Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fees College Preparatory Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 958 students

We are committed to the academic success of each student.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

My son is in 6th grade and new to Fees this year. I can't say enough about how impressed I am with the Principal and teachers as well as the PTSA. The expectations are clearly communicated to the parents. I love that I know what is happening and be able to plan accordingly. I like that they use ParentVue so I can see my sons grades every day as well as a calendar of assignments. Teachers answer emails in a timely manner and communicate well. The PTSA is really open to new parents. They are professional and keep meetings on time and useful. I am blown away about how much I really like it. I guess there might have been some past problems with this school from the low rating on Great Schools, but I can tell you this is no longer the case.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

my son was receiving straight F's at the San tan school, prior to moving to Tempe. Ever since he started attending this school he is now back on track with straight A's. nothing else to say. the proof is in the pudding. thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I am very satisfied with the curriculum and the staff at Fees. Excellents teachers and nice administration team. They work hard for our kids, to prepare them for a better academic and personal future. I love the orchestra program Mrs. Smith is a wonderful teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

Fees is a great school! 2 kids, many changes and still loving it. Admittedly, last year was the toughest with the principal out (he took a medical leave, eventually had to resign and sadly just passed)- discipline was not where it should have been and some kids took advantage (as kids this age will). This year Fees has a very strong principal who has the structure and discipline back in place. I love the teachers, it is obvious that they truly care about my kids. My kids are thriving academically and socially. I find it meaningful that they have so many elective opportunities (they get 2 electives every day which really allows them to excel in their given passions). The academics comes easily to both so it is nice to see them given opportunities through art, music and sports to become more well rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

I like Fees! I have had 3 children attend this school and they have felt safe and comfortable in this structured learning environment. I have found the faculty to be open to my communication and responsive. I appreciate their dedication to my children's education and their big hearts as they often go beyond the call of duty to provide the best opportunities for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2012

In my opinion FEES is the worst possible school a child could attend. My daughter is in 7th grade, and her year has been full of nothing but bulling and degrading by other students. On one occassion, my daughter was assulted in the bathroom by another student and it was videotaped. When it was reported to administration, nothing really was done about it, and it was treated as if I was over reacting and the kids were just being kids. I wonder when enough will be enough, maybe when a child dies or commits harm to themselves because their crys for help have gone left unheard or answered. My daughter will be attending a different school next year, where I will be required to provide transportaion, but thats ok, because at least her life and self esteem will not be in jepordy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

I am so disappointed in this school. My daughter is a 6th grader and is harassed and berrated on a daily basis because she is not hoodlum like many of the other kids that attend. The school does not do these kids any favors by giving them 2nd and 3rd chances to make up work or retest to bring up their grades. I mean this isn't preparing our kids for the real world. I know my boss doesn't give me multiple chances to do my work correctly so.... The teachers and staff seem to flash a blind eye at the cursing, fighting, threatening and drug exchanges going on and when I expressed concern I was treated as though I was overreacting and it's not just this school it's everywhere. THIS IS THE WORST SCHOOL IN THE TEMPE DISTRICT! My child will not be attending next year and it's really a shame because I went to this school 20 years ago and it was great. How times have changed. I will now have to transport her out of the district everyday just so she can get a quality education and not be fearful of being jumped everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

There was a time when failing children "failed". Now my child gets a chance (more than one ) to bring his grade to passing. I wonder if this is for the school rating, or my childs. There is NO online accountability for my childs progress. This schools name has been recently renamed, Fees College Prep.? I HAVE gone to board meetings just to be appeased, that the electronic monitoring will be available soon! ( Two years ago) Time to get serious. I have another child entering the middle school system next spring (2012) and I am cautious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2011

I was a student at this school for all three years. I am now a sophomore and so happy I don't have to attend that lousy school! I was an honors student. The teachers, I can say, are the best part of that school. On the other hand, the principal is not. He's terrible. None of my classmates, including myself, liked him. We considered him to be a bit discriminating against some races..


Posted August 3, 2011

Lousy school....this is well known as the worst school in the Tempe District. You know it's bad when teachers who work there come on this site and give it 5 stars in a rebuttal. Little conflict of interest there?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

My oldest son went here and I can say this is a horrible school. What he learned was foul language, and how to work the system. It did nothing to prepare him for high school, and now he struggles. Teachers are good for the most part, but the administration makes it impossible for them to do a good job. If your child has a goal of being a landscaper or dishwasher, This is the school for you. This is the worst performing middle school in the Tempe district. Tempe had to close one school for budget constraints, so what did they do? They kept this school open and closed the highest performing one. And these people want to educate you child? My youngest is now entering middle school, and there is no way he will be going here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

I think they are a little harder on my son then they needed to be but I think it was the overall culture of the school. Not a bad school just not an excelling one either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

Children are not paraded around school for not doing work- they go to a room for a working lunch to complete homework which should have been done at home. All of the teachers care deeply about the success of each, individual student, going so far as to check individual progress and let each student know what needs to be done. Teachers work hard to ensure that instruction is understood. Many opportunities exist for both help and enrichment. The school mind set is, "ALL STUDENTS WILL SUCCEED." Parents can help by checking binders, checking to see what assignments are due that homework is completed on time. Excelling students have opportunities to participate in enrichment classes, extra activities and honors classes. Students with challenges are not dismissed. Classes may be tougher for some, but the philosophy that all students will succeed applies to the challenged as well. Teachers don't give up, but provide multiple opportunities for success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 30, 2011

This school is terrible. My son has a touch of ADHD and sometimes has challenges in class. Instead of talking to him or making him sit outside the classroom for a few minutes his Language Arts teacher (Lopez) sends him to In School Intervention. He has spent a lot of time there and missed classes because of this teacher overreacting. No other teacher has ever sent him. The principal also does not help, punishing him for things he did after school off of school campus. They do not try to help children that need it, but simply lock them away in a room so they don't have to deal with them. They do not help you at all when there is an issue and it is very difficult to get them to call you back to speak about an issue our son had. They refuse to call us back and call his other parent instead, who they have been told not to call and who has asked them herself not to call her because she does not deal with his issues. They also give him good grades for poor work so he thinks he is doing better than he actually is and his standards for his work are very low. Poor teachers, horrible principal, and incorrect discipline system. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILDREN TO FEES!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

i am very disappointed in this school. I just found out that they (principal) parade children around the school if they don't do their homework. That's really building character...not. What kind of people run that school that they would do that to their students? Have they or have they not ever had any training in building leaders and self-esteem, to bring out the greatness in children? I was astounded to hear this. It's not a school that I would want my child to attend.


Posted March 21, 2011

My child has been a Fees for almost two years and he is thriving. The honors classes are challenging without drowning him in homework. The music program, specifically strings, is excellent. My son loves the PE coach. My wife and I were apprehensive about our son starting middle school, but the experience has been great so for (knock on wood!).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

This principal is terrible. He does not like teachers who have been here for a long time and bullies them until they leave the school. Even when they are good teachers. He wants them all to teach the exact same way, no matter what. Most teachers from before he came aren't here anymore. Don't send your kids here. It is awful. Kids cant talk even at lunch. Test scores went up but what kids learn went way down so that all kids can pass the tests. I don't know why they don't get rid of this guy. Don't send your kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

This is thee worst school my daughter has ever attended. is the most unsafe place your child can be at, bullying, harassment, attacks, teachers see it happening and fail to inform the principal or assistant principal. front desk help are rude, careless and ignorant. The worst! The principal is the worst ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2009

Great teachers but poor programs. This year they introduced the 'I' policy where they allow students to slack off, and get their work in way overdue. This is unfair for the hardworking students who do get their work on time, and is not preparing us for high school or the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2009

this is the best school ever my child is doing so much better and the teacers are great
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 43%
White 20% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 16% 5%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:10 am
School end time
  • 2:25 pm
School Leader's name
  • Kacy S. Tomason
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (480) 838-0853

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Girls on the run
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Marcos De Niza
McClintock
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1600 E Watson Dr
Tempe, AZ 85283
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 897-6063

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Pax Academy
Tempe, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT