Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Scottsdale, AZ
Students enrolled: 2,202

4 stars
Based on 46 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


50 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chaparral High School 1

Posted April 09, 2013
- a community member
CHS is overrated. Middle of the road students are the least educated. The focus is at the extremes of the spectrum. Teachers at these ends can be talented but arrogant, while the majority of students are herded into large classes with mediocre teachers. Not the best place for students who need or want inspired examples, passion, attention and direction.

Chaparral High School 1

Posted April 09, 2013
- a community member
The school doesn't score that well on math and science standardized tests considering its ranking overall. Guidance is pretty limited and there's a feeling of preferential treatment for the more advanced students. A lot of teachers don't give any feedback or return work and tests. Overall, not so great compared to other schools in other states especially.


Chaparral High School 5

Posted October 25, 2012
- a parent
CHS is a great learning environment. My older daughter has just begun her freshman year in an out of state college and CHS prepared her extremely well with honors classes and AP courses. We are pleased and hopeful that the level of academics remains high there for our next child.

Chaparral High School 4

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
Surprisingly good. We moved from very good public school system on E. coast Two kids - one a high achiever and one with learning issues. The teacher quality has been very good - in general - with notable exceptions where kids go to extremes to avoid specific teachers (on-line courses) but that concern is not endemic or an issue only for Chaparral. One of our kids went to elite private school in E with similar issues. Support for our child with learning disabilities has been quite good; most private schools can't compete in that area. AP courses have been very good and accessible. Resultant SAT scores very good. In general kids are great and of high quality. Parent involvement is high and sports programs are outstanding for boys and girls. THIS QUESTIONAIR NEEDS A MEANS TO NOT RESPOND ABOUT PRINCIPAL LEADERSHIP - IF ONE IS NOT IN A POSITION TO EVALUATE. I HAVE BEEN FORCED TO EVALUATE SOMETHING THAT I HAVE NOT BEEN INTIMATELY INVOLVED IN. WHY SHOULD WE HAVE TO PROVIDE AN EMAIL ADDRESS? THAT REQUIREMENT PROBABLY DAMPENS INTEREST IN COMPLETING SUCH QUESTIONAIRES BECAUSE OF SECURITY ISSUES.

Chaparral High School 5

Posted March 10, 2011
- a student
This school is amazing! Yes, it can be a bit cliquey but there are few people who unwilling to talk to new students just because they are new. Chaparral iis THE most spirited school in the state. Our team are back to back state champions, our boys basketball team has been state runner ups for the past two years, our cheer team are back to back national champions and Arizona State champions, our Pom Squad placed top 5 at Nationals in florida, our girls basketball team has made it to the playoffs the past two years, the wrestling team has had 3 2nd place winners at the state championships, our swim team won state last year, our badmiton team won state this past year and we have several other excelling sports. Not are the sports amazing but the academics are great as well. There has been a student from Chaparral accepted to almost every school in the country (that were applied to) including Princeton and Oberlin. Our Arts programs are also amazing! We have had 4 plays this year with more coming. We have several students who are part of the National Thespian Society as well as several students who have been recongnized throughout the state for their art. Overall this school is great!


Chaparral High School 4

Posted March 10, 2011
- a parent
Amazing School! Great for academics, sports and the arts! The Principals and Security Officers really work hard to make sure that the children are safe 100% of the time. The teachers are great and very helpful and understanding of children who may have problems in their class.

Chaparral High School 4

Posted June 27, 2010
- a parent
We started at Chaparral because of the great Lacrosse reputation and overall athletic high standards. They did not let us down. This school has some of the best coaches in the country. There are many other great things I hear about this school academically. My kids love it. Parenting isn't over yet. This school is real life that they should be preparing for and learning about. Stay close to them and know who their friends are then you shouldn't have any trouble.

Chaparral High School 5

Posted June 26, 2010
- a parent
The Life Skills program at Chaparral is outstanding. The teachers and administration are caring and committed to providing the best for the life skills students. The students of Chaparral are supportive and include the special needs students in campus activities. Chaparral is the best place for special needs students.


Chaparral High School 5

Posted March 03, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Chaparral High School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
Chaparral has great Life Skills teachers! The kids are very unique, so are the teachers. Chaparral has a great football and badminton team.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chaparral High School
6935 Gold Dust Ave, Scottsdale, AZ  85253
(480) 484-6100
Last modified Chaparral High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chaparral High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top