Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison Richard Simis School

Public | PK-4 | 991 students

We are best known for academic excellence.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted June 9, 2011

Madison Simis is a wonderful school with a long heritage of excellence. Parents are involved, teachers are caring and hard-working, students are eager to learn. It is nurtured by an enlightened Phoenix community and enjoys a beautiful setting. We take pride in all that we have accomplished and are ever in a mode of continuous improvement. Thank you for your continued interest in Simis, and for your support.

101 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2006

This is an overated school but for Aizona's poor standards it is adequate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

My daughter's experience at Madison Simis has been great. It is a larger school, however, the teachers negate that big school feeling with their caring attitudes and fantastic knowledge. There is a large % of the population who appear to get dropped off at school by their parents vs. walking or riding the bus which tends to make it a little hectic during a.m. and p.m. dropoff/pickup time, but that is seriously my largest complaint. They are currently deciding whether to implement a 'school within a school' program there, so if you prefer non-traditional learning styles you may want to stay tuned for the outcome of this proposal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

My child currently attends this schhol and although I have been happy with it this year, I will be looking for another school. The decision to change an already excelling school to a 'traditional' model baffles me, and reeks of trying to attract affluent families. We don't need more rich, white kids at the school, we need quality teachers and a curriculum that encourages kids to think for themselves and enjoy learning. It's really sad what is happening to this school. The fact that the 'traditional' method has been snuck in, with only one parent meeting, is disturbing. This drastic change in curriculum requires dialogue between parents and the schhol. I will be searching for a schhol that values, and welcomes, that dialogue
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

I disagree strongly with the complaints about Dr. Flowers. We've met with her several times, and find her to be not only genuine, but genuinely helpful. Our biggest problem has been not with the principal, but with the rigidity of the curriculum. And beware, it could get worse: the school board is planning to convert Simis to a 'traditional' (i.e., 1950's-style teaching and discipline) school, and is ignoring objections of a large majority of parents. Very secretive, very arrogant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

Above average acedemic programs, good teachers, excellent art and especially music programs and Music teacher all coupled with high parental involvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

We are so disgusted with the new principal at Simis. I totally understand the saying, becareful what you wish for! We thought we didn't like the former principal, but she was a gem compared to what is principal now! Dr. Flowers is a fake! She acts very sweet and pretends that she cares what you think but that is not the fact. My husband and I tried to discuss a problem with our student and she just didn't care what we had to say. We have never been so put off before. We are hoping to get into a different school next year. If you are smart, as long as Dr. Flowers is principal, you will look elsewhere as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Our child began the pre-K program in November. My first impression was that of a lack of organization. Our child seems very happy there, though, and I hope our future experiences are good ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

Yes the parent involvement is nice but the whole tune of the school starts with the administration and front office staff. They are rude and not helpful. Considering the number of children with special needs in society today this school needs to become better educated and equiped to help children with challenges succeed.A large number of students in all of my childrens classes (K, 2& 4) are there on a variance. I think this is a negative thing. There was such hope for the new principal and it turns out she is way worse than the one we had before. People think this is such a great school until their children go there. The education system in AZ is terrible and Simis is a perfect example of that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

My son attended Simis for his Kindergarden year. He made fast friends and the all the teachers were very kind. I could tell he was very comfortable and I was impressed with how much they learn in that first year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

The parent involvement is great here. It makes all the difference in the kids attitudes. They seem really happy and excited about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2005

My daughter started kindergarten this year and I was pleased to find that parent participation is highly encouraged. You may meet with your child in the cafeteria and have lunch with them if you wish! Parents are well informed of what's going on by a weekly newsletter. Only after a month of school, my daughter has become very interested in reading and writing. The teachers there are well educated and use proven methods for learning. I am very impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

Awesome! Great quality, extracurricular, parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

I have two children currently attending Madison Simis one in K and one in 4. The academic programs seem to be very strong. My fourth grader has done very well academically and loves the AEP program. The parent involvement is very high and quite a lot of money from PATS supports solid programs. I do wish we could incorporate individual music instruments for the students to take home and study. The music teacher is very good and does the best he can with the budget. My main concern about Simis is the high teacher turnover. Hopefully, the new principle will put an end to it. It would also be helpful if the administration could keep parents better informed about academic programs that are being phased out. Many times those of us that are directly affected are the last to know and often without any input from us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

I was a preschool teacher there for 3 years. I loved the parent support and involvement. I was impressed with how well run the school was and the level of experience the teachers had. It is a great school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 12, 2005

We live outside the Simis area and are greatful that our daughter is able to attend Simis. Our total experience has been great. My daughter loves school and I believe that is due to the love and dedication of Mrs. Tancos as well as Ms. McNeill. I'm sorry to see that Ms. McNeill is gone and I hope the new administration is as friendly and caring. I would recommend Simis to anyone who asks. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2005

My son attended kindergarten and 1st grade at Simis and we were pleased in every way with his education. He learned alot for just beginning school and he had fun doing it too. Parents were very involved and I think this had a very positive impact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

This school is currently undergoing a big transformation. Hopefully the new principal will be a better leader than the last one was. They have been hiring some 'not so good' teachers as of late. My daughter had a terrible experience this past school year (2004-2005) in 3rd grade. They also don't like having children with special needs, and don't have an accepting climate, unfortunately. What is this teaching our children? It's not all bad...the master teacher's there are excellent, so if you can get a very experienced teacher, they get a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

I enrolled my children in Simis in January 2005 and so far I am not that impressed. I had two teachers that were average at best. Most of the teachers complain that they do not have a curriculum to teach, thus leading to a high teacher turn over. The test scores are high because the demographics are upper class. Most of the parents I have spoken with are sending their children to private tudoring for reading and math. The method of math taught at Simis is horrible. It confused my daughter who was in the gifted program at her last school (a excellent private school). The principal never left her office, and when we first enrolled in the school nobody bothered to show us around, they just gave us a map and let us go on our own. We are reconsidering re-enrolling our children into private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

My child loves going to school. Mrs. Luckey, Mrs. Tancos and Mrs. Comstock have been the best teachers in the world. Not only do they know what they are doing, they teach in a way my child is a successful learner. I wish I had more children to send to Simis because of these teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

I liked Madison Simis because the teachers were interested in exploring new ideas of how to teach the small kids, not just the same old thing every day. The only negative thing I have to say is that the teachers didn't always coordinate activities with the parents in the best way.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Black 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Gardening Award for DIGGS (2007)
  • Excelling School (2010)
  • Odyssey of the Mind, City, State, World contestants (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Joyce Flowers
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (602) 664-7399

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Creative writing

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • *pats, parent organization strongly involved *art masterpiece *cover story publishing center *site based management team
More from this school
  • *Strong literacy and math program *Continual assess. of student progress *Strong parental involvement *Special Reading Support*ELL *Gifted program for acceleration *On-site special education *Preschool on site *Book Store *PE/Art/Music/ technology classes *Before & after school care *Cover Story Publishing Center *Art Masterpiece Program*Gardening/Botany Curriculum*Art Masterpiece
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Madison Meadows
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7302 N 10th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 664-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT