Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Tempe

Charter | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tempe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $118,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 33 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

85 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2014

My daughter has attended from kindergarten to 6th grade. She loves the school. Teachers are great and some are very concern with our daughter's educational experience. Communication between teachers and parents are regular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

My son has attended this school since Pre-K. (He is now in 1st grade.) He really enjoys being a part of this school and has learned so much since he started there. I have had some issues with miscommunication; however, the staff and administration have always been open to hearing about any issues and always do their best to resolve them. I can easily contact any of the staff by email or phone, plus the teachers and staff constantly encourage parent involvement. I was drawn to this school because of that as well as the character development which is lacking in many public schools. Plus, I really feel my son is in a safe and secure environment at this school. My youngest son will be ready to start Kindergarten for the 2014-2015 school year and I am excited for him to do so. This really is a great school especially if you are an actively involved parent. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

Great school! Great staff! Caring and dedicated teachers! My children and I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

Tempe Imagine has an involved staff who work with parents in order to figure out the best way for each student to learn. They will implement new ideas and if a plan doesn't work they will try something else. They do not keep doing the same thing over and over when it doesn't work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

My 2 children have been going her for 3 years, excellent school, Mrs. Bennett and Ms. Perrine are there teachers and I am very impressed. Always
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

The teachers and staff are very involved with my children. Emails get sent home anytime there are any behavior issues or missing work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

pre K is very involved and the teacher are very helpful! My daughter has learned so much in such a short time. Unfortunate that the principal left so suddenly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

My child attends this school in the kindergarten class. I could not ask for my a better school. The curriculum is great. The teachers as well as staff is very involved in the child's education as well as the child's well being. I am very pleased with my choice of schools for my son to attend! Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

I am impresssed with the schools enthusium in getting the children interested in learning, They offer after school tutoring that has helped my child achieve the honor roll this school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

My child's teacher has gone out of her way to partner with me on the most appropriate approach for my daughters education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

I am very pleased with Imagine Elementary at Tempe. I was so excited we were able to get our children registered this year. Mrs. Geiogamah and Mrs. Kelly are fantastic teachers. Their daily communication with me about my children is fantastic. I couldn't ask for anything more!!! Looking forward to many more years! Thank you!! Linda
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

Imagine tempe is a good school. Teachers are great. They do everything possible for my kids to strive and get to to their goals whether its reading. Math.or any other testing..front desk faculty is also very nice and helpful.. would like to see more holiday celebrations and not so many "days off". Thanks:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

Imagine Tempe is a great alternative to public schools. My child has been going for 2 years, she started in kindergarten and I plan to continue until 8th grade. The faculty really cares about each child and listens to what the parents have to say. I've seen some poor reviews, but I believe the problem those parents had is they weren't actively involved. The teachers are available via email, phone, and most will stay after school to address any concerns. My first grader is above her grade level in all subjects and I feel it is because the staff actually cares. Mrs. Kelly (1st grade) is a phenomanal teacher and excellent at providing feedback and communication. I could go on and on about this school, but feel I have made my point. You will not be disappointed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

We love Imagine Tempe! This year marks my daughter's third year, and she loves her teachers, and enjoys the learning environment. I appreciate the care in which most of the teachers place on education, character building lessons and anti-bullying environment. We appreciate Imagine Tempe Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

A terrible school. Although, the school has a decent curriculum, the administration offers no support to the family and students for those children that are struggling a bit. I would not recommend this school to anyone by far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Imagine Tempe is a personable school with a very positive and friendly environment. They are great at keeping parents updated with events and email/telephone reminders of upcoming activities that the students are participating in. Their breakfast and lunch program is great. The menu is very healthy with a variety of choices for the kids. Overall, Tempe Imagine is outstanding in all aspects as far as academics. I'm so glad I chose this school for my Kindergartener.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

This school was terrible. The teacher kept changing for art, computers, GYM, and even the regular teacher. The students were allowed to watch movies like the Lorax for gym time. My child did not feel liked or welcomed by anyone including her own teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

I picked this school when we got custody of our two kids, they were going to a public school where my daughter were making all F's and my son had some special needs that weren't being met. At this school, my daughter has blossomed in her 4th grade class. She absolutely loves her teacher, something that hasn't happened in her school experience. Both kids did complain at first about the school being too small, about having to wear uniforms, about the food they have there, but the complaints has lessened the longer they attend Imagine Tempe. They have only been there since October 2012, so I can't really say more about this school but what I see so far, is wonderful faculty at Imagine who truly care about the students. I highly recommend this school only for 1st-5th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

They have a test rating of 4 out of 10. 10 is the highest. That is all that needs to be said about the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2012

My son attended Imagine Tempe for kindergarten, first, and second grade. As parents, we decided it would be best academically to enroll him in our home school because it is an A++ Excelling school. Imagine Tempe had dropped from a Performing Plus school to one that was in improvement and it was definitely evident when we saw the academic deficits that my son had in 3rd grade at his new school. He is now in fourth grade and continuing to make up for the lack of education he received the three years he attended the school. As parents, we have had to spend over six thousand dollars in outside tutoring because he is still playing catch up. I wish that I would have moved him after kindergarten when we had planned to and then he wouldn't be struggling so much in school. I do not recommend this school to any parents looking for a new place for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 30% 5%
White 24% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • East Valley School of the Year (2007)
  • East Valley School of the Year
  • Imagine Schools New School of the Year

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Stacey Boyd
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Fax number
  • (480) 355-1650

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • flag football
Girls sports
  • flag football
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1538 East Southern Ave.
Tempe, AZ 85282
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 355-1640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT