Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Metropolitan Arts Institute

Charter | 7-12 | 252 students

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $119,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2006

I am currently a senior this year at Metro Arts. I have been to several schools including: Veritas College Prepatory Academy, Saint Mary's, and Shadow Mountain. I have to say this is the best highschool for any student inclined to the arts. And as for Veritas' alleged best ranking in the valley, they lack the artistic freedom found here at Metro. Metro has the educators and the enviornment needed for sucess. From personally experiences it is truly Phoenix's best Arts Highschool!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2006

I just graduated from Metro this spring, and it has been the best experience of my young 18 years. In my 2 and 1/2 years attending I felt like I was actually part of something amazing, and when I walked down the aisle at graduation, I knew it for a fact. I met so many different kinds of people, and now have a very diverse group of friends. The teachers treat you like a human and a peer, not a rating or paycheck. Before Metro I was a complete mess in all aspects of my life. I became social, and I tapped into talents I had no idea I had. And now, I can thank the school and the wonderful teachers [Thank you Simms and Shurtz!] for bringing me out of my shell. I wish I could re-enroll as a freshman!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 8, 2006

My daughter has attended Metro arts for 3 years and will graduate in the spring. We have been pleases with the quality of her education, the excellent arts programs and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

I've worked at Metro Arts for 2 years and really enjoy the entire faculty and student body! It's a great place for both students and faculty.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted July 11, 2005

My daughter attended Metro Arts in juniour year and is continuing on into her Senior year, after spending 2 years at Arizona School for the Arts and 1 year at shadow mountain. Her experience at Metro has been great..it is truly an envoronment which caters to the student artist. She has had more success here than with any otherschool she's attended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

Sending my daughter to Metro was one of the best decisions I have ever made. The education was excellent, the faculty, administration and staff were always engaged and helpful. The opportunity to integrate the various areas of art she excels in was a real boost to her overall education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2004

Awesome teachers and faculty. Great school for an 'Art Jock'. Multiple visual and performing art classes to include college prep classes. Our son is thriving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2004

I thought that Metro Arts was an awesome school. I was exposed to more possibilities in the fields of careers that I was thinking about for my future. Not only are the teachers great but they give you more of a chance to fully understand than in a over-populated class where the teacher can barely see you raising your hand. I met alot of different peole while being there. At other schools kids were in their own 'groups'. Over at Metro everyone talked to just about everyone< and because thee ws so few people everyone, including teachers, could easily remember who everyone else is. I had an awesome time while I was there. I would totally recomend it for any high school student that is looking to study art, and get away from the crowds of public schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 30, 2004

This school has a great philosophy of education. Art classes are the electives and there are plenty of them. Still, the emphasize is the overall education of the student. This 'overall' education covers the reading, writing and math portions of the high school curriculum. The students are given the freedom to learn while at the same time there is enough disclipine to keep the students focused on the basics. If a problem student does arise the matter is handled efficiently. This is an excellent school with excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Hispanic 29% 43%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 69%N/A49%
Male 31%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 N. 7th Ave.
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 258-9500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT