Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Esperero Canyon Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 603 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

My granddaughter seems very happy at Esperero and is doing much better with school work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2014

I am a former student at ECMS. Gladly. The teachers are inattentive and get extremely infuriated if you sigh in a way they don't find pleasing. I was always being knocked around by my bigger peers, my books would fall then they'd kick them around...(etc) The teachers did not teach well in ANY way, shape or form. Which makes the entire experience feel like you're just 'getting by'. As if you aren't truly learning anything, but you get to say, "Hey guess what? I technically passed middle school!" Without having the slightest of a happy, educational and inspiring experience. Which is what school was meant for; to enlighten our youth. But schools are losing sight of that. So when some of my peers enter the workforce, they wont be able to function properly: no cooperating. no teamwork. no positivity. no motivation. THX ECMS, for letting me know what a depressing and sad attempt at an 'education system' looks like. I mean the least they can do is teach kids what "there/their/they're" to use. I mean, I learned homophones at ORE, another horrid school...


Posted November 5, 2014

This school is over crowded. The teachers do not get back to you in a timely manner. They run their classrooms (in general) like farm, herding kids in and out with very little education and guidance. The lockers are disgusting and peers are very mean and not welcoming to new students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

I'm Nadine walker and I love esperero canyon middle school they teach you many things like to be kind and helpful. While you learn you will have so much fun with your teachers. You should know basics. I love the teachers and staff. My school could improve to be a little more brighter in ideas in dances and fun things!


Posted March 12, 2014

Esperero Canyon has been an incredible experience for our boys. They have not only excelled academically, but these incredible teachers have taught them invaluable tools to progress independently to the next level and become self sufficient. They also have encouraged growth on personal and emotional levels. It is no wonder that the teacher of the year usually comes from ECMS. We built in District 16 so as not to be forced into 'private' schools to attain academic and developmental excellence, and they have not disappointed. The Principal, staff, and the parents' tremendous involvement, support, and concern for the overall well being of the students sets this school apart from the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

This school is a great place for kids to learn. I am so pleased at all of the programs offered. The school has great science and math classes, more nationally board certified teachers than any other school in the district, the best of instruction in the arts that a middle schooler could ever receive. The special education teachers are awesome and the principal understands both high achieving students and special education students, a rare find. The administration cares about my kids and knows them by name. We are so happy with this school. Cannot say enough good things about my children's experiences!!! It is getting better all of the time. They have tutoring and help for students!!!! A beautiful place where kids get a great education. PE is also awesome!!! My kid had a print out of his fitness statistics at age 12!!!!! Also so many computers and people who know how to teach using technology!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

An overcrowded promotion ceremony sends a mixed message about who in the community is valued. Last night, May 20, 2013, there were so many seats reserved for "parents who volunteer", I had to stand. It was bizarre. The teachers did not have seats and stood along the walls of the gym . I felt bad for them, but I was trapped too. If students are the stars of the night, in my opinion, the family membersof those students need to be shown respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

I think the huge number of Open Enrollment students, particularly from the neighboring, Fruchtlender Elem., is encouraging a negative environment at ECMS, both socially and academically. Math classes, in particular, are being remediated because these TUSD kids cannot keep up. Socially, there is a very different vibe coming from the TUSD kids (ie: Fruchtlender) than what CFSD families promote. CFSD is a school district with families who value high achievement in ACADEMICS; not social climbing (laughable). Fruchtlender families need to go to Townsend where they belong. Superintendent Kamerzell has created this unhealthy learning environment with her emphasis on open enrollment. Fire Kamerzell first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

This school is way too overcrowded at this point. The number of open enrollment students allowed in is overwhelming. Not only is the school too crowded from sheer numbers, but now there is a different sense of community being promoted from those children coming from TUSD schools, primarily Fruchtlender. I do not believe this overcrowding of the classroom or the "crowding out" of people who live in CFSD is in the best interest of the community or Esperero Canyon Middle School. I am profoundly disappointed with the overall quality of education compared to that of my two older children, who both attended CFSD middle schools pre-2007. Crowded classrooms is not the way to a good education and ECMS kids are suffering because of it. AIMS scores keep declining. What else is going on in this school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

I am a student at Esperero Canyon Middle School. Last year, when I was in 6th grade I loved Esperero and I felt very welcome. This year, as a 7th grader, I haven't been as happy going to school everyday. Overall it is a good school and has taught me many things however, sometimes I feel the teachers are unfair. I feel I am getting a good education but I do not like the arts program. At Esperero I am taught things that I know will help me succeed in life but if I were principal I would change a few things. I do recommend Esperero.


Posted June 24, 2012

Esperero has aspects that are positive and negative. I believe the location is wonderful, where kids would be able to take short field trips to Sabino Canyon if the Principal would arrange that. Some teachers are supportive and effective. However other teachers are unable to teach kids. My child when she finished 5th grade had a 6 on her Writing AIMS however in 6th grade it dropped to a 5 and now after 7th grade it has dropped to a 4, barely meeting the standards. This makes my child distraught because she strives to exceeds and realizes that despite her effort, her level of writing has decreased greatly. Moving on to the administrators. I find that the new Principal did not meet my standards. She is artificial and does not care about the students or parents. The Principal has brought unrest to Esperero, and it is difficult to explain the things that she has done that I find uncomprehendable. I wish that she was not in charge of the school, however my child enjoys the classes for the most part, and the atmosphere is far better than other options for middle schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

My child is attending this school for the first time. I am very impressed with the teachers as well as the curriculum. My child loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

Esperero has had a huge drop in AIMS test scores (as much as 18% in 2011), and recently got a B score from the Arizona Dept of Ed. Class sizes can be as large as 30.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

We recently moved out of CFSD and we loved Esperero. Any student will be lucky and privledged to go there. Awesome teachers and great education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

I love Esperero! The teachers,counselors, and principal are extremely dedicated and caring. Unfortunately, due to budget cuts, the teachers' workloads have increased, but they continue to give their best efforts. The curriculum is definitely challenging. I feel that Esperero is comparable to many private schools. My younger son graduates from Esperero this year, and I am going to be sad to say goodbye to this amazing school! I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

My daughter goes to ECMS and the truth is that there are some amazing teachers there but then again there are some that don't want to help my daughter succeed. She is very academically driven and sometimes the stress can drive her crazy. She still has amazing friends at this place you call school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

this school is terrible despte what the 'friendly staff' say and make you think the teachers are very unsupportive and unmotivatiol as well the dicsipline policy is ridiculous at esperero your son or daughter may get in trouble for the smallest slip-ups although its a very bad school they have a few good teachers and good encore classes otherwise bad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2008

Im am a student at esperero canyon middle school. I've had some good and bad experiences there. There is one teacherwho has stood out to me, and his name is Mr. Grobe. He is one of the best teachers I've ever had. I sometimes feel that the teachers here are unfair. And you dont always feel like you fit in. Over all this is an okay school. I would love to see some improvements.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2007

Great Principal, Great Teachers, all very dedicated to the students. High parental involvement. Fantastic music, arts and sports programs. A bit too much emphasis on homework and Student Lead Conferences (most parents would prefer to meet directly with the teachers), but overall a 5 Star school with all the attributes you'd want.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

Esperero was a great place to work - the staff are helpful and supportive to the kids' needs!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 577-5334

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5801 N Sabino Canyon Rd
Tucson, AZ 85750
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 209-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT