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Arroyo School
Glendale, AZ


Accel
Phoenix, AZ




Heritage School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT