Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison Traditional Academy

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2011

I had high expectations of Madison Traditional but unfortunately I found it to be very disappointing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

We are disappointed in MTA this year. Last year (4th grade) was fabulous. This year the kids began changing classes & have multiple teachers. As a general rule the teachers believe that at this age (11) kids should be solely responsible for their schoolwork, They are resistant to following even the school's stated policies for reporting required or missing work to parents and forget trying to handle makeup in some classes. It often takes several days for an email response from a teacher. I fear we had lost signifcant academic ground with our child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

Perhaps MTA has improved since my child was there. I had prioncipals from 3 different schools review my child's records when I was told to retain. They all called and said there was no way they would retain! The previous Director (do they call it Pricipal now?) was part of the problem as she would not confront the bullies, who were her friend's children. She resigned. Disgraceful that a teacher and Principal ruined a child's year of school. It was confirmed by another parent I didn't even know!! I guess money talks.......


Posted November 10, 2010

We moved into this school this past week and I can tell you that I am thrilled about the responsiveness of all of the staff and also the manner in which the principal leads this school . My daughter is a bright girl who is Bi-racial (black and white)and I must say my concerns about the articles here regarding the racisim at this school were totally alleviated when we met the staff and students...there is ALOT of teacher involvement and parents are very active. My daughter has NEVER been challenged like she has a MTA. I am excited she has this opportunity to attend this school -Ignore that comment about there not being a mixed ethnicity in this school -there are children of all races ! This school is located in an area which is in a mostly white neighborhood..its not the schools fault! Anyway 2 thumbs MTA YOU ROCK
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

Accelerated curriculum, involved parents, diversity of school, and character building program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

A few students of color does not equal a diverse student population. Look at the student ethnicity graph on this site. MTA is 78% white, while the state average is 45% white. Can t argue with stats. Anecdotal evidence of individual students behaving badly to other students is not indicative of racism at the school, though. Kids are learning social skills, ethics, and morality as well as academics at this age. Making mistakes is part of the learnign process. We deal with the individual cases and move on. I just don't think there is a racist or classist undertone at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

We couldn't be happier at MTA! The academics, the community, and the teachers are all incredible. This is a school of choice. Those living in the District and paying taxes have the option of attending their neighborhood school. It seems that those who are unhappy are the families who don't want to invest the time to fulfill the family volunteer commitment or the time at home to help their children keep up with the accelerated curriculum. The population is very diverse (despite what a few have said). I too pay taxes in this district and I am thrilled with the return on my investment. My daughter could not be happier as she completes her third year at MTA. We are absolutely thrilled with her progress and the entire MTA community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

I am in love with this school. My son came from a private school and I believe he is more challenged here than his previous school. I also like the small campus atmoshpere; however, I would like to see a playground added. Are there plans to expand the school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

I am in love with this school. My son came from a private school and I believe he is more challenged that ever before. Although, I like the smaller campus I would like to see a larger play area. Are there plans to expand?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

Excellent academics....both of my children are honors students, and this is with an accelerated curriculum. Love the uniforms, the teachers and the office staff. This is where things end, though. I feel 'The Guild', as the PTO is called, is very much a clique, and discipline needs a lot of work. The principal, while he is a nice man, has a lot to learn. The supposed 'anti bullying policy' is also ridiculous. Can't do much about The Guild (mostly Simis moms) but work on the discipline policies, and you will have a great school. A new site is desparately needed, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

Excellent school. My son really shines. He's in the third grade but reads on 4- 6.2 grade level. Awesome
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

I am new to MTA and have felt very welcomed. This is a great school. I appreciate the academic focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I also do not understand the below poster's comments. I do not have designer clothes. Never have, jeans and sneakers. I have never felt like this is an issue. And yes the children all wear school uniforms. My boy's classes are very diverse. Excellent school, I cannot say enough good things about the teachers, parents and students. The aims scores tell a wonderful tale as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I don't know what that poster is talking about either. This is our second year with the school and there are all different ethnic and racial kids in my child's class. And 'designer' things? The kids wear uniforms so this is not an issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

MTA is a great school academically. My son has learned a great deal since we transferred into this school. We believe that our son is getting the best academic education he can get. It's great that there are required parent involvement. One of the major flaws at this school is how materialistic it is. There have been many parents who have been insulted because they didn't 'look the part'. Meaning, that the parents did not have designer things or because they have tattoos. There is even a growing concern that race is an issue, which even the children are also discriminating against each other. The only reason I give it 3 stars is because of the racism that is permitted to run rampant in the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

I have two students at this school,and have been very impressed. While it is a smaller school, I feel that the quality of the education is much higher than my oldest child recieved in the same district. It is like getting a private school education without the pricetag. The teachers have all been excellent, and there is a ton of parental involvement. My children average about an hour of homework a night, but I know in the long run that a good work ethic will benefit them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

Love this School!!! First Year here my son is in Kindergarden and i dive a good distance so he can go to this school! His teacher is the best and goes above and beyond for her kids! Love the fact that there is volunteer hours that have to be put in ita alot of fun and i det to see what goes on in the classroom. Plus my son thinks its cool when i come! MTA doing a awsome job!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

All I can say is that this school rocks! My daughter is in the same grade as my neighbors kid who attends a catholic school and my daughter's work is much more on target and challenging. MTA is preparing our kids at a young age and I could not be happier. Smaller community and mandatory volunteer hours and you will be asked not to come back if you cannot complete. SO....don't sign up if you don't want to be a part of the school. keep up the good work MTA. Principal needs a little molding but he will get there....we hope.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

I cannot say enough about the faculty and staff and the education my child is receiving! This is the one of the two best known free secrets in central Phoenix (Veritas Prep is the other). An undercover 'Private' school with public funding. Parent involvement is a must as volunteer hours are mandatory. Homework is daily except weekends. Discipline is enforced and consequences are black and white. We came from a parochial school and I have been extremely satisfied. Teachers are well-rounded and can teach to all types of learning in our kids. Love it! MTA is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

Our son has been attending Kindergarten this year at MTA, and we can't say enough wonderful things about the school. We travel 13 miles to MTA every day and it is worth it! His teacher, Ms. Gullette, is amazing with the students and goes above and beyond the call of duty to make sure each and every one of her students receives the right attention and care. The staff and administration are amazing, and there are many parents that are truly vested in making sure MTA continues to exceed expectations. We have been amazed!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

925 E. Maryland Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85016
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 745-4001

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT