Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Keystone Montessori Charter School

Charter | 1-9 | 300 students

Our school is best known for providing a foundation for a lifetime of learning.

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 17 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2013

We cannot tell you enough how much we appreciate all of the caring staff and wonderful teachers at Keystone Montessori. Keystone Montessori helps each of our children grow to their full potential. We have a child with special needs who knows they are loved in their schooling environment. While our typical children are thriving academically, our special needs child is thriving socially. We are very thankful to be part of this wonderful community and amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Our family has been with Keystone for many years. Our children have had the opportunity to excel academically while they grow socially with their peers. They have developed a true love of learning with the Montessori philosophy. We have been extremely happy with Keystone and highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

I can't say enough about how happy my whole family is with Keystone. The teachers are so dedicated, the administration is well organized and fair, and the school has a caring and respectful tone. Parent involvement creates a supportive environment and a community feel. Most importantly my children are happy, challenged, and passionate about learning. We have been at Keystone since preschool and on and I would recommend the school with out hesitation. We feel truly lucky to be there and know the school has something very special going on. The only area I feel could use some improvement would be in communicating changes. They do a good job but not as strong as they are in other areas. To reference some comments I saw below, I have never witnessed favorable treatment to families who are able to donate more money, that has not been my experience at all in the five years we have been here. Also, this is a true Montessori school. To avoid a mismatch in schools where comments like I read below come from, "great if your kid wants to be a janitor" please make sure you understand the Montessori philosophy before you pick Keystone and you won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

Keystone is an amazing school with outstanding students, teachers, administration, and parents. The school is an authentic Montessori program that nurtures each child's individuality. My two children have attended the school for 6 years starting in Children's House and it is the only school I see them going to through the 9th grade. I have spoken with other parents of children who have transitioned out of the school and into high school and they have all had wonderful things to say about their children's smooth transitions, social adjustment, and academic accomplishments. This school is an authentic Montessori, privatel like quality school that depends on donations to operate at this quality level. I personally feel that parents need to understand that public funding does not provide the means to deliver a quality program; this is why people are unhappy with public school. I chose Montessori and I chose Keystone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 6, 2012

I recommend Keystone without reservation. In addition to becoming lovely human beings, our children are thriving. Our 5 year old is reading, writing, and comprehending mathematical concepts. What I love is that the children have a deep love and understanding of all that they learn, rather than simply the ability to memorize and regurgitate information. As a result of their time at Keystone, our children have an inextinguishable love of learning and respect for the world around them. The Keystone campus is lovely and the teachers and staff are very caring and dedicated. Keystone is a traditional Montessori school that follows the teachings of Maria Montessori and uses traditional Montessori materials. Parents considering a Montessori school should consider reading up on the philosophy and methodology before enrolling. Montessori schools develop character AND intellect on an individualized basis. Children develop at different rates. Montessori schools provide an environment to facilitate self-motivated activity where the mastery of the work is its own reward. Children spend 3 years with the same teacher. This creates a meaningful bond between student, teacher, and parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

Reviewer below could have been me ( see July 27th review). Her experiences at this school are similar to mine. I also believe that parents who donate are in a league of their own and their kids are better attended to. I pulled my kid in mid-year because she was not showing much academic progress at all, although teachers assured me that my child us "progressing at his own pace." My child seemed to enjoy his time in the classroom, but was never eager to go to school. My biggest complaint is that our teacher was not willing to listen to my worries about lack of progress. Default position of this teacher was that she knows best and that I should patiently wait to my child to start showing motivation to learn. I regret my decision to enroll my child there. When we moved to another school (mid-year) my child showed sudden interest in learning. But the reviewer below was right: our learning curve was steep. My child is now excelling and is doing quite well. Don't be deceived by attractive, well-dressed surface of this school. Other people seem to have much better experiences, but like the reviewer below said, "hit or miss" is also a theme at Keystone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

The teachers at Keystone are hit or miss -- some are good, although many have no formal college education. As other reviewers mentioned, there is high teacher attrition. In the classroom, there is a strong emphasis on "practical life" learning which includes things like cleaning, cooking, and tending to the outdoor environment. Unless you aspire for your child to be a janitor, cook or gardener, this isn't where you'd want your child's focus. When I transfered my child to the Kyrene School District there was a steep learning curve because of deficiencies in his learning at Keystone. As others mentioned, there is a constant pressure to donate money. Those who donate are favored and get better teacher assignments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2012

This is an amazing school! The teachers are great and really care about the children and always want to make sure that they become the best that they can be. My daughter was at Keystone from Kindergarten until 8th grade. The transition was very hard for her because she went to a large high school in the area. I wish that the adolescent program had prepared her a little more for high school and gave a little homework- even though thats not the Montessori philosophy the children are going to need to do homework in all the other schools that they go into. This is an amazing school and I think that my daughter learned how to be kind to others and how to help others that could be in need of help. True life skills were learned at this school. We are truly appreciative of the staff and teachers at this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

My child was in a Montessori preschool and did well. I then placed her in Kyrene Public Schools for kindergarten. Although our Kyrene school was rated a 10 and was "fun" for my daughter, she was totally bored and unchallenged for the entire school year (even after talking about it with her teacher)! We finally got her into Keystone and the transformation in learning has been extraordinary! I can't believe all the things she is learning and all well beyond what she would be doing in public school if we had left her. I feel like we lost an entire year in Kyrene but at least she's making up for it now. Her teacher is amazing and although the fall fundraiser was a bit steep in price, they only do it twice a year and my child isn't bringing stuff home to sell every week. Much worth the donation in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2011

Keystone is nestled in the foothills of Ahwatukee but is miles away from ordinary. Children are directed through learning without being forced, making them eager to take on new challenges while learning at their own unique pace. From first grade on, students are also treated like young adults, resulting in engaged, well-rounded, community-minded achievers. Every day our son comes home saying, "I love school," we're truly thankful that a better way thrives in Arizona. And yes, you will too...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

Our child attended Keystone Montessori School from Kindergarten - 9th grade. We are so fortunate for the education and life skills that he gained. He was very well prepared when he transitioned to high school as a sophomore. In high school, he has been enrolled in honors and AP classes, he is a member of the National Honor Society...and he enjoys learning! He is now a senior and looking forward to furthering his education even more next year in college. The school definitely has high academic standards, however, the beauty of Keystone is that along with academics, learning revolves around the "whole child". Children are respected as human beings; they learn to make good choices; they are confident and they are surrounded by cultural diversity. We believe that all of these aspects combined make it possible for students to be successful in whatever path they decide to take in life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

My family transfered to Keystone from another valley montessori school a few years ago. I did alot of research and fact finding in order to make the decision. My children have gone through all levels now at the school and have received a very authentic Montessori education. The fact that donations are requested is due to the low State funding, and for a premium program a donation is truly worth. I have never felt pressured. As for test results all Montessori students do well, they just know this stuff due to the great program. It just might not be for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

I can't say enough thank you's to all the amazing staff at Keystone! My children love school and are always eager for the school year to begin again. Keystone is Montessori 100% and I can't imagine my children anywhere else!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

I really feel like the teachers & staff really care about my child, it should be voted as America's Favorite School because of the awesome curriculum and wonderful experience they provide to their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Last year my family joined Keystone to find the most wonderful staff. We moved from out of state and having attended, what I thought was an authentic Montessori environment, only to learn that I had found an even better place for my children. The entire community, from parents, faculty and administration has met my expectations in every way. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

We were very dissapointed with the school's ability to retain their AMI quality teachers and the adminstration is judgmental towards families who can not pay extra to their financial campaign
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Keystone is a great school and my child has really blossomed since he started attending this school. The teachers and administration are great. The parents are very involved and active and the school and are dedictated to its success. We are very pleased with our experience so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Keystone is, by objective measures, consistently a top performing school, but it is also a school that, operating in the grand Montessori tradition, inculcates a genuine love of learning in students by helping students discover their own strengths and weaknesses and giving them the means to work toward capitalizing on the former and working to strengthen the latter. The school is wonderful, and beloved by its community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

My two children went to Keystone for several years. Our experience has been mixed. The extra curricular activities at Keystone are fantastic, the field trips, the year end tours, the science fairs - fabulous. Considering the fact that they do all this with little or no extra money from the parents is great! Parental involvement is also phenomenal. One thing I have a major peeve about Keystone is about the quality of teachers. There is a very high turnover of teachers - my kids had a new teacher every year, which defeats the Montessori advantage of having mixed age classes (grades 1-3, 4-6 etc). Teacher quality was mixed at best, there were a couple of teachers who had major difficulty communicating with the students and the parents. They didn't encourage gifted children by providing extra challenges or opportunities to learn. I have decided to move both my kids to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

My son was really struggling with school when he attended a traditional public school. I decided to move him to a Montessori setting, and chose Keystone because it was a good size, a beautiful campus, and most importantly the teachers seemed very engaged with the kids. We have been so happy to find that Keystone was everything that we hoped it would be! Within just a few weeks, my son was reading at grade level, and his behavior was excellent. He has been motivated to learn in new ways, finding engagement in subjects that weren't even an option at his previous school. I highly recommend Keystone Montessori.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 3%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Academic Excellence Award for Reading (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sherri Sampson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 283-8402

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1025 E. Liberty Lane
Phoenix, AZ 85048
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 460-7312

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Kyrene Monte Vista
Phoenix, AZ



Casa Vida
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT