Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fuller Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 1 student

We are best known for ability to meet academic needs.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2014

Our children began at Fuller after school had already begun in 2013. They were both made to feel so welcome and the principal and office staff took time to explain all the pertinent information to my husband and I. The teachers went above and beyond to help acclimate them to their new surroundings and challenge them to keep them interested and excelling. Although they did study for the tests, I feel that they taught as holistically as possible and put forth a well-rounded curriculum. This is their second year at Fuller and the children were so excited to return. The PTA is active and I hope to see more parent involvement this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2014

I love Fuller! My daughter is now in 1st grade and her teachers so far have been wonderful with gentle guidance, encouragement all while fostering her leadership qualities. The principal is wonderful and engaging. The music teachers are fabulous (All the staff is great) The layout of the school I feel promotes positive relationships between the grade levels vs. separation. The PTO is very strong here and though I cannot commit due to a demanding job, I appreciate all they do and help when I can. We considered a charter but cannot be happier we chose Fuller!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

Fuller is a fantasic school with amazing leadership and excellent teachers. My son started off at Bustoz and we were reluctant with the change when it merged with Fuller. We had concerns of the school community vanishing because of being bigger but those were quickly stomped out. We have two children attending Fuller now, one who is in fourth grade and the other in kindergarten. I wish we could say teacher names as they definitely deserve to be recognized. We choose the same Kinder teacher as our oldest son since she did such a phenominal job with him by enriching his learning and by having the entire class reading by the end of the school year. Again, she has done a great job with our youngest teaching him to read. The teachers adjusted schedules so my oldest son can go to the 5th grade class for math to make sure that he continues to be enriched and not get bored as well as PACE classes. The principal is the nicest guy and always so positive and INVOLVED in the classrooms. The office staff is amazing too. I know when I send my kids off to school each day they will be safe, cared for and learn not only academics but how to be good citizens. What more could a parent ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

This school has the childs best interest at heart. My daughter loves this school, staff, and students. Mrs. Cash is an amazing teacher. Sheila the office manager is a job to say hi too. We are so lucky to have such great detication to education at this school. My child attends this school and it feels like family. I am a part of the Fuller Family! Thank you to everyone at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

best school i love it with all my heart you will also love it with all your heart you will never want to leave


Posted June 26, 2012

Fuller was our school of choice for the 2011-12 year. Happily greeted in the front office by staff (mainly the lovely Lolly), I knew we would send our child there. Over the summer, staffing changes were made to accommodate the merge with another excelling school. Shelia became the Office Manager. She was a great addition with her professional demeanor with the school community. The kindergarten teacher was very dedicated/knowledgeable. She always strived for excellence/high performance standards with consistant delivery of combining kindness and firmness in classroom management/delivery. It would have been beneficial if more parental involvement took place at Fuller. Setting a tone of welcoming parental involvement is crucial. Orchestrating/ broadening the desire to pursue the needs of all (rather than the agenda of a chosen few) would be terrific!!! The first PTA meeting was standing room only. But, throughout the year participation dropped at an alarming rate. Throughout the year, many parents expressed a desire to have better communication lines open at all levels of our school environment. It takes a ton of time and energy , but it would help Fuller immensely !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

I have two kids in Fuller one is going into 4th and the other will be starting 1st. THe teachers are great and the entire staff is awesome. The school hit a bump in the road when it merged with Bustos but overall it's awesome! The priniple Mr White is awesome! I'm going to be moving but I will be driving my kids 20 mins to keep them in Fuller.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

As a first-time mother sending her children off to kindergarten, I can't tell you how pleased I am to have a school like Fuller as our neighborhood school. The principal is incredibly kind and I always see him with a smile on his face. Even more compelling is the fact that he is almost always out in front of the school every morning greeting students as they enter the building, which is unheard of for the head of such a large institution. This, to me, shows that he cares about each and every one of his students. I also believe it is also indicative of the way Fuller operates as a whole. It truly is an amazing place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

Fuller is the best school in the world. My daughter attended fuller from first grade through fifth. we had to move and she has not found a school is she happy with. Everyday she woke up to go to school at fuller, she wanted to go to school, now she hates school. The staff is unbelievable, everyone makes you feel so welcomed and the new prinicpal is wonderful. I miss fuller so much i cant even explain it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

This will our first year at Fuller. Last year, I was forced to find a new school for my son, a 1st grader. As soon as I met Mr. White, the principal at Bustoz and the new principal for Fuller my searched ended! He has the most calming peacfull energy. I can't say enough good about this man. I would've followed him anywhere! I llook forward to our new school year with Fuller and have the upmost faith that this will be a great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

The past three years at Fuller have been great. Fantastic teachers, great PTA, fun events. Looking forward to 3rd grade. Only a little nervous about the change in principal and size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

I drive from out of district to attend Fuller. I am greeted each and every day by a friendly front office staff. They go out of their way to make you feel like your child is special and of the utmost importance to them. The teachers I can not say enough good things about them. My 1st grader is reading at a 3rd grade reading level due to the hard work of her kindergarten and first grade teachers. I am so happy I found Fuller.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2010

When you walk into Fuller, you feel welcome. Fuller is a school that includes everyone, it really is a family. Every teacher is GREAT. I hope to be a part of Fuller for a long time. My child is reading at two grade levels above her grade. It is because of the "walk to read program" . I am very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2010

Fuller School is a wonderful place to work. The teachers are fully committed to meeting the individual needs of each and every student. It is an honor to be a part of the Fuller Family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 28, 2010

The staff at Fuller is excellent. The teachers are extremely dedicated to providing students the best education. Also, Fuller is a very family-friendly school, with many events throughout the year to foster the sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

Fuller Elementary is a small, tight-knit community school with a highly qualified and caring staff. This will be our family's 5th year at Fuller, and we have been very satisfied with the differentiated instruction each of our children has received. The leadership has been focused and consistent. Fuller has been a safe and happy place for our children to learn and grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

This school has a great sense of community. Parents are always welcome to volunteer. The teachers care about the whole child, not just the academic side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

The staff and the parent involement are outstanding! My kids love their teachers and they really do care about their children. I feel safe sending my kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My oldest has 1 mor eyear here, I travel 23 miles to drop him off and go to work. My youngest has 3 more years. It is worth it knowing that my sons are getting the best education, rolemodels, Love, support in every aspect. The school respects it's parents and keeps them in the loop on everything. My children are excelling in everything subject and I fell it isn't just whats beign done at home but how the teachers treat them and work with them on things...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

Fuller just was named an EXCELLING school in AZ. I am proud to say my child goes there. Dedicated teachers at every grade level care about students as people, not just their scores. My child loves to go to school and he tells me exciting things about school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 42%
Hispanic 27% 43%
Black 9% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Tempe Diablos: Teacher of the Year - Mrs. Johnson (2010)
  • Council for Exceptional Children - Instruct Asst - Keiko Smith (2010)
  • Tempe District Impact Award - Janet Luper (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Rebeckah Winans
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (480) 820-7308

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • We welcome parent volunteers and community involvement. Classes end at 1:10 p.m. each Friday.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Fees Middle School
Connolly Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1975 East Cornell Drive
Tempe, AZ 85283
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 897-6228

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT