Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain Trail Middle School

Public | 7-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2007

All the reviews prior to 2006 are correct. MTMS was a wonderful school. It all went down hill when Mr. Lee left. Now is a shame. Lack of leadership by the principal who not visible or caring. Lack of discipline and lack of quality teachers. All the good ones like Mr. Maynard, Mrs.Coyle, and Mrs. OBrien are gone. Dances were cut. I could go on. 2007-2008 will not be any different since I heard that move of the good teachers are leaving. I would think twice about sending my child to this school. PTO is very good. Something has to be done about the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

For the most part all of the teachers we have had contact with are good. Communication could be better and more detail on schoolnotes.com. We have had repeated problems with bullies that the school is slow to respond to and in our opinion has dropped the ball in providing a safe environment. The campus being closed to parents is rediculous! At open house they encouraged parents to continue to be involved, but obviously not on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

The campus is closed to parents, so there is little parental involvement. Though clubs are nonexistent, there are plenty of varsity sports. The math program is very good. The school dances, which used to bring in quite a bit of money, were cut. The range of teachers varies widely.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 20, 2006

I have a seventh grader and I am very very very happy with Mountain Trails Middle School.The academic programs and the teachers are probably the best that I have seen. Plus the communication and online tools are so nice to have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2005

Great school with great teachers and administration. Very safe, very disciplined. Our daughter loved the school and did very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

Mountain Trail Middle school is an excellent school!! It is a great campus with extremley good teachers and is very safe. Students learn a ton in just one year and it is taught to them well. There are a ton of available things to do for example culinary arts, spanish, applied tech, chorus, drama, band etc. They have many sports and you can try out even if you are a beginer. Im not sure about parent involvment because im not a parent. This school is one of the top in the district and possibly state and if you are thinking about sending your kid here it is an EXCELLENT choice. - Former Student
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2005

Great school for academics! This school has a great offering of elective courses such as the tech program. The teachers were very committed and promote a excellent learning environment. Diversity is somewhat of an issue, but overall my daughter enjoyed the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

Mountain trail middle school is a very good school- your kids would love it there it is very high tech and up to date. I hope you choose this school for your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2005

My daughters have just finished 7th grade and had a fantastic school year. They wished the school year would have been longer. The programs and participation/enthusiasm of the teachers is fantastic. Both of my daughters loved all of their teachers. Mr. Weaser, Spanish teacher did an incredible job in creating enthusiasm and interest I never thought could be done in a language class. My kid went around singing and acting out songs, learning more in a semester than most would need all year to learn and be bored with the class. We just wish we could have Mr. Weaser in 8th grade. Mr. Maynard is very enthusiastic about his math class and participates in all kinds of activities with the kids. Mr. Burt made social studies fun. Mrs. Scott was very sweet and my daughter loved her class. Whenever we had a question the teachers/principle were very helpful/responsive to the issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2004

As a former student I'm telling you that anyone who says that this is a bad school has obviously never set foot on campus. It is such a beautiful school. The class I graduated with was the first to ever go through Mountain Trail, so we were there when the school was brand new. Disipline isn't a big issue and with our Student Resource Officer, Officer Peterson, fights are broken up before they begin.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 3, 2004

I used to go to this school, but then I moved to Avondale, Arizona in December 2003 during Winter Break. None of the schools here compare to Mountain Trail, its by far the best school I've ever gone to. Kids don't have to fear their peers there, yet at my new public school, Underdown Jr. High, I feel afraid to go there every morning. So far, a lot of my peers have been involved in horrible things that kids would not imagine doing at Moutain Trail. So, if any of you parents move to Avondale, make sure your kids go to a Private school or Charter school. It'd be worth paying the money. I will miss Moutain Trail for forever, and I'll never forget all my friends, its awesome staff, and the wonderful activities there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 8, 2003

Mountain Trail Middle School is a wonderful school. Students love going there and participating in all the wonderful extracurricular activities they offer. Any student in the area should go there. It's as good as any private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2003

There were several problems with this school, ranging from poor academics and teaching standards to the inadequate discipline given to bullies. The administration had the 'kids will be kids' attitude and said they couldn't do anything about students who harassed and bullied.


Posted April 3, 2003

Mountain Trail is an excellent middle school and I would recommend it to any parent. Mountain Trail is a core knowledge school which is a wonderful curriculum. I can only say great things about my 7th grader's teachers and I have had a great working relationship with the 7th grade advisor. I have excellent communication with all of his teachers and I know how much his teachers truly care about his success in school. Although I haven't personally dealt with Mr. Lee I have the utmost respect for him based on his staff.


Posted March 28, 2003

Inagural school year has been wonderful. This is a Core Knowledge School. Leadership is outstanding and there have been few, if any, glitches. Well planned, very safe, and excellent communication with parents.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 449-4605

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2323 East Mountain Gate Pass
Phoenix, AZ 85024
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT