Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Queen Creek High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2008

This school is fantastic, The students are well behaved and for the most part the teachers are pretty good. Although i would be pickey about my child's teacher for earth science. But other than that the school is great. They also have a wonderful sports program!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 6, 2008

I went to Queen Creek my senior year. It was the best school I went to. Then actually helped me with my learning disabilty that I have and took the time to teach me what I needed to learn. The school I came from was just pushing me threw school and told me I didn't need help because I was just lazy. With that I would like to thank the teacher and faculty for the help they gave me. Along with that, the students are nice. It was a really big school compared to what I was use to, but I meet a lot of new people. Some I still talk to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2007

Queen Creek High School has extrememly caring teachers and administrators. It is a wonderful school; safe, scholarly, and full of opportunities for students to become involved. I highly recommend this school.


Posted November 30, 2007

i went to qchs for a half a semester and i hated it. the teachers dont care bout anything the dont help you at all. the students there are really rude and think there better than everyone else. i am glad i got out of that school. i am now attending coolidge high school. and i couldnt be more pleased with that school. :]


Posted October 17, 2007

awesome school, I love my teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2007

This school puts more emphasis on dicipline instead education and to educate is what we pay them for. I personally want my money back. You never receive a call if his or hers grades are falling but you are immediately called if there is trouble. They push the children through so they don't have to deal with them. This is the worst school I have ever seen. They are no help to the parents that try to help there children suceed. Do yourself a favor, don't send you children to Queen Creek schools period. Worthless
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2007

Honestly this is the worst school that I've ever been to. I hate it here, the food is old and nasty. The teachers barely help, and don't seem to care if you fail. I downon't reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2007

I used to go to school at Queen Creek High. I just recently graduated in 2006. It was a fun and educational environment . I really miss being a student there. I not only miss my friends and the fun times we had, but I also miss the teachers; if it wasnt for them, I wouldn't have a great job and life today. Thank you Queen Creek High
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2007

i personally think that the administration is very friendly and try to solve problems as best they can except for the principal. but all around if you can find the right friends and meet the right teachers QCH is an amazing school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2007

We are very disappointed with QCHS's academic program. Teachers seem to be satisfied with C's when our son is capable of A's and B's. Very poor communication in this high tech world. No effort to communicate with parents. Would not recommend this school for anyone with a child that needs a little push for better performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

I have been very pleased with this High School. My daughter does not do well in school and the teachers have been fantastic about keeping in touch with me and keeping me up to date on her assignments and which ones she is missing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

Mr. Fred Clare is an exceptional math teacher. He avails himself before school and sometimes afterschool to help students in need of tutoring. My child has been able to grasp difficult math concepts because this teacher takes the time to explain 'one on one' in his tutoring sessions. He's able to take an average math student and bring that students understanding of math to a higher level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

I have a son and daughter here at Queen Creek High. It's one of the best schools I've seen. I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2006

Queen Creek High School is the bes school anyone could ever be able to attend. Everybody is so nice there. It is just a GEM. The teachers are great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2005

Queen Creek high is a good school.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 31, 2005

Not very organized. Too many students had to hire additional teachers after school started rearranging our childs schedule. Not very informative either. Poor school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

I have two children in QC High and I give this school a poor rating. My kids struggle with math. The tutor available is absolutely no help and has never helped to increase the kid's grades. They have switched my kids out of math and english classes (different teachers) 3 times during one year. Their belief is that they are helping the student when in actuality this has lowered their grades even further. Parents with kids in this school that I know have kids who struggle with the same subject.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2004

I am a grandparent and work at the district office. my grandson is in florence district,but will go to queen creek high,as they have more to offer than florence and he looks forward to attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2003

i dont think Q.C is a very good school


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

442 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

437 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 23% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22149 E. Ocotillo Road
Queen Creek, AZ 85242
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 987-5935

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Canyon State Academy
Queen Creek, AZ



Evit - Combs High School
San Tan Valley, AZ


Combs High School
San Tan Valley, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT