Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenway High School

Public | 9-12 | 1572 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2005

Great school, keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2005

This school offers a great education for the kids. Teachers are hard-working and dedicated. The school is well-balanced, giving accelerated kids the challenges they need, but also working with kids that need more attention. Great school all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

Greenway is a school that can definitely be trusted to turn out responsible, learned students. In a district with high standards and expectations, Greenway has the highest. With few exceptions, the faculty and staff is of the highest quality and is quite helpful. I will send my children here year after year with no regrets.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 27, 2004

Admissions was easy, staff is friendly..overall, Great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2004

The staff is friendly, everyone's nice..overall it's great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2004

Although they have a good academic program, this school is much to lax on it's codes as far as the dress code, not enforced, providing parents with info on problems with their child, none. They have kids leaving campus for lunch that never return. There are kids on campus that don't even attend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2003

My daughter is a senior at Greenway and has attended all four years. The school is torn up with construction, and has been since summer, which we keep hearing will be finished 'soon'. I have been very pleased with Greenway for the last three years, but this year the school seems much less organized, focused and managed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Greenway is an exceptional school. I would rather have the old principal back and I do believe the school is over crowded. Plus, dangerous with all this construction going on. But I would not want to go to any other school.


Posted August 10, 2003

The school has a great group of teachers that help and encourage the students to excel.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 30, 2003

Greenway needs to weed out a few of the older teachers and get in some fresh, young, ambitous proffessionals.


Posted April 28, 2003

I am very pleased with Greenway High School but I feel that the security could be more intensive. I know that there are alumni's that go to the student parking lot at lunch to visit & eat with old school mates. If they can ~ who else does or could? I would also like to see a closed campus reviewed for the safety of our children. The lunches are to short & they try to get to lunch & back in such a short time. Fortunately nothing has happen of great severity to one of our students yet! Greenway is like a big family ~ Keep up the great work!


Posted April 11, 2003

My child is a senior and has been at Greenway all four years. As a family, we have been pleased with the school and its programs, and I would definitely give it a 'thumbs up.' The teachers overall are very good and have been responsive to questions, concerns, etc. I have found the English and history/government teachers to be excellent in their teaching skills and ability to convey the material. I have not been as impressed with the science teachers. The band and vocal directors also are quite good and well thought of within the music community. The principal is also highly regarded by the students, as well as the parents, which is remarkable. The counseling staff has an established schedule for what topics they will cover with each student individually each year (freshman, sophomore, etc.), has excellent scholarship information available for students at all levels, and seems fairly responsive to students and parents alike. There is one counselor I would not recommend, however. This individual would not return my calls in a timely manner and, in a joint meeting with me and my child, failed to acknowledge my presence in any way. As far as activities go, they are diverse and cover a wide range of interests - photography, theater, sports of all kinds (including bowling and badminton, as well as the biggies of football, basketball and baseball), language clubs, computers, etc. If a student can't find something to join, he or she is just not trying. It's been a wonderful four years, and my child and I will both miss being around campus next year.


Posted March 28, 2003

We moved our son to Phoenix and Greenway High School at the beginning of his sophomore year. Transition is never easy at age 15. We dragged him kicking and screaming across the desert from California. We chose Greenway after visiting 4 schools and interviewing the principals. More importantly, I sat outside of each school and observed the campuses on several different days.I talked with students,coaches and teachers. I was extremely impressed with Greenway in that the teachers and staff were so invested in the kids inside and outside the classroom and on the sports teams. My son is currently a very successful senior, a class leader and a sports stand out. He was accepted at 8 major universities outside of Arizona. I attribute much of his success to caring teachers, demanding but supportive coaches and administrators. There are a number of outstanding and inspiring teachers. There is a very active student run diversity awareness program that helps to foster mutual respect and understanding among the students from different backgrounds. No school is perfect, however, our experience is that when problems do arise the administration, staff and teachers are very willing to work with the parents and students to address the situation. The telling tale is that as our formerly recalcitrant son prepares to head off to college, he tells us that chosing Greenway High School was the best thing that ever happend to him.


Posted October 15, 2002

My son transfered as a junior to Greenway. The teachers and other students went out of their way to make him feel welcome. The teachers take a genuine interest in each student and work to help each one achieve success. I feel my child will be adequately prepared for college.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 42%
Hispanic 26% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 915-8560

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Lacrosse
  • Water polo
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3930 W. Greenway Road
Phoenix, AZ 85053
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 435-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT