Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public charter
Scottsdale, AZ
Students enrolled: 250
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Foothills Academy College Preparatory 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
Our family has been a part of Foothills for 6 years and we have four children that are enrolled there. I have seen tremendous growth in my children. The small class size and school size has made an impact on who my children are becoming. My teens are turning out to be motivated and responsible young adults. They are surrounded by teachers and students that have the same goals for success. Foothills offers online courses, AP courses, dual enrollment through Grand Canyon University, STEM, SAGE and extensive class options. We are grateful to be a part of Foothills and look forward to a bright future for our children.

Foothills Academy College Preparatory 5

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
I sent my son to this school in 2012 after having a bad experience at Cactus Shadows Highschool. The academics here are EXCELLENT. My son has learned so much and is always coming home every day telling me all the things he learned. At first he really struggled with the academics and it was challenging for him but the after school help here is so great that he started getting help from his teachers and he has really improved! The homework load is a bit excessive but they really are preparing you for college. Although they do not offer AP courses, their classes are AP level anyway. As for the students here, there are far fewer than a public school and there's almost no bullying here. The teachers/staff are very friendly and really make you feel welcome on your first day. If you are looking for a school with great academics that will prepare your kid for college then this is the school for you!


Foothills Academy College Preparatory 5

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
Outstanding campus. Our soon loves it there and loves the sports program, the teachers, the staff. It's a welcoming environment and he says he's never been to a better school. Homework is a bit excessive with Study Island assignments that are tedious and the Thursday tests are stressful, but he's getting the hang of it and never wants to leave. Glad we found it.

Foothills Academy College Preparatory
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
Veteran teaching staff. One inexperienced teacher had some difficulty at first, but soon was on track with our daughter's needs. Very responsive group.

Foothills Academy College Preparatory
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
Lots of testing and Study Island has been a chore for our kids, but it pays off in improved math skills and accelerated reading skills.


Foothills Academy College Preparatory
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
Lots of testing and projects at this school. A good amount of homework and a sense of it is okay to be an A student.

Foothills Academy College Preparatory
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
Respect is one of their key values in their posted values structure. Again, very community oriented, supportive, family-like environment for our kids. Great student councils.

Foothills Academy College Preparatory
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely. The teachers are outstandingly compassionate and empathetic. Administration is there to listen and respond. Very few discipline problems here as opposed to the larger high schools. Open door policy is real and effective.


Foothills Academy College Preparatory
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
I have had no problems with my children at this school. The teachers are fair, intelligent , and well-trained, capable of leading students to honest and fair decision-making.

Foothills Academy College Preparatory 2

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
Our family has two children who have attended Foothills for 4 years. We have experienced four instances of seriously questionable behavior on the part of teaching staff. In three out of four the administration was passive and frankly lacking in direction on how to handle the staff. I would go as far to say that the principle is in fear of her own staff. The director hides from any type of conflict entirely and avoids parent complaints. We have witnessed levels of passive aggressive behavior towards students and parents by the teaching staff . We have witnessed teaching staff having conversations with students that are far beyond the scope of their job requirements. We have also experienced a very interesting academic structure. Our family has grown concerned that the lesson plans are not challenging. We have experienced a lot of movies being played in class instead of teaching being done. The administration ridicules this website and claims it has no merit. I am speaking from our experience and urge others to do the same. We have elected to take our children out of this environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Foothills Academy College Preparatory
7191 East Ashler Hills Drive, Scottsdale, AZ  85266
(480) 488-5583
Last modified Foothills Academy College Preparatory is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Foothills Academy College Preparatory Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 127 reviews. Top