Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Flowing Wells Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 788 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 1, 2014

My Granddaughter attends Flowing Wells Jr. High. She loves going to school every day and is an A and B student. She finds the staff easy to talk to and helpful when she asks. Teachers are great and she is always excited to tell me new things. I like the fact that P.E. is every day, as it should be. She is very active in sports and athletics is promoted in the school district. Very happy.


Posted May 27, 2013

my school is awful there is a math teacher that curses at students and they do not have very good academics and there only strong point is there fine arts(theater productions and choir). There cafateria has served rotten mayonaise!


Posted April 24, 2013

My daughter is in 7th grade and the curriculum is awful. They let problem teachers continue to ruin education for developing minds. I have addressed the academic situation all school year. Administrators admit there is a problem but they do nothing. Flowing Wells is no longer a good district. If you value your child's education then avoid this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

Lots of opportunities for those that want to pursue more than the basics. The school in my opinion does a great job when you consider the demographics of the area. The whole philosophy of the school district prepares children for the future and instills values of education and good behavior. There is sports available afterschool for no cost and availability of children from all skill sets to join in. There is also afterschool tutoring available for those that need help and free transportation for those that wish to take advantage of these programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

This school has kids do P.e. as a regular class because they feel kids should be shown how to be fit and stay fit in the future. The tolerance for vilonce is none. The students get a very organized and great scedule. Flowing Wells Junior High gets the student prepared for the future grades. It's the best school in my opinion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

my school is awesome it helps kids with ANY problems they might be having. there are so many after school activities and sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2007

My kids transferred in from Amphi School District. They find the school to be highly segregated in comparison. They also find the school to be much easier academically even though the school professes to be an A+ school. The school they came from was average. FWJHS is much worse and sends literature in the mail proclaiming how their low scores allow for free after school tutoring. How about they just teach and administer better to begin with. Administration is also absolutely apalling when dealing with student problems. Their philosophy equates to shoot first and sort them out later. My daughter was suspended for student conflict after never touching or even arguing verbally with the other girl that was suspended likewise. Bottom line... Principal tries students guilt on he said/she said and they label kids for future reference. Avoid this whole school district at all costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

Recently my son and I had to leave town for about 1 month my father had died and I had to return to NY to help my Mother (they had been married for 51 years). Being a single mother I had to take my son out of school. By the time we returned it was the week of third semester the grading period. My son had missed a lot. His Math teacher called me and went to the principal and asked that my son not be penalized for his absence. His grades prior were ranging A-B....and it was through no fault of his own that he would have received failing grades....I was astounded by her caring and personal attention....especially considering the teacher/student ratio in this school is 22 to 1. Why cant we reward teachers the way we reward people skilled in sports?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

im a student and i enjoy showing up evry day to learn while the teachers help me be succcesfull!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2006

This school is excellent and I would highly recommend it to those who want their children to learn in a highly pastoral and academic environment. A safe, friendly school with many after-school activities and a high level of parent input this is definately a school I would recommend. The teachers can be strict at times but in the long run it is highly benificial.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 43%
White 39% 42%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 690-2420

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4545 N. Lacholla
Tucson, AZ 85705
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carden of Tucson
Tucson, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT