Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arredondo Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 322 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

Arredondo school is really good....Principal and teachers are very friendly and my child is very comfortable with them.They take lot of personal care and have regular parent-teacher conferences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Has special teachers as well as students. They give so much extra time to the students. Help them learn and make them aware of others. Glad my granddaughter attends this school.


Posted August 3, 2013

My school is excellent and the principal and teachers are very friendly to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

Arredondo elementary school is superb and all of the teachers are open minded and take personal care a lot.principal is very friendly to the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Arredondo school is a great school for kids. Learning and taking extra time out for those who are in need. I am so glad my kids go here.


Posted August 8, 2012

It is a bit unfair that under "recent" reviews, the ones on here are dating over 7 years back. My child started this school, which is nice, clean with a friendly and knowledgable staff. The teachers are of great caliber, holding Masters Degree in elementary education. The principal is also one great lady, friendly, open minded and always available to parents. Everyone has smiles on their faces and the entire school breeds an atmosphere of positive attitude and respect for each other. Children are always cared for and the nurse is one I would choose over my pediatrician. So far very pleased. I considered online school before I found this gem of one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

My son started at Arredondo in second grade, after failing miserably at a private school. The special education professionals were all amazing and his classroom teacher was nice, but firm and kept my son happy and on track. I made the mistake of pulling him out the following year, for what I thought was a better school, but he and I are both happy that he is back at Arredondo. He has made great strides and has become such an independent learner. Arredondo is the best neighborhood school with the sweetest music teachers. The principal is retiring this year, and will be missed, but the new one seems lovely!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I love Arredondo because my son has had wonderful teachers that has followed his from first grade through fourth. Each teacher recommends to the bnext best every year, which is the reason I haven't removed him from Arredondo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

My son has has going to Arredondo since 2006 and only one of his teachers has left. All his previous teachers still communicate with me in regards to my son. I honestly don't have anything bad to say about this school, No matter what school a child goes to you will have individuals or things they do that you don't agree with whether it's the faculty or their method. Sometimes people think that the best schools are private but that's not true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

This school has a very high teacher turn over. My daughter is in the 3rd grade and has been going to this school from K to 3rd and the teacher she had the year before always leaves?????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

I will be removing my children from this school. We just moved to this area and I don't care if I have to drive my children half way across town to get a decent education. The principal is unfair and lacks communication skills. The level of learning is below average and the teacher parent communication is poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

I rate this school 5 stars. The principal and all the teachers are caring, great communicators and want my child to advance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

I am taking my children out of this school. Due to the poor leadership and communications skills of the Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

The new principal of this school has no comunication skills when dealing with the parents. He has a 'My way or the Highway' attitude. Especially with aspect to discipline. He treats 5 and 6 year olds like they are in Military camp. There is no art, or extra classes at this school. And no teacher monitering. I am pulling my children out of this school, since the change of principals and attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Our son attended Arredondo for all of his elementary education and we have been very pleased with our experience there. There is less parent involement than what I would like, but I know many of the families live too far away from the school to be much involved. The teachers and staff at Arredondo are fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

I would like to see the K classes get out 15 minutes early as to get signed out with out the whole school letting out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2002

We have a 1st and 2nd Grader currently attending Arrendondo. Our oldest son has been to various schools throughout the East Vallley, and Tempe school systems seem to always be the best. They focus much more on reading than other cities in the Valley do. Arredondo has been wonderful for both our boys. Each of our boys teachers seem to automatically meet their individual needs. We couldn't be happier with this school, and as our boys always say, ""The cafeteria is big!"" I guess that is important for elementary school students!?


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 43%
White 23% 42%
Black 14% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Teacher Rookie of the Year (2000)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Fax number
  • (480) 839-7325

Programs

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Our parents wrote our new school mission. sixty were involved in an affinity process last year that identified our values and direction. we also included parents in the creation of our school plan. our site base council is our school governing group. site base includes parents and students.
More from this school
  • Arredondo has a new (1999) computer lab. Students go to Science Camp for four days and three nights. Fifth graders have the opportunity to experience the NASA Challenger Center this year. Second, third and fourth graders are designing and building a green house.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Connolly Middle
McKemy Middle
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1330 E Carson Dr
Tempe, AZ 85282
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 897-2744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Imagine Tempe
Tempe, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT