Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Navajo Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 587 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 2, 2012

While the teachers and administation at Navajo are amazing, I have been very disappointed at the level of academics. My second grader is not what I would classify as "gifted", but the work sent home that is completed in class and the homework are too easy for the grade level. I don't want to stress my son out with too much homework and I want him to enjoy going to school. However, I think there is room to challenge our children and I have not felt that Navajo has met that need. I have felt like the teachers are required to teach down to the kids that are slower rather than teach at regular grade level and challenge them to catch up. I have talked with other parents in the district in the same grade level as my son and there is remarkable difference in the work being done. It is truly a shame since as I mentioned the teachers we have had have been great, and I feel they are doing the best they can. We unfortunately will be moving to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

Navajo is an amazing school that does not get the credit it deserves. This school is teaching to educate and not just teaching to test. These tests do not reflect the tremendous improvements made by children who were not given a chance at any of the other schools in this area because of fears it would hurt their scores. Navajo's Principal has completely turned this school around and has given the kids at this school a chance to thrive and belong and challenges them to excel. The STEM program is an awesome opportunity for our children and the things they are learning go above and beyond what is being taught in the other schools. The Principal should also be thanked for bringing in the ASU student teacher and intern program which allows every child an opportunity for more individualized attention and growth. I am proud to be a Navajo parent and a member of this wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

Navajo is a diverse school with wonderful, caring staff. It has recently become a STEM focus school with unbelievable opportunities in the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics areas. Grants from ASU have made tremendous things possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

Navajo is a wonderful school with strong teachers. It is a STEM school, but the fine arts teachers are great, too!


Posted April 29, 2009

I always liked this school and the teachers, staff etc,, 2008 and 2009 has been challenging due to the amount of bullies at this school. They intimidate all ages of kids and do not care about detention or suspension. They will continue to push and threaten kids, all of the innocent children are afraid to speak up. The staff has been proactive in trying to control this but it has been ingrained into the daily life and culture of the school. The parents of the bullies blame the school, teachers, students, and parents instead of taking a step back and analyzing the way they are raising their kids and taking full responsibility and enrolling both kids and parents in counseling for anger issues. I will not enroll my children for another year of intimidation and threats.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

This school is absolutely the best!!! My son went to another school for his 1st grade year and put back in Navajo. The teachers are caring and go the extra mile to make sure your child is getting the best education. I would recommend this school to anyone who has elementary aged children and are trying to decide where to send them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I love Navajo. I have two children that attend this school. One is in Kindergardent and the other is in the 5th grade. I am excited about the new Science, Math and Tech that is starting. My children love Navajo as well. My oldest attended Pima last year for a week and cried everyday until we enrolled him back into Navajo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

This was the first year my son attended Navajo. The teachers are degrading and disrespectful. The staff I dealt with across the board are negative. There needs to be attitude adjustments and sensativity training. The favoritism and preferential treatment by teachers/staff is disguisting. My son will not attend this school next year. I will be enrolling him in Pima Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

In conjunction with our dedicated teachers, our new principal, Mr. Holmes and parents, Navajo is transforming to a Science, Mathematical and Technology Academy. With Navajo's new leadership and teaching staff, Navajo has a very bright future and we are extremely happy to have our children be a part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

I love Navajo! I have two children at Navajo, a fifth grader and a kindergartener. Navajo has a new principal and a great Vice Principal that are motivated and invested in our school and community. With their help we are changing to a Math, Science and Technology school I feel that my children are being challenged and that they have amazing teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

Innovative principle with new programs for increased community involvement. Most of his teachers are excellent. Good opportunities for music, art and sport to enhance & improve academic performance. Parent involvement average but this year there seems to be increased programming for families with working parents! Mr. Holmes seems to be the principle this school needs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

Navajo is an alright school. I just moved this year, and I am so excited not to be going back to this school. The staff was full of drama. My daughter loved her Kindergarten teacher, which is great. She learned alot and I think the teachers are great. If they would get some new front desk receptionists the school would be much better off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2006

I taught at Navajo for 4 years. It is a great school that really cares about its diverse popultation. The staff had positive attitudes, were supportive of each other and were always striving to help all students. Also the PTO was very helpful and supportive of the staff. I would say that the classroom represented classrooms across the nation: above grade level, at grade level and below grade level students. The majority of my students were unique and cared about their education. No matter what the classroom population was, all teachers tried to meet every student's needs. I really enjoyed teaching at Navajo and will miss it. I wish all the students and staff the very best. Steve Yontez, 5th grade, 2002 to 2006.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 22, 2006

My Son is in the Panda Program and the teacher seem to be excellent. He is making advances in language
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2005

School quality is good. New principal in 05/06 school year will make it a great school. Teachers are dedicated to helping kids succeed. After school art/scrapbooking/dance/soccer offered. Parent involvement is high for a small amount of parents due to many dual working households.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2005

Navajo seems to be a very good school academic wise. Though it seems to me that there is not enough volunteers. I do really feel that they need more volunteers to help in the classroom and on the playground. Teachers are having to take the recess time and instead of doing paperwork and preparing ..they are out there having to supervise the kids. My daughter is in Kindergaten, and she has made so much progress in reading so quickly. They really do have great teachers but they could use some help and some supplies. With just a little bit of time and effort this school could really excell. Happy parent ,just feel for these teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

Located in a quiet Scottsdale neighborhood, good families, should be a much better school. Dissapointed in weak principle and weak academics. Good school for middle-low students, terrible for really bright kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

diverse academic programs, foreign languages, music and art in every grade, not many organized sports for younger children, located in great quiet central Scottsdale neighborhood. Plenty of opportunity for parent involvement, fun school sponsored evening events, talent show, etc
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

Overall, the Scottsdale School district is good compared to other Phoenix area districts. I personally feel that the classrooms are growing ever year, and the staff size is shrinking. An average school in my opinion. Could be better for Scottsdale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

I attended Navajo elementary 20 years ago and at that time it was exceptional, but lacked adequate music and art programs.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 42%
Hispanic 35% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 6%
Black 6% 5%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 484-2601

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4525 N Granite Reef
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 484-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pima Elementary School
Scottsdale, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT