Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Thunderbird Adventist Academy 5

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
The school has a close family atmosphere. The teachers are very good and work hard to help make it a better place. Previous reviewers have commented on specific individuals but have not shared why they feel the way they do. There is a new principal this year and he seems to be working on addressing some of the challenges the school has faced in the past. My child loves being at Thunderbird and is looking forward to graduating.

Thunderbird Adventist Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
The teachers all have good professional relationships with their students. It shows when students return and the teachers take an interest in them.


Thunderbird Adventist Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
It is quite reasonable. Some teachers give out more than others but it fits for the subject and the need.

Thunderbird Adventist Academy
Develops grit: Agree

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
There are classes that are challenging. The school is still improving but they work with the raw materials that they are given. Teachers hold the line fairly well as they try to help students gain the skills they will need in the work world.

Thunderbird Adventist Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
The school is very caring and has a staff that cares deeply for each and every student. The students still have to do their part when it comes to learning but staff is there to model what a caring individual looks like. The staff models what a caring individual looks like, even when it is tough caring, even when it comes to discipline.


Thunderbird Adventist Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
There is an honor code at Thunderbird. Students coming in know that the school values honesty. Even if it means your in trouble because of it.

Thunderbird Adventist Academy 1

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
The girls dean at this school is very rude and mean. She told my daughter that she was a failure and she wasted her life. I talked to the principle many times yet he sent a letter saying My daughter could not return. There have been many compliments yet nothing is done to fix the problem. This school has wasted a lot of money sending only advanced music groups to Europe and Las Vegas but sending the other ones. They have gotten rid of some of the best teachers I have seen. The math teacher does not speak English very well at all and her entire math class is failing! Shouldn't that be something to worry about. There is not Christian vibe and I don't recommend this school to anyone.

Thunderbird Adventist Academy 1

Posted January 05, 2014
- a student
If I could of start this school back in when it first started or up to about three years ago before the school began to go through a principle change, I would have. Recently this school has been going through mean changes mainly due to the new principle. The major issues from what I what I experienced was the lack of show true Christian value/views, lack of good education, removal of some of the best teachers, finical issues and much more. The school is beginning to twirl out of control. I do hope that those who are continuing to go there in joy their years there and make the best out of what is to come. They will all be in my prayers.


Thunderbird Adventist Academy 4

Posted June 06, 2011
- a student
This school is one of the best schools around. It has amazing faculty and students that make you feel right at home and as if you were family. They are spiritually active and love to help the community. Their academics are not bad either. They have many extracurricular classes as well, and sports. It is a wonderful school, filled with wonderful people.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thunderbird Adventist Academy
7410 E Sutton Dr, Scottsdale, AZ  85260
(480) 948-3300
Last modified Thunderbird Adventist Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Thunderbird Adventist Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top