Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

International School of Arizona

Private | PK-6 | 298 students

Our school is best known for our full immersion language program.
 
 

 
 

Living in Scottsdale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $286,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, July 27, 2014

We left the school due to the absolutely poor education! We were promised a high level of education, but the majority of 2nd graders cannot read. The children are very far behind other students at their level and they will not be able to compete when they get into a "real" school. Parents excuse it claiming the immersion keeps their children behind, but that is just wrong. The school promised immersion, but how can you have that when they now combine the French and Spanish students for many hours each day due to lack of enrollment in the upper grades. It's just a poorly run school and the administration and board have no clue what they are doing so no one will be able to fix it. The only ones who lose out are the kids and that is very sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

My son has attended ISA for 5 years now - starting when he was only 2 years old. I was a stay-at-home mom at the time and wanted to allow my son to socialize with other children his age but didn't want to send him to the 'typical' day care that just involved aimless playing. Language immersion sounded perfect - learning, nurturing intermixed with playing. The adjustment was hard at first but after only a few days, my son would literally run to his classroom excited to learn! Over the years, his classmates have become his extended family, all accepting of each other! The teachers are amazing as well and very dedicated to the entire process of teaching through immersion. Hearing my son speak fluent French with a perfect accent brings tears to my eyes! And he still runs to his classroom! ISA = Money well spent and an true investment in his future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

I am extremely pleased with the International School of Arizona. Our son has been at the school for 5 years and is fluent in French. In addition, he has had after school Spanish and Mandarin for the past 3 years and is progressing well with both. We don't speak another language at home so this experience has been amazing so far. The teachers are native speakers of Spanish and French and are absolutely amazing. The American English program is also now implementing a STREAM (Science, Technology, Reading, Engineering, Art and Math) curriculum and we are very pleased. ISA is certified by the Spanish and French governments as well they have been recently certified in the American curriculum through AdvancED. My wife and I believe in academic excellence and both have graduate and post graduate degrees. However, academic excellence is nothing without the leadership ability through global cultural intelligence. There is no other school like ISA in Arizona. Every year ISA has grown by 5-15% and so there are always some growing pains. They are in search of a new building in response to the overwhelming agreement of academic excellence through second language immersion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

I have two children at this school, and although I search every year to see if there is a better option, I haven't found it! The small class sizes are unbeatable, and sometimes I worry that it may be TOO small as they get older, but I'm not arguing about it now! They are searching for a new location that can encompass both campuses. You can pick which teacher you want your child to have, and we have been very lucky at picking the best! Our kids are VERY loved there (2-3 year old room, and pre-K), and I feel they are very safe. Any drama there may be is only evident because it is a small school with parents, teachers, and staff all involved; if one person is upset, usually everyone finds out about it. They are continually improving their English program, so my fears about that have subsided a bit. There is NO OTHER way to learn a foreign language than FULL immersion, and this is why ISA is above and beyond any school in Phoenix or Scottsdale. It may feel like a risk to you to have your child completely immersed in another language, but I urge you to look at the research and data which clearly state numerous benefits, and pretty much no drawbacks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2014

STOP the politics! Please start caring for our little ones! This is a preschool! You charge $11,000 a year, constantly harass parents to give more money and make my son teacher cry.... When will this stop????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

I have 3 sons here and I absolutely love the school! My husband and I do not speak a 2nd language and I was worried this would impact my ability to help them with homework and such. It has not been a problem at all! This is their 3rd year and they are doing fantastic. My oldest started in Pre-k and is now in 1rst grade and he can read and write in both Spanish and English. The teachers are phenomenal and show great interest in each child's progress and the class sizes are small. I have not experienced any of the drama or behavior problems others have commented on so I find that really surprising. I also love the many after school activities at the school. There is a homework class, chess club, tennis, guitar, just to name a few. My only concern is what I will do after 5th grade since the school only goes to 5th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

International School of Arizona offers a lovely facility at the satellite location and a facility in need of updating at their main location. The teachers were wonderful. Most of the parents were very involved and went above and beyond in the parent association. We loved the curriculum - the 2 year olds are learning to categorize, letters, numbers, vocabulary, etc. We didn't see this much attention to cognitive development at other preschools. HOWEVER, where ISA falls drastically short is in the social and emotional supports for two-three year olds, which is a critical deficit when operating such a high-end preschool. The school counselor (1 counselor for 2 schools), administration and teachers are untrained in addressing the most typical developmental behaviors such as sharing, hitting, biting, and pinching. Friends of ours didn't enroll their child because they observed ISA kids out of control and unwatched. We wished we had listened to them. The playground and "free time" was always a free-for-all. We moved our child to another language immersion school in Scottsdale and have seen dramatic improvements in our child's relations with others and behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

My son loves this school, and so do we! He is in his second year and is learning French as it were his own language. All of the children in the school are performing above the national average in all subjects, especially math and science. The teachers are native speakers of the language, and many of the staff are foreign nationals from France and Spain as well as various countries in South America and Mexico, so the children are taught how to pronounce words in their chosen language as a native speaker would including colloquial phrases as well giving the children very authentic language skills. In the French language track, the school uses a curriculum from the French Ministry of Education and is subjected to oversight by the French education authorities via testing and visits to the school. We are very happy that our son is able to learn from a robust curriculum combined with being immersed in the French language. The school is also a good value; our son started at age 2, and the price was the same as daycare in the area. We know that this school will influence our son in a very amazing way for the rest of his life, thank you ISA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

We love ISA. The small school intimacy and the welcoming attitude of teachers and admin suits our desire to be involved in our child's education and community. The low teacher/student ratio is important to us. Teacher /parent communication is thorough. The children are well behaved and are testing well above their grade levels. Immersion study is not an easy program but our daughter gets one-on-one attention as needed and we feel the benefits are worth the extra effort. Plus, she loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

The International School of Arizona has been our home for the past 3 years. My now 4 and 5 year old daughters are thriving in the Spanish immersion program. I cannot imagine having my children in English only school when they have the ability to be learning in another language. It is one of the greatest gifts I will give them as parent. The school community consists of many involved families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

Many of the teachers and assistants here are outstanding! Children learn about lots of countries in the world and the special events that are scheduled are great. There is stability in the classroom among students and staff (not true at most preschools), so the students are the same all year--fostering close friendships among students and among parents. We wish that the administration was better and more concerned about addressing issues and concerns rather than being so laissez faire, but overall we think what happens in the classroom makes the school worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Our language immersion school is amazing!! The teachers are incredibly dedicated to our students success and my kids amaze me everyday with their advanced level of learning. My kids love school and for me that is a direct reflection of the school and its team of teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

The teachers are what makes this school great. The lack of leadership from the administration is what is holding this school back. For the money our families pay we should have a principal with a stronger background and more experience in eduction and running a school. If you want your child to have great teacher and a bilingual education this is the place for you - you will just need to close your eyes to the constant mistakes made by the head of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

The teachers are amazing...and that is where it starts and stops with the good thing about this school. The leadership is no where close to what a private school should have for the cost. My children have been going to the school since they were 3 and 4. My children are very fluent in the language, which is why I keep sending them there. However, the school administration is always crying for more money and parents are being told they need to be more of a giving community. For what? To stay at a campus that is to small and there is no new campus in the near future. They do not have the money. You would think that being in business for 15 years they would have all of their ducks in a row. The english department has tried and seems to be making improvements. The children do test higher than their grade level (once again a reflection on how great the classroom teachers are). The concept is a good one. To make this a great school, I believe they really need to revamp the administration with professionals that know how to run a private school that could compete with the other private schools in the valley then hopefully this school can rate 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

This school is absolutely terrific. I can't imagine why anyone would not give it 5 stars! The teachers are terrific, office staff always friendly, and administrators are prompt and on top of every concern I have ever had. The only down side to this school is the size of the facilities, but they are working to overcome this hurdle in the future. Once again, I can't recommend this school any more and your a fool not to at least check them out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

The best teachers I have ever met are here! My 2 year old asks for her teacher at bedtime and can't wait to go to school in the morning! The curriculum is excellently designed and thought out. After just one week of school, my daughter came home speaking french phrases! Amazing...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Wonderful school with the most amazing and caring teachers. Such a wonderful school for my son who had very little time adjusting (2.5 yrs old) all because the teachers are "extended" mommies to him. We highly recommend ISA hope they win the prize :) Sara
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

We have two children at ISA, and this is our second year at the school. Before enrolling, I spoke with several parents, toured many schools, and reviewed the curriculum. The current campus is quite a distance from our home, so, I wanted to be certain that my choice for preschool was based upon sound decision making, as our long term intentions would also include staying through the elementary years. Although the school is fairly young...about 15 years, they aim to ensure a competent and rigorous curriculum (the school is certified by several respected educational agencies). As of late, the English department is a strong focus, and the school appears to be making great strides in order to beef up the quality, and quantity of time that children spend learning English Grammar, and Common Core subject matter (in addition to the foreign languages). The current school facility does allow for staff to deliver a solid learning experience, however, it has some limitations in terms of physical space for increasing enrollment, technology, and outdoor sports. As a result, the school is seeking a new campus, and parents are looking forward to a permanent place for ISA to call home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Excellent teachers who really care about their students. I love the multi cultural aspect. There were at least five languages besides French being spoken by families from my daughter's class last year. The small classes are wonderful - children get a lot of direct attention. The two campuses (pre school and elementary) have pros and some cons. I would like to see improved communication from parent groups to administration, but I think that it is coming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2013

We attended this school for three year and watched it go downhill. I love the concept, but it does not live up to its promise. Leadership is poor, the curriculum is loose and the politics and drama with the parents, board and principal are embarrassing. Visa regulations have impacted the quality of the teaching staff, particularly at the pre-school levels. It is definitely not worth the cost, and you will likely tire of listening to them cry poor throughout the school year. My child has been in a new school this year and has learned more in 3 week than she did in 3 years at ISA.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Spanish
Farsi
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Farsi
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Michelle Borie
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 663-6894

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish and French Curriculum
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Farsi
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Each day attending ISA is like going on a field trip to another country where students are exposed to other cultures and languages allowing them to become bilingual, biliterate and bicultural while receiving a strong educational foundation.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$6000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9128 E. San Salvador Drive
Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 874-2326

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT