Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cactus View Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2013

My children's school is amazing, self proficient and caring of all its diverse children. This is the best elementary school I have come across in the entire Phoenix area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

My children have attended this school for 2 years now, and they have excelled the academic standards! I recommend this school to any parent. My children won soo many awards, but keep in mind parents, children need our support. They need to see you be there for them when they need academic support or even when they face challenges on how to problem solve with different kids' characters or attitudes. This school has mid level issues regarding bullying or with how kids choose their words towards each other. They are working harder at it as time has passed although they still need a little work on it. But when there is an issue, they try to resolve the problem and see to it that the trouble causing child faces consequences. If your child needs help catching up to the rest in class, teachers here are very supportive, and not to say the principal. She is very awesome! I really love this school!!:o)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

My daughter is finishing first grade at this school and I cannot say enough good things about Cactus View and their staff! My daughter gets special ed, speech therapy and occupational therapy. She has blossomed at the school. She has so much more self confidence now and can easily make friends. She has progressed academically 300% over the charter school she attended for kindergarten. The therapists and the teachers are so supportive. I also love this school's campaign and constant presence on anti-bullying. I am thankful we found this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

Very disappointed in this school. My son started in K and I have finally moved him to another school half way thru the 2nd grade. My son has been bullied and unhappy the whole time he was there. I kept thinking if we just stuck it out things would get better, they did not, they got worse. His second grade teacher was impatient, wanted him on meds, always complained about everything and didnt help my child. I finally moved him to Campo Bello and in a few short weeks he is happier than I've ever seen him, he is being tested for gifted learning and his teacher is amazing! I do not recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

My child has been attending Cactus View from Kindergarten thru 6th grade this year. For the most part I can say he has been blessed with very good teachers and staff. I'm sure he will look back at his years at CV with fondness and pride. I have enjoyed working with the principal, teachers and staff to help give him the best possible start toward his education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

good school, nice teachers my kids been going there for 4 yrs now, all teachers ave very responsible and qualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

I went to Cactus View for 7years from kindergarten to 6th grade. I am now a 8th grader at Vista Verde Middle School. I loved all of my teachers! They all took the time to know each one of their students. I had a fantastic time at CVES. I recommend this school!


Posted August 12, 2008

My daughter's teacher is Very qualified and responsive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

Honestly - The staff has been great and initially my children flourished when they first started the 2005-06 school year. The problem we are having now is with the students and their ability to have such negative influence on both my children. My children have exprienced extensive and ongoing bully like behaviors that have only been addressed once the faculty has been confronted rather than as they occurred by the teachers/duty aides. The community has been a disappointment and has evidently influenced my childrens learning and grades. I'm not sure how concerned anyone is there about these issues. They do have the integrated grades online to see your childrens grades but I do wish they were more concerned about seeing an Honor Student drop from honors status to failing his current grade within the first qtr of the school yr. No direct contact has been made from staff re: these issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

Excellent School! We love the teachers and the entire staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

Love cactus view! my children had a bully incident and it did not go ignored, it was taken care of - fast with rigid consequences. Truly exercising its ability to take control of complex situations. C.V examplified what a bully policy is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

Cactus View is by far one of the best schools my children have attended. The teachers are outstanding and the staff is wonderful. The parent/student participation is unbelievable. Great job Cactus View!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

Outstanding principle, teachers, office staff and teaching methods. Well-run, well-organized schoo. By far, the best school any of my children have attended in Phoenix.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

I have been very happy with Cactus View, until this last year, the second grade teacher my daughter had tried to discipline the kids as if they were the 6th graders she used to teach. If the kids did not use specific hand signs to ask a question they got detention. I am hoping the 3rd grade teacher is alot better at understanding the children she is teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2006

I think that the discipline measures that they are trying to use are
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

Cactus View is a decent school. The students represent a large range of cultural and economic backgrounds. The curriculum is soft and I don't feel it was challenging enough or prepared them properly for higher grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

my children are happy and well taken care of. The teachers are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Cactus View is an incredible Elementary School. My son only continued to exceed as each year passed at Cactus View. Sixth grade was by far his best year and has since moved on to 7th grade at a not so great school but has continued to excel with straight A's. I thank all the teachers for their sincere dedication to teaching the kids not only the academics, but valuable lessons that will hold strong in my sons future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2005

Cactus View has great hightly motivated teachers. My children have had a great experience since they have been attending it. They need more extracurricular activities and the PE class isn't really about sports, that's the main disadvantage I've found.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

Jan Stevens is very responsive to the indiviaul student's needs and requirements and makes every effort to know and assist in each child's development as do the teachers who work very hard to make sure Cactus View is a safe and fair environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 28% 43%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17602 N Central
Phoenix, AZ 85022
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT