Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Yavapai Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
My son and I came to this school after a bad experience in a tempe school. My son is on the spectrim and is really hard to teach sometimes. I told them everything that was going on with my son and laid everything out. The school psychologist Ken Bauman was super friendly and helpful. When my son started class he was still having problems. But that's when his teachers really pulled together to help him. They have come up with plans to help him out, they have never given up on him. They bend over backwards ever day to help my son and it blows me away every time. The assistant principal Rene Murphy is super friendly and helpful. They resource teacher Anne Morrow and the second grade teacher Brianna Maxwell go out of there way everyday to teach my son. The team at this school works together and go out of there way to help the children. Even the cross guard cheri goes out of her way to say good morning to my son everyday. I can not believe how awesome this school is.

Yavapai Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
Ken Bauman, Anne Morrow, Brianna Maxwell, Rene Murphy This team goes out of its way to help my son who is not easy to teach and it blows me away.


Yavapai Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
bullying is ignored at this school. Even when a child or parent brings it to the staffs attention it is ignored. horrible school

Yavapai Elementary School 1

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
there is no communication and teachers I have had experience with just don't care.. too many children and not enough caring teachers.

Yavapai Elementary School 3

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
New Principal lacks interaction with parents. She doesn't seem very approachable neither does the vice principal. I hope they both will become more supportive with PTA as the previous principal was. We really miss her.


Yavapai Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2011
- a community member
Yavapai is an amazing place for students to be themselves.The principal is very nice and fun.The school offers Thunderbird Acadamey which gives grades 2-6 a choice to join a before school or after school club. Therfore PROVES that Yavapai is a great school to enroll for. You can get an amazing home in the area of Scottsdale that is safe and very friendly for you and your family.

Yavapai Elementary School 1

Posted April 08, 2011
- a parent
I totally agree with things falling on deaf ears @ Yavapai elementary in Scottsdale, AZ!!! Everything ive ever said fell on deaf ears, & this is my first year for my child @ this school 2010-2011..... The principal is VERY MEAN? O.K., she might be a little mean, but I do not understand she failed to reprimand one of her lunch ladies, after she put my daughter in time out for not eating her lunch? Or maybe calling her MEAN, is too much, even after the fact that she called the police on my wife & I for asking the lunch lady what happened? Maybe because the lunch lady had her boyfriend hanging out @ work, ready to fight me as soon as I questioned her about what the heck happened? HHHHHHHMMMMMMM.................. Besides the fact that the principal lacks INTEGRITY in all matters of her position, its a OK school for your kids to learn!!! lol

Yavapai Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 15, 2007
- a parent
An outstanding staff and administration! Yavapai has developed outstanding programs to meet the needs of all learners. My son has matured greatly during his first 4 years. Communication is excellent! Teachers and administration are accessible and willing to assist when necessary. This school deserves a pat on the back!


Yavapai Elementary School 3

Posted April 20, 2007
- a parent
My child has been at Yavapai since Pre-K and has enjoyed being at Yavapai for the most part, but this year has been extremely disappointing and worrisome! The teachers are great and really care for the students. The Principal is effective and has done a lot for Yavapai, but there is one huge problem at this school: Bullies! My child is being bullied. I reported the problem more than twice and it seems to have fallen on deaf ears. My child will not return to Yavapai and I would not recommend this school until they protect our children from bullies.

Yavapai Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2007
- a parent
I want to thank Yavapai for a great first year with the Scottsdale District. Coming in as a 6th grader was made easy for my child.My childs homeroom teacher is the best, she really works hard to keep our child on track and does her best to motivate allowing for our child to reach higher standards.At times it is a struggle , but she always manages to pull our child through.The Leadership is outstanding and is there when you need help.I am very greatful we made the switch.My child has a better attitude towards school since they have been at Yavapai.The school does alot for all the students.Thanks to the PTA for all they do to support the kids as well.

Nearby schools

Yavapai Elementary School
701 North Miller Road, Scottsdale, AZ  85257
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (480) 484-3800
Last modified Yavapai Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top