Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Copper Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

from the reports that I hear from my granddaughters, it seems that this school takes an interest in the kids; One thing to be careful of--bullying. I did hear that one of the kids was being bullied by a few others and this cannot be tolerated, even for a second! It can lead to so many negative consequences. Please be aware of this--it was, I believe at the 3rd grade level---our girls are 1st and 2nd grade---thank you!


Posted September 4, 2013

My daughter just started kindergarten there. All staff are very nice and helpful but not the teacher. It seems like the teacher doesn't like my daughter. She is only been there one month and she says she is going to have to stay in kindergarten for another year! Seriously? What kind of teacher says that about a 5 year old, when she has 7 more months of school to go. My daughter does good at home and knows how to count 1-10 and most of the abcs . I just cant believe that she is giving up on her after four weeks, it shows how much she enjoys teaching!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Copper Creek Elementary is a great school. Most of the staff are great and very friendly. There is a fantastic cop always on site who i have notice all the kids love. The only thing that really bug me is the way they raise money for the school. children asking people(who they know) for money... what happened to selling candy or bake sales? That was fun and educational. my son came home with a packet asking that he go ask people for donations. Grade A school....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

My son is currently in 2nd grade and has a wonderful teacher. I like the teachers some of them truly love what they do and it shows and others either due to budget cuts or home issues seem very unhappy. When I volunteer I have heard some pretty rude comments and yelling from teachers in the 2nd grade hallways. Something I never heard in kindergarten or 1st grade.I think with every school you can find a great teacher like Mrs. Hinz or a bad teacher. I think the school is great for children with no learning disabilities. not all but many of the teachers seem to want a robot child and are very quick to assume ADHD or Autism. I do like the staff and when I have had problems in the past the school principal was very quick to respond in a polite timely manner. I think the school curriculum is great! It seems to keep the children interesting and wanting to learn more. The AR (accelerated reading programs) that the school offers helps kids have a great feeling of accomplishment and worth. My son had one teacher that was a bit difficult and seemed to want robotic children then now having a wonderful teacher that is compassionate and caring it really does depend on the teach.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2010

Copper Creek Elementary is an exemplary display of quality teaching in a loving environment. In the wake of multiple budget cuts and teacher cuts, while businesses are receiving new tax breaks, I have seen high quality, caring teachers unwaveringly inspire,educate and expand the minds of our children. At the same time, I have also seen fantastic teachers who do not wish to retire, do so in order for others to maintain their employment. We all owe these teachers our gratitude, our thanks, a stable living wage, and an apology for those self absorbed individuals who display a complete lack of respect for the teaching profession.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My child has been at Copper Creek for 4 years. The principal and front staff know each child and their parents by name. You are warmly greeted by everyone at school. Parents are welcomed and encouraged to be in the classroom anytime. The teachers work hard to help each student achieve their top potential and provide excellent communication with parents. The school makes great efforts to inform families of events and school news through email, notes home, and their website. Many teachers also have their own websites; but, some individual sites are not updated well. The PTO has creative and fun ideas to raise money for the kids without having too many fundraisers. My child has had 4 wonderful teachers and tests above grade level. Expectations are clear and discipline is fair. Art, Music and PE are taught weekly. Kids also attend the library regularly. My child is happy and thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Great teachers and support staff. The principal gets involved and knows the students. They work hard to meet the needs of all of their students including testing kids to see what helps them learn, providing retired teachers who volunteer for tutoring and keeping family involved by keeping them informed and welcoming the family into the classroom and on field trips.


Posted October 26, 2009

I love the fact that our children get private quality education on a public setting, all the teachers are top educated the principalis involved with everyday activities, the fron office personnel great customer service and what I enjoy the best is that every day my daugther woke up in a hurry to leave the house so she can be at school as early as possible! she loves going to school every day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

2 years ago we had to move out of the district. They had some pictures of my son that they wanted us to have, so one of the staff members brought it to his new school which was over an hour away. This is something awesome that you don't normally find in large city schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

I think there may be another Copper Creek and people are getting really mixed up. It is a woman principal, she is always there, the teachers are top notch, I never have heard one screaming either in a hallway or in a room. Also, the front staff is very helpful and there is no sign in the front that says, 'Attack Secretary'. I am guessing that these parents are having a bad time with their children and are blaming the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

My son, who is now at Hillcrest, attended Copper Creek 1st - 6th grade and I loved it! I have now enrolled my 4 year old in the pre-k program, and love it! I have had much happiness and success at Copper Creek with both of my children. I think you get as much out of it as you put into it. The parents need to be more involved in the school as well as their children's lives, it's this type of collaboration which will make our kids successful. As for the comment on the principal matching her shoes to her outfit, I am confused, as the principal is a male and he is very active and involved on campus...I see him everyday and the kids all love him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

I am really surprised to read the last comments about Copper Creek. My kids have been there for the last 3 years and I have witnessed the high grade of involvement of the principal with the students. I do a lot of volunteer work in my kids' classrooms, at least 3 times per week, and I have NEVER heard a teacher screaming or any disorder at all. Maybe the teachers suffered of the same problems of teachers around the US, underpaid and overworked, but they are good and very enthusiastic with the kids. I am very thankful for their work and appreciate their efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

Due to the lack of involvement on the principals part, this school is definitely taking a turn for the worse. The teachers seem tired, unmotivated and quick to criticize/judge students and parents. I have to agree with the previous post, you can hear teachers yelling at students from just walking down the hallways. Hope the principal starts paying more attention to the concerns of the parents rather than if her shoes 'coordinate' with whatever new outfit she just bought!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

It is sad to see a top notch school into mediocrity. All of my kids have gone to the school so I have been involved in it for over 12 years. The current principal is not at school very often and rarely engages the students or teachers. Some of the best teachers have left, the ones that remain seem tired. If you walk the halls during, you can hear some teachers screaming at the students. The previous principals were all very involved with the students and the teachers. You would see the principal in every room every day to 'get a feel' for what was going on. No longer. And, beware of the front office staff. One of them has a sign 'Attack Secretary' and based on her behavior with a student while I was in the office, a well earned sign.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

Teachers are not up to par. Some like to pick on kids......real professional!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

As a sub, this school has the most friendly staff. Also this school seems to infuse the rigor that some schools lack. Students and teachers work hard at this school. Top notch!


Posted July 31, 2005

My child went there for 1st and 2nd grade. Had a great time and great teacher always there to help and talk to the parents. The principale is very nice and open. The campus is safe and very well maintened. PTO has a lot of activites during the year and is very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

This school is awesome! My kids really love their teachers, peers and their assignments. The school has a positive influence on them and they keep on getting up everyday being excited on going there. A thumb ups school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2004

My son really enjoys going to this school. His kindergarten has been wonderful and is creative and great at getting the children excited about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2004

My son has gone to this school for 1 1/2 years and we are fairly new to the area. The school has been around about 15 years. It seems to be in a good neighborhood and parental involvement is good. Parent volunteering is welcomed and you are also allowed to come and eat lunch with your child when you want to. Extracurricular activities are excellent. They have specialist teachers for art, music, P.E. and computers. This was the principal's first year on the job, so the leadership was not as experienced as in the previous year, but I'm sure that will improve with time. Comparing this with my son's experience in a California school, they don't seem to spend as much time on academics. However, he enjoys going to school and seems to be learning what he needs to. Class sizes are a bit on the large side (27-28).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11620 N Copper Spring Trail
Tucson, AZ 85737
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Casas Christian School
Oro Valley, AZ


BASIS Oro Valley
Oro Valley, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT