Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Legacy Traditional School - Queen Creek

Charter | K-8 | 955 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2014

This school is excellent. Administration cares about the students, teachers and parents are truly try to do their very best. The school has an accelerated curriculum, and high expectations are in place allowing students to rise to the challenges and they impress in every area. Parents are supportive and involved and it feels like a big family gathering. Amazing school!


Posted October 13, 2014

Legacy Traditional School is a great school providing an excellent education to their students. We have two children and it is our second year attending Legacy. Both children have great teachers. Teachers and Staff members always greet you in the hallway or out front of the school. The Principal and Assistant Principal are often standing out at parent pick up helping after school. We love that the principal starts the school day with all students outside at Flag Ceremony. Flag Ceremony includes the Pledge, Character Trait Quote and Announcements. Parents are even welcome to attend Flag Ceremony! My husband and I really like that the school is Patriotic and focuses on teaching children to respect our country. We are also impressed with the accelerated education program. Our children came from public school and are excelling at this school. We are thankful for the high standards and expectations at Legacy. We feel that our children are being challenged and receiving the quality of a private school education. We really like the positive atmosphere and think that it is a blessing to have our children attending school at Legacy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2014

I was not happy with any of the neighborhood schools in this area. I had researched them while my kiddos were little and still at home. I decided to homeschool my children because I wasn't confident in any of the district schools. After several years of homeschooling, Legacy opened. It was a game changer for our family. My girls have thrived in this back-to-basics school. They are involved in sports, band, the school musical, and other clubs and after school activities. We have LOVED being at Legacy and would recommend it to everyone! The teachers are amazing and are so willing to go above and beyond. The administrators are happy and invested in the school. The campus is amazing and beautiful. There is nothing about this school that we don't love!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2014

Legacy is a great place for any family looking for a quality education, not just a charter school! The school is warm and inviting. The teachers are caring, professional and help students reach the high expectations of the academic program. The administrators welcome and encourage parent participation. We couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2014

I currently have a 2nd and 8th grader in attendance at Legacy Traditional Queen Creek. It is our second year at this Legacy campus. We love the Principal and Assistant Principal these two are an amazing team! They have both worked with me anytime I have needed them in a timely and professional manner. It is our families school of choice due to its accelerated curriculum including Saxon Math and Spalding. After paying for private tuition in the past, I can say that my children are receiving an equal and greater education here. All staff, whether it be front office, teachers, maintenance, food services or aides are always helpful and willing to assist in any way needed. I feel very fortunate to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2014

First off this school is NOT for everybody. It's a "charter" school, thus they can do what ever they want to. Principal, management, and most staff act "fake". Seems like this school is more worried about how they look, both property and themselves. I always had the feeling that the staff, especially the Principal, give off the impression that they are "stuck up" and "act" like they care when they don't. Legacy Traditional Schools is new to "being a school", district, managing/implementing rules and procedures....and it shows!! If you want to have a voice for yourself, your child and know that the school has to stick to certain regulations and procedures...go to a public school. I will never recommend anyone to enroll in this or any Legacy Traditional School OR for employment! Very disappointed!!


Posted August 12, 2014

My daughter was attending this school for 3 years. First teacher and principal ( in 1st Grade) were great. Second year and 2nd Grade - teacher was OK, principal was OK. Third year and 3rd Grade - bad teacher and principal. My daughter test papers were constantly missing, some test did not get finished because she as in gifted program at the time of a test. So her grades went down. We had several meetings with teacher and principal, even requested to change teacher. School refused. We are not coming back. She will miss her friends but not the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2014

I love Legacy Traditional School in Queen Creek. They teach love for America and patriotism. My kids are challenged and are expected to be responsible and respectful. The staff is friendly and feel like family. The administration is friendly and wonderful to work with. It has been a great choice for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2014

I love Legacy for my daughter. She has been attending Legacy for three years now and truly excelled. I think it is important for parents to know that this is an accelerated school, math is taught up one grade level and it can be challenging. I like the fact that students have PE 4 times per week, music, computers and library time. They do follow a traditional learning path, no group type projects but they encourage the students to think for themselves
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2014

First off the kids are held to very high academic standards and a nearly college level grading system,and then the school allows parents grade the tests! As a result the tests are often graded incorrectly. You need to go over the tests that come home. Secondly, most of the staff goes to the same Mormon church, and the kids they go to church with are allowed to bully nonMormon kids. By bullying I'm talking about taunting, violent threats, and physical injuries on the playground. Since the state is funding this school and it is not a Mormon private school, the administration would do well to remember that they are obligated to provide ALL the students with a safe learning environment- not just the kids of their church buddies. Lastly, one of my kids had a teacher who was a miserable, passive aggressive, bully. I couldn't go to the administration about it because I doubt they would care, since that has been the trend this year(another parent tried and was ignored). I think it would've been worse for child if I had. That said, my kids made some good friends(LDS and otherwise), and some teachers and staff we met were pleasant and professional. We are moving on next year though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

I have three kids that have been going here for about a year. It depends on the child whether or not this school will work for them. My oldest is in Jr. High and loves it. He participated in sports that really built his confidence. As far as academics he came from Newell Barney with straight A's. I can tell its a bit more challenging for him now. I've only been disappointed in one of his teachers. She has said so many inappropriate things to my son and other students, has openly humiliated my son, and has given him and others harsh consequences that were not deserved b and later she'd apologize to them and say she's "just in a bad mood". I've heard she won't be back next year, hopefully that is true. My younger kids struggled with wearing uniforms and accelerated curriculum. I realize my kids are all different, so what's good for one, may not be good for the other. We've had to figure that out on our own because the teachers that they had didn't really do anything extra to help them catch up or showed any leinancy on things they were getting used to doing. We've sure tried on our end but unfortunately I think next year I will put them back into their former school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

I would rate this school a 2 stars on problem solving, but 3 overall. My child has had an awful year here with a teacher and administration that obviously does not have any idea how to deal with a child with a diagnosed behavior disorder. It was recommended by a medical professional that his teacher be changed, school refuses. He is trapped in a classroom with a teacher who is not only on a "my way or the highway" power trip with the students, but also with parents. The school also needs to realize that rules, strictness, regulations, etc are needed and great, however, all people are individuals and sometimes the "one size fits all" rules and regulations do not work for every child and compromises need to be made in order to help everyone involved. Their grading system also leaves something to be desires and is more of a college level grading system, which in my opinion, is not beneficial for the grade levels that this school teaches. If you want your child to be told WHAT to think versus being taught HOW to think, this is a great school, if not then I'd recommend to continue searching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

I agree with the last review. So many times this year, when I've had to deal with some of the administrative assistants and the administration I've just walked away feeling so frustrated. They often don't return calls or do what they tell you they are going to do. I literally have come dread it every time I know I will have to interact with any of them, because of the lack of caring and belligerent attitude I've got from them throughout the year. There have been issues like I've never witnessed at a school. Running out of food before lunch is half way over and withholding water from kids who have been made to exercise in 100 plus degree weather because there was"not time for everyone to get a drink" to name a couple. Also, families need to be aware that all children who attend this school are required to do work a full year above their grade level in all subjects. The "tutoring" before school amounts to kids sitting a classroom where the teacher goes over the most missed questions on the last test. There will not be any extra individual help for kids who struggle in different areas, and the class sizes at the school are pretty big.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

If you're less concerned about quality education, effective communication and competent teachers and more concerned about how much the inside of the school looks like your local Hobby Lobby, then this is the place for you. This little gem of a school is jam packed with superficial, robot-like administrators and snarky, judgemental administrative staff. Needless to say, my child will not be attending this school in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

my son has been attending legacy traditional school queen creek campus for almost 3 years now. Although it was tough his first year coming out of public school(j.o.combs district) because of legacys accellerated program, he has excelled in all areas.My sons writing has inproved dramatically.The school uniforms I love and the parent envolvement is required too. The teachers and staff are amazing! Im so happy here and so is my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

We came to this school after Christmas Break in January. So far I absolutely love the school! The front staff is friendly and quite helpful, and the teachers are pretty good. I love the fact that parents need to volunteer there. It isn't much that they ask, only 12 hours total for the whole year. For those who work, you can take stuff home to do there. The school offers a lot of wonderful stuff, such as band, orchestra, computer lab, library, gymnasium, cafeteria and more! For a charter school, I find that awesome! I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

We have had our four children at Legacy Traditional Queen Creek for the past three school years. We are very happy with this school. The teachers are, truly, top-notch. The staff is helpful, friendly and always keeps the safety of the entire campus at the top of the priority list. The principal and vice-principal are directed leaders that are approachable and dedicated to this great program. Parents must volunteer and I consider that a perk, as well, because involved parents lead to involved and committed students. One of the best decisions we have made as parents was sending our children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 42%
Hispanic 7% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Marching band
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Marie Wilson
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (480) 655-5558

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Cheer Club
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • Lego Club
  • Marching band
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • AIMS scores for the 2013-2014 school year were the HIGHEST in San Tan Valley!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41800 N. Barnes Pkwy
San Tan Valley, AZ 85140
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 655-5553

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ranch Elementary School
San Tan Valley, AZ


Cambridge Academy East
Queen Creek, AZ



Combs Traditional Academy
San Tan Valley, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT