Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canyon View Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
My child has been welcomed by the staff and students alike, and we couldn't be happier with how her teacher has built a classroom community that is based upon the Six Pillars of Character.

Canyon View Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Growth mindsets are everywhere! Ranging from student-created morning announcements, which we as parents can watch each day, to mindset celebrations at spirit assemblies, CV students are learning about perseverance, grit and what it means to be a problem solver. The proof of influence is when our daughter calls us out on having a fixed mindset and the need for us to persevere through our challenges!


Canyon View Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
The Six Pillars of Character are visually seen and reinforced throughout the campus and each child is supported in a manner that is tailored to their specific needs rather than a one-size-fits-all approach.

Canyon View Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Moved to Tucson last year and enrolled our 2 boys at CV after doing much research into top elementary schools in Tucson. CV was in the top. Love the location, staff, and the whole atmosphere is friendly. My boys love it and the before & after school activities are awesome. I'm extremely happy with my decision to send them to CV.

Canyon View Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
We have been pretty happy with Canyon View. My son has been getting good attention from the teachers and the principal, and he has been getting good experiences including regular classes, extended classes, and the gifted program. We went around and did enough shopping and homework about elementary schools, and we think Canyon View has been good for our child.


Canyon View Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
My child is in the gifted program at Canyon View and we are regularly asked "why not send her to Basis?" Well, our primary reason is that she LOVES this school. Additionally, we feel she is challenged and kept on her toes by all her teachers. The staff and teachers work together to make this a top rated elementary school!

Canyon View Elementary School 2

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is not that great anymore. Very nice staff and teachers but not challenging at all. My child is board and has become very lazy since the expectations are so low. 10 minutes of homework in 4th grade (at the most). It has gotten progressively worse over the years that we have been there with our children. This is the worst year yet. The new principal is a great talker, very charismatic but we don't see any improvement in the classroom. Lots of hype around the community events but less meaningful work in the 8 years we have had children at the school. I don't recommend this school especially if you are from a decent school district elsewhere. you will be underwhelmed.

Canyon View Elementary School 3

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Canyon View is an okay school. Not a lot of diversity and some of the teachers can be off putting. It is a must that you stay involved and connected to your child at this school as they can derail them is allowed to.


Canyon View Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
This school and school district (Catalina Foothills Unified School District) has been am is nothing short of a blessing. Principal Hienkman is the most amazing administrator and man and the entire school staff and teachers are so wonderful! My son is in the first grade and is on the autism spectrum. His growth and development in the inclusive setting at Canyon View has been wonderful and miraculous. Also, the international diversity of the families and students is so wonderful and enriching. I can't thank this school enough and couldn't be more proud of the fact that my son attends CVES!

Canyon View Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
We were very happy with my son's kindergarten teacher last year and are excited for another great year.

Nearby schools

Canyon View Elementary School
5725 North Sabino Canyon Rd, Tucson, AZ  85750
(520) 209-7500
Last modified Canyon View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top