Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alhambra Traditional School

Public | K-8

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

94 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2004

ATS is a tremdous Academic Challenging School. I would have loved to have kept my daughter in the school, but after moving to a new home, the distance is greater than we can cope with. Other districts could take examples from ATS and build some greater schools on the philosophy from there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

Overall the curriculum at this school is very challenging for students. This school is not a good one if your child has extracurricular activities. Other parents I know have taken their children out of this school because their child has become burned out with the overload of school work given to them. It was suggested by one of the teachers that the children at the school not participate in outside activities such as sports because the curriculum is far to difficult and all spare time should be foucusing on school work. I think the idea that Alhambra Traditional school has is great but the focus should be to give children a fully rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

I love ATS! I wouldn't have my children go anywhere else. Yes, it is hard work for both children and parents. And Yes, it is strict. But the techers are fun and inventive and expect the children to be their best. I agree, that it is not a school for kids with learning problem. Those kids that don't make the grade at ATS might be honor roll kids at the school down the street. We have wonderful parent involment. So much so that we as parents have a say in how our children are being taught. I believe in this school and if you can get passed the strictness and large work load you will find that you children built a foundation that make high school and collage a breeze.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

I have two children in Alhambra Traditional, and find it to be an excellent choice. I went to public school, then moved onto Brophy Prep and found myself playing catchup for a few years. I know first hand the difference a strong academic foundation can make on a child's life. The school is strict, there is no doubt about it, but in today's climate of youth violence and lax parenting--it is great to find a school that has a vested interest in providing quality education and encouraging parent involvment. Perhaps, one of the best schools, private or public.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2003

Some teachers are involved with the kids but some are not. My child was asked to leave ATS not because of behavior, but because of acedemic work. She had a medical problem that was not detected until her third grade year(and was easily corrected) that had inhibited her from digesting all the class lectures. Because her scores were not prefect I was told that maybe she would be better at another school. She was better at another school and now she is the top of her class and not depressed as she was at ATS. She has more homework, but she is getting all of it done without fighting. The assignments are comparable and sometimes above what she was doing at ATS. This is not a school to send your child to if there is any little problem that can be fixed. They worry too much about scores to care about any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2003

I've been a parent here for 9 years. Students are taught personal responsibility from the beginning. They can read by Christmas of their Kindergarten year, and know they will be held accountable for themselves and their work. High expectations bring high results. Teachers here are among the most dedicated that I have seen. I worked at another school previously, and I know the difference. Disruptive behaviour, and slacking off are not accepted, every student is encouraged to be the best they can be, both academically and in their behaviours. There are no fights like at other schools, and all the kids work their hardest. I am very proud to be associated with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2003

I am very impressed with the teacher at ATS, they are very dedicated and want each student to succeed. My son was labeled a troublemaker and was unwilling to learn anything, but his teacher Mrs. Leek invested in him and worked together with us. Now I can say my son has succesfully finished his year in kindergarten. He knows how to read and write and his teacher told us he is ready for first grade. Without the dedication of his teacher and the strict discipline they have at ATS this would have never happened. Thanks to ATS and Mrs. Leek


Posted April 28, 2003

Principal, first year @ ATS, has kept well hidden to parents. Prior principal was always visiable. i.e. parking lot before/after school. My child is in the 5th grade and @ ATS since kinter year. Excellent school, excellent teachers preparation for later years in school is terrific. Children learn to think, are disciplined and learn to study well with time management techniques.


Posted April 25, 2003

My wife and I have been extremely happy with the education that our daughter has received at Alhambra Traditional School. We live in a strong school district and still choose to make a 40 minute round trip to take our daughter to Alhambra. The test scores don't lie! For our daughter to go back into her regular school, she would need to move up a grade to keep from getting bored.


Posted April 23, 2003

i went to ats for nine years and i loved it. i am now in high school and ats prepared me so that high school is a breeze and i am in all honors classes. ats also helped me to manage my time so that i can become a state qualifier for wrestling and manage school a job and everyday life.


Posted April 22, 2003

Discipline in this school can be somewhat harsh and borders on breaking a child's spirit. I have several children at this school and I must say it is very well structured and is very organized. This school works at a fast pace and has a heavy workload. I do not recommend this school to anyone who's child does not work at a fast pace. No accommodations are made for intelligent children that need additional time on a regular basis to complete work. A 504 plan is unheard of in this school. The new principal is a huge disappointment and seems to care more about the scores the school receives than the children.


Posted April 8, 2003

I agree with one other parent that has comments on this site. The discipline is needed. However, I feel it does go a bit farther and harder than it might need to. Especially for the kindergarten ages. The school aks a bit much of how this age group should sit still and quiet longer than I would like to. Otherwise, my child is excelling academically. I like the teaching curriculum.


Posted March 11, 2003

Our family has attended ATS for 13 years and have benefited from the high academic and behavioral standards insisted upon here. Parental involvement and volunteerism is an integral part of the equation but the rewards are enormous. The school provides a rigorous academic environment while at the same time expects the family to provide the traditional home support and values. This is not a school that you just drop your kid off and forget for 7 hours! Be prepared to work hard if you want your child to reach their potential!


Posted October 15, 2002

ATS's success is due in large part to the cooperation between teachers and parents in setting the standards for the school and following thru with those standards. It is very important that parents be involved in PIN and SCC for this school to continue its success


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 43%
White 27% 42%
Black 12% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3736 W Osborn Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85019
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 484-8816

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT