« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Scottsdale, AZ
Students enrolled: 1,317

Contact this school

6250 N. 82nd Street
Scottsdale, AZ 85250

School website
(480) 484-6100
(480) 484-7101
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Saguaro High School address.

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
July 26, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
July 20, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
March 10, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
December 19, 2008
Teachers really do care if your student wants to learn! I agree with the statement of the front office women. Very rude and enjoy 'talking down' to students and even parents. They should be lucky they have jobs! My daughter has been there since 2007 and she's doing extremely well. Teachers care and will do what it takes to help your student but you have to help also at home.

- submitted by a parent
no rating December 18, 2008
My child has been attenting Saguaro since the beginning of the 2008 Fall semester. So far I am not that impressed. I do really love the choir program. However, like many high schools, all the emphasis seems to be placed on sports. Namely the football team. Ho-hum. I too think that the front office staff is extremely rude and arrogant. Which is funny actually. I don't know why they act so superior. I think more parents need to complain about their attitudes.

- submitted by a parent
September 21, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
June 17, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
January 02, 2008
Saguaro is the 'real deal'! Saguaro is a terrific school and offers all students challenging & stimulating academic opportunities in a 'real world' diverse social setting. We wanted a great school that wasn't Scottsdale 'plastic' or shielded from reality for our daughter to be successfully prepared and transition to any college. Also, the administration is extremely supportive and has does an amazing job despite all the unfortunate events that were thrown their way. Most of the Saguaro teachers work hard and are fabulous - our daughter recently took the Arizona AIMS and exceeded all three of her AIMS tests! Last but not least, the athletic programs especially football are second to none and one of the best that the State has to offer. In life, it is all what you of make it and Saguaro can offer the tools to make your child's education a positive and rewarding life experience.

- submitted by a parent
September 14, 2007
Despite their unfair reputation, and uncontrolable events that may have happened in the past year, I believe saguaro is an amazing school. So far, my wife, three of our children, and myself, have all graduated in the top 10% on the SAT's. One of my daugters decided to choose to attend her freshman year at Chapparal Highschool, and completely regrets making that decision. She is now a junior at Saguaro, and I don't believe I have seen her this happy in a long time. I am more than confident that my children are getting the education they deserve, and I will, without a doubt, be sending my next three children there in the future.

- submitted by a parent
August 30, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
August 10, 2007
I've had two children graduate from Saguaro. One tested in the top 3% on his SAT's. He went on to graduate from an honors college. When we moved to a nearby community during their HS years they chose to commute 45 minutes each way to stay at Saguaro. They participated in band, drama, choir, chess club, and numerous other activities. We travelled to NY to see the choir perform at Carnegie Hall (the choir and director were outstanding). The Saguaro community is diverse and the parent involvment that I saw was terrific.

- submitted by a parent
July 01, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
no rating June 29, 2007
i currently attend and i find it to be a socially overdriven school. even from viewing the yearbook you can tell the school is quite superficially focused. i personally cannot wait to leave and have enrolled in east valley institute classes in order to get away. a majority of the staff is rude and the principal is not interested in helping the students individually.

- submitted by a student
April 20, 2006
My daughter attended Saguaro for 4 years. She found a sufficient offering of honors and AP classes to be able to graduate with enough credits to start off as a midyear Sophomore in college. The voice program is well known.

- submitted by a parent
December 23, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 13, 2005
The school seems to cater to the students needs on an individual basis.

- submitted by a parent
no rating July 25, 2005
The academic programs at SHS are good. They have Honors and AP classes. There is great availability of music, art and sports. There is a huge vocal and music department. There are 5 choirs at SHS, one of which was asked to sing at Carnagy Hall in New York this summer. There is great parent involvemnet.

- submitted by a student
July 17, 2005
We are very happy with the quality of education at Saguaro High School. Teachers are focused on student learning. Our student has had a very positive experience at Saguaro. Some teachers have more challenging schedules due to extra curricular actives. Consequently, their availability to provide remedial help to students at the end of the day competes with those obligations. After our student was exposed to harassment we requested the school take appropriate action. The school removed the offending student from our student s class. No further problems against our student have occurred.

- submitted by a parent
July 11, 2005
The school has many academic opportunities available to the kids but also allows time for the extra activities that make school interesting. Sports programs are excellant and the drama and speech programs have helped my kids to excel in other phases of life by building confidence and comfort in speaking publicly. The school makes sure they include a variety of special interest classes and clubs so that all kids can get involved.

- submitted by a former student
February 25, 2005
There are opportunities for students of all academic abilities, the student must, however,be pro-active in selecting their course. The counceling for students is limited,the counselers seem overloaded. A motivated student and their families can find a comfortable place here. The site, now dismal and outdated, I'm happy to hear will receive a 'face-lift' soon. My general feeling is that the school is under-funded but has gets by. More can be done to generate funds so the class size could be smaller. The area to the north is growing so rapidly, when more schools in that area are built, it will greatly relieve this school. Like many other areas, extracurricular arts & music are effected by a starved budget. Extracurricular sports, however, seem to be well funded- they may receive private funding. Generally, good quality in the school but too many students for limited staff & resources.

- submitted by a parent
January 24, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
January 09, 2005
As a former student of Saguaro..I can say that there are plenty of extra curricular activities and opportunities for involvement. Teachers seemed very committed and spent extra time with students requiring more help. Great environment overall.

- submitted by a former student
December 13, 2004
I attended Saguaro from 2000-2004, and I found it to be academically and socially fulfilling. Most of the teachers are experienced and really care about their students. The music programs are top-notch, and the sports teams have also done well in recent years. Saguaro is a place where every student can find their niche. The administration is very unorganized and generally have no idea what they're doing. They often overreact to small problems, and take it out on the students. One major problem is the lack of adequate counselors and other staff (many took the buyout 2 years ago and got early retirement). My junior year there were 5 counselors on staff, and last year they cut it down to 3 (and 2 were part-time!). Don't expect a lot of help from the administration, its a waste of time.

- submitted by a former student
November 21, 2004
I was dissappointed with my experience at Saguaro. I found the Administration to be unsupportive of students. The adminstration's, including the teachers', primary concern was having the school look good, including test scores, to the public rather than developing their students. Additionally, the good sense of the administration was severely lacking. Unfortunately, during my time at the school and my siblings' time at Saguaro the administration has been very poor. It is my observation that my classmates, myself included, needed about a year to catch up with everyone else in college.

- submitted by a former student
August 07, 2004
I was a student at this school from 1994-1997. It was a terrible school then the principle was rude and mean to students she did not like. Some of the teachers were good. I would never send my child there.

- submitted by a former student
May 20, 2004
This school believes that if you make their ratings fall, you need to be gone from their school. I have yet to meet a teacher that will go the extra mile for a student. The front receptionist is one of the rudest people I have met.

- submitted by a parent
no rating August 27, 2003
I graduated from Saguaro in 1980 and felt I got a great education there. Schools are what the student makes of them and I feel it's the student's resposibility to get what they can out of it. At that time, I felt the school needed more computers and classes teaching useage. I also felt they needed a better student counciling staff. I got no real direction when I really should have gotten a scholarship considering my GPA and activities. Other than this, I loved going to Saguaro.

- submitted by a former student
August 21, 2003
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
no rating August 21, 2003
For the past 4 years when both my children attended here. Sauargo was a terrible school!!! The administration was horrendous & very prejudice. However the teachers were good teachers. I have heard that the administration was replaced this year, so maybe things should get better.

- submitted by a parent
July 14, 2003
This is a wonderful school. My child is having a lot of fun there.

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: December 16, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saguaro High School
6250 N. 82nd Street, Scottsdale, AZ  85250
(480) 484-6100
Last modified Saguaro High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Saguaro High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top