Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Borton Primary Magnet School

Public | PK-5 | 364 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2013

My child has been at Borton since Kindergarten. Borton is an amazing and unique school when it comes to all of the extras they offer. They have music, art, physical education, and a lot of extras your typical public school does not offer. In terms of academics, my experience has not been so positive. I noticed there is an extreme in the effectiveness of the teachers. They are either highly effective or not so effective making it especially challenging for any parent who may have a child who has special needs or needs extra academic support. There was also turnover in the Principals in 2010 and 2011. The Principal who is there now has been there for almost three years, and taking into consideration all of the changes of adding grades 3 to 5, constuction, and the districts budget problems, I think things are starting to turn around. The socio-economic demographics of the school is also very interesting and can be somewhat "cliquish" making some parents feel very excluded. Overall, above average in all the extras and parent participation, average for academics, and varied averages for the effectiveness of teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

No academic focus. When my daughter transitioned into 3rd grade at her new school, she was really behind on her reading, writing, and math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

We absolutely LOVE Borton. It is a wonderful community where everyone knows my daughter's name and looks out for her. The teachers are top notch and I like the administration even more-- definitely a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

My daughter just finished Kindergarten and we love the school. If your child loves the arts and being creative then you will love this school. If you want a strict traditional school this will not the the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

Very disappointed. Their academics are poorly enforced and their discipline standards are also very low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

This school is very progressive,cares about the students, gave all four of my children their greatest start in their successful lives and the staff and principal there are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

I have had my daughter at Borton for 2 years. She and I both absolutely love this school. And they will hopefully be adding a 3rd grade! It is very nurturing and inclusive. If you can get in to this magnet school, do it! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

this school is a wonderful pace to learn. this school and Tully elementary are the 2 best schools a parent can send their child


Posted October 8, 2008

This is one of, if not the best school for young starters-you can tell just by walking in one classroom that there is extreme student involvement-and they enjoy learning. The whole enviornment of the school makes you happy the second you walk on the grounds. I strongly recommend this school-only down fall, it only goes to 2nd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

I have had 3 children at this school and I think it is wonderful. It has a very close community feeling. There is a strong art and music component. But I think the best thing is the overall atmosphere at the school. It is very comfortable and nuturing. The teachers teach the children to be kind to each other, and I have seen almost no problems with bullies or rough behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

Fantastic school - absolutely wonderful principal. There is full-time PE as well as full-time art and music. My first child was there for three years and now I have a child in a K/1st combo class. Great diversity, lots of love, huge playground and a three acre bird sanctuary! A winner of a teaching innovations award from Microsoft Corporation this year (2006/2007). This school has lots to offer. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

This school did a fantastic job of preparing my gifted student for the next level of education. It is located in a 'less desirable' neighborhood, but because it is a Magnet, it has lots of funding and support. Parental support here is huge. The office staff are friendly, all but one of the teachers has at least a Master's degree, and the extracurricular activities are phenomenal. My student learned to play the guitar here, make clay sculptures and then fire them, planted his own class garden and then harvested from it, and went on several field trips. I recommend this school to any parent who has a 'non-traditional' learner for a child. The school is supportive, caring, enthusiastic and still intelligent. Borton does have a stigma attached to it that parents should be aware of: 'the most yuppie magnet school in Tucson'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2005

Excellent Kindergarten program. Small class sizes ( 17 in my child's class this year)with good teacher's aides assigned nearly full time to each class. Additional teachers provide music, art, PE, gardening and other programs. Small school, so no child gets lost in the crowd. Good after school program (currently no fee.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2004

We had a wonderful experience in our one year at Borton. Our son loved his time in the 1st grade 'Saguaro Room' with Ms. Walker. The teachers, assistants and staff at the school do a great job in providing a diverse and enriched environment for the K-2 students. It is a nurturing place where the children have fun, feel comfortable and enjoy learning. The faculty is warm, helpful and enthusiastic. This is a program worthy of high accolades. The principal, Teri Melendez does an outstanding job with this close-knit group. The open houses and special events always had high participation and involvement from parents. Many U of A professors and TUSD faculty send their kids to this school for good reason. Highly reccomend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2004

Don't be daunted by the test scores it is a magnet school. This school feeds into Holladay and the scores there are tremendous. Parent involvement at Borton is phenomenal in fact, a large percentage of the attendees come from parent co-op private kindergartens. I have deep respect for the teaching staff here, and am grateful for the insightfulness, thoughtfulness, and concern I have seen diplayed. My son's teacher is highly educated, enthusiastic and incredibly skilled. She focuses on a 'center-based' approach to learning with I have been very pleased with. This gives my son and his classmates the opportunity to explore and excel at their own pace with each activity instead of feeling bombarded by a myriad of worksheets. I am also especially pleased with the sense of community which this school fosters and creates. Borton begins each morning as an entire student body with the pledge, singing, and announcements in the courtyard and parents are welcome and encouraged to participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 59% 42%
White 28% 42%
Two or more races 6% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 6%
Black 3% 5%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 225-1001

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 E. 22nd St.
Tucson, AZ 85713
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Direct Link I
Tucson, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT