Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Andalucia Middle School 1

Posted June 19, 2013
- a community member
Needs more parents to involve. I think this school is alright. Parents should support their kids more.

Andalucia Middle School 4

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
This school in my opinion is GREAT! I actually wish there was more parental involvement with the various committees and groups that they have available. It always seems to be the same parents that show up to each of these meetings. Maybe if the parents took a more active role with their OWN kids lives and not expect the teachers & adnministrators to deal with the riff-raff then they could focus on educating the kids. I do hate to admit it , but yes, there appears to be some really ineffective teachers. I have seen a change...and it is in a good direction. I support AMS and maybe the parents that think the school is responsible for baby sitting their kids should come to the meetings and be a part of the solutions as opposed to perpetuating the problems.


Andalucia Middle School 2

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
LISTEN TO THE COMMENT SUBMITTED BY THE TEACHER! This school is very horrible, if you walk around the school and ask the 7th and 8th graders how many good teachers are there, many of them will say like 3 or 4, and the big kids (7,8) bully the little kids and convince the little kids to smoke and tag, they should put cameras in this school because the teachers look like they are overworked, and I caught a little 4th grade kid kid tagging "JayJay oner has a big you know what" If the school didn't have 6-8th graders it actually might be a good school....if you are looking for a school in this area send your child to Mark T Akinson, which is only a few blocks away!

Andalucia Middle School 1

Posted December 19, 2011
- a community member
Terrible. The kids are always getting into fights, graffiti is all over the place and the teachers are getting more and more tense as the day passes. I'm a student that says to all parents out there, If you want your kid to suck up all the negativity of AMS and it's immature kids, you might as well dump your kid on the streets and teach him the way of the streets. Thank you. -Rod

Andalucia Middle School 5

Posted October 03, 2011
- a community member
I loved this school until i had to move to new mexico i miss every teacher over there.


Andalucia Middle School 1

Posted March 04, 2011
- a teacher
This school is AWFUL! I worked there for three years. Teachers are overworked, negative and stressed out. Observations are conducted up to six times a day. A teacher is not allowed to sit down, expected to work during her lunch and prep. After school she must attend professional development nearly three times a week. Teachers rarely have time for their own family leaving them hating their job and burnt out for the day with students. The administration is ALWAYS telling teachers what to do better, not what they do good. Students are not taught for true learning but to pass a test and get the federal money. Students are always stressed out about passing a test. They take 10 formal assessments a year, are taking out of science, social studies and electives until they bring up scores! Not to mention, the Alhambra District finds its teachers disposable and will treat them as such. They actually pay a PR person to do damage control on their reputation. Being the highest paid teacher comes with a price that is NOT worth it. DO NOT SUPPORT THIS TYPE OF EDUCATION FOR OUR CHILDREN.

Andalucia Middle School 5

Posted December 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Andalucia Middle School 5

Posted December 19, 2009
- a community member
If you plan on wanting to someday work in any type of video production then AMS is the school. I had computer science for two years and the teacher taught everything you needed to know about video and others. Photoshop, video editing, and short film making was taught and now I am at the top of my News production class at South Mountain High school as the Post Editor/anchor/reporter/graphics/tecnical director and writer. AMS is a good school.


Andalucia Middle School 5

Posted June 15, 2009
- a community member
This school is really good! It helped me get to where I am now. Teachers really prepared me for my future in HIgh School.

Andalucia Middle School 1

Posted May 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Andalucia Middle School
4730 W. Campbell, Phoenix, AZ  85031
(623) 848-8646
Last modified Andalucia Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 4-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Andalucia Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top