Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arizona School for the Arts

Charter | 5-12 | 750 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

103 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2008

I am an ASA alumni and am currently in my second year of college. ASA was a great school, but unfortunately has lost a lot of the qualities that made it so great over the past few years. The school still continues to offer opportunities that can be found no where else. ASA provides students with a good education both academically and artistcally, but has lost many of its key teachers and its greatest contributor and supporter; Dr. Mark Francis. The friends that I made at ASA are my closest friends and we continue to be friends! As for the academics, every skill I learned at ASA I have used! ASA is still a great school, but not what it once was.


Posted January 24, 2008

My daughter is excelling at this school. The expectations are consistently high throughout the academic program as well as the arts program. The kids are just fantastic. My daughter never complains about kids misbehaving. Not sure about the comments regarding cliques. Kids do form groups, as do adult, but I find the kids to be accepting and supporting of each other. The facility needs to be improved. I could see prospective families being turned off by the old buildings. I see the only lacking elements here as lack of technology and the facility. The academic teachers spend the whole afternoon talking about the kids and planning. You don't get that anywhere else! The education my daughter is getting her far surpasses what she was getting in her public middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

My daughter loves this school even though it is very clique-ish. She adores all her academic teachers and is handling the workload well. Arts programs could be better, especially the Ballet. New buildings or location would be great, very old and rundown. I understand that fundraising has been going on for years. They are extremely hard on absences for illnesses, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

My child has been attending this school for five years now. It seems that the school was much, much better 5 years ago. Gradually things seem to be going downhill. Granted, the academics are strenuous, which is a good thing, however each year something else seems to be eliminated. There used to be a retreat where the kids actually went away for a couple of days. Now it is one day and they stay at school all day. Last year at the end of the year several really good teachers left. They were teachers that had been there for awhile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

this is definantly a great school, but it sint for everyone. This is my 2nd year, and middle school was fun and exciting and different, but highschool is a big leap. The arts are phenominal, the students and facilty are amazing! I must agree, though, that the lack of physical education, visual arts, and class size is not everyones favorite. Don't get me wrong, this school is great and really is a safe environment of non-judgmental and mature students!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2007

My teenager has been at ASA for 5 years now. 5 years ago ASA was much different than it seems to be today...it seems that the middle school does more activities together, which gives the parent the feeling that it is a real 'community' at ASA. However, as high school progresses, it turns into something different. Gradually, many classmates leave, and relatively few replace them. The classes get smaller each year. (the higher you go up into high school) The middle school just keeps growing. I think that the level of academics is high -- I agree with the parent that was concerned about the stress level, however, and the lack of physical activity. While arts instruction is very good, it is sad that there are no visual arts. We have been fundraising for a new building for all 5 years that we have been involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

I go to this school, and it's amazing, I've never felt so warm and accepted in my life as I do hear. The students are friendly and accepting, the teachers are great and easy to understand. The work is kinda hard but it's the best. It definitly is excellence in education, and the talent that these kids have is amazing. I love this school and never want to leave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2007

Is it possible to get a first-rate academics while attending an Arts school? Absolutely! ASA accomplishes both and sets the standard in the process. Their refreshingly unique philosophy of encouraging life-long learners, not simply test-takers, pays off with kids who truly know how to use critical thinking skills. (Oh yeah, a side benefit is they post exceptional scores without 'prepping' for the standardized test each spring!) The Arts classes are also exceptional. The teachers and administrators are phenomenal and set the tone for the school. They know each student by name and help keep the 'family atmosphere.' Discipline problems, which are rare, are handled immediately and fairly. The front office staff is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

I am a student currently in 7th grade at ASA. I am new here and it is wonderful! Every one is friendly and very helpful. You can enjoy waking up and putting on anything your heart desires and safely knowing that you WONT get made fun of. I have been to three other schools but none can compare to the education and fun here. Even though there are no sports which is kinda on the downside they do alow you to play flag football at lunch. At lunch you are not told where you can and connot sit heck you could sit on the stage if you wanted to. All I am saying is this is a wonderful opportunity to exceed and suceed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2007

ASA is an exceptional school. My student who graduated 2 years ago is still benefiting from the top-notch education they received. I still am very involved with the school and the leadership at the school is still as strong as ever. The new faculty members joining the ASA community are fantastic. Come to any event at ASA and you can see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

ASA was a very good experience for my child, but something is very wrong when all the best teachers leave at the same time. No one is talking about it, but it should be addressed openly, hopefully so that what ever went wrong won't happen again. Without the leadership that was there, it is hard to guage if the same great program is still there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

I am currently a student at ASA, going into 9th grade next year. I've been here since 6th grade and I've enjoyed every year. I would never leave the school for the world. The school has many good qualities, including great academics combined with excellent teachers (this has helped me learn so much), and a truly remarkable arts program. The level of training in arts classes has resulted in many highly professional Showcases. There are also some bad qualities though. The stress level at ASA is extremely high. The school also does not provide very many extracurricular activities. In terms of student relationship, I've found that the students do tend to create clique-like groups. Although not as obvious, it does create a feeling of exclusion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2007

This school does work hard to achieve a balance does not meet the needs of many of the students. Faculty do not like working with the parents with their children. It is their way or the highway mentality. This does not foster good relations between parents and the teaching faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

This school has a great learning excperience but the kids just get too stressed with there homework and grades. I am a student there and I tend to cry or get mad bacause of too much homework or too much at one time...I am currently going to be leaving this school because of too much stress.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2007

I am a student here and am in 8th grade. I like this school very much and it is a great school. The kids are friendly, but there are many clicks. The academics are great and the teachers are very supportive of each student. The arts are only good, you could probably get a scholarship from any other high school. There are few extracurricular activities and absolutely no sports. There is also no physical education, only ballet. the level of parent involvement is so-so it is pretty much half and half. Some contribute and others stay as far away from the school as they can. I would recommend this school only if your child is an overachiever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2007

As a current student at ASA, I can agree that it has its good qualities, and it's bad ones. If your child is a good student who really loves the arts and has strong self confidense than this school will be a good fit. The teachers and the academic programs are unmatched in the Phoenix area, the arts, however stongly incorrporated, lack quality and do not balence out the horrible lack of physical activity. The two main problems with this school are definatly the lack of sports and the lack of variation in the student body. You are with the same 26 people for 6 years and, generally the school atracts a similar kind of person: white, over-acheiver, and image-obsessed. In short: if your child enjoys varied company and physical stimulation, this is the wrong place for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2006

ASA's first and foremost goal is a college prep curriculum. Students have little to no outlets to express their concerns with other students, faculty, or curriculum. The performing arts program is mediocre, even sub-par when considering the nature of the school. Although the ballet program is exceptional, the music program matches that of most large public high schools. The theatre program has a talented faculty that reads like a who's who of the Arizona theatre scene.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 16, 2006

Okay, so I'm not a parent, but this is a student speaking here. I adore ASA. The teachers are amazing; I want to come to school every day, and I enjoy all of my classes. I learn so much, and the balance of academics and arts is just perfect. Also, not only does ASA have great academics, but it's just amazing. I mean, I was really quiet and shy when I came. It was so easy to open up and be me. There were no clicks or 'popular' or 'nerdy' or 'gothic' groups; there's just individuals, people who aren't afraid to be themselves and be open about their opinions and feelings... I'm in 9th grade, by the way, attended since 6th grade. If you can get your child in, do it. I love ASA with a passion. I wouldn't leave it for anything in the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2006

ASA is a wonderful school if your child is willing to work extremely hard and has the aptitude. I have two children at ASA. One loves it, she is making a 4.2 GPA and is very motivated. She adores ballet. The school showcase is amazing - like professionals. The other student is in middle school and is struggling. She was asked to attend three summer school programs and it was very overwhelming for her. Her AIMS tests were much higher than meets but not exceeding, and she was still told she was almost failing by ASA teachers. I would like to see the school have a track for students who are struggling to help them with alternate methods of learning. Not every student can read and test out well and they need the encouragement too. Not everyone can make an A at every subject!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2006

As a current student (attending since 7th grade and going into my senior year), I have to say that ASA is an amazing school. Originally interested because of the high quality arts programs (ballet, especially), I stayed because of the college-prep academics. It's hard work, but as the cliche goes, that's what makes it great. The school's like a family, not surprising since I've been in class with relatively the same people for five years and the director of school greets each student by name at the door? Yet ASA's not for everyone- a lack of sports, high stress (and high yield), and an expectation that you will do well and you will strive for excellence, drives some people away. But I've stayed, and I think it's been worth it. Though parents have to realize that it's not all the kids- parents are expected to participate and help.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 66%N/A49%
Male 34%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Leah Fregulia Roberts
Fax number
  • (602) 252-7795

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1410 N. 3rd St
Phoenix, AZ 85004
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 257-1444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT