Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manzanita School

Public | K-5 | 637 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2012

My son was fortunate enough to attend this GREAT school-we bought our home specifically to be in this district, and it was definitely worth the effort. Manzanita was what an elementary school should be, safe, nurturing, great staff and amazing teachers. (except for one, who we chalk up to a life learning experience!!) This school offers the education and experiences one would expect from private school, in fact, we had planned on moving to private school in 5th grade, but after the first years at Manzanita, decided he was in the best possible school. Our son has now moved on, but we are still in awe of the entire experience we ALL had while he was at Manzanita; Science Camp, Civil War Re-enactment, staff and teachers who noticed and cared, not to mention preparing students for middle school and contacting the new staff/teachers re each child's strengths/needs. WOW! Your child will not get lost in the crowd here-We cannot say enough! Thank you Manzanita!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2012

This is a mediocre school with poor leadership. Like any school, it is luck of the draw with teachers -- some are excellent, many just adequate, a few totally objectionable. Class sizes are too high (25-30) -- it is institutionalized learning at its worst. It is style without substance - the building is newish and the students nicely dressed which masks real underlying inadequacies. The curriculum is mundane and they try to engage the children through technology, which is no substitute for an excited and stimulating teacher. The third grade math class consisted of the children watching video game-style lessons in the classroom. There was very little human engagement. The lack of responsiveness of the Principal to real problems with faculty is unacceptable. After months of trying to work with our child's educational stewards, we learned that our child's borderline abusive teacher had a history of behavior that was suppressed by school administration. (That teacher is still there, despite years of complaints!) Horrendous experience. Look elsewhere and don't believe the hype.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2011

Our son just finished his years at Manzanita-we could not have been more pleased. An absolutely excellent school, better than most private. We too purchased our home to gaurantee eligbility. The teachers are amazing. The amount of work and effort they put into educating and nurturing in the kids was a constant source of amazement. Manzanita is a safe and happy school, the staff and kids feel like family-and they learn!!! As a parent-when I walked in the door they knew who I was and which child was mine-they also knew him, what he was like, what his strengths/weakness were-and looked out for him-as they did all students. They also did not let him get away with anything and reinforced the expectations we have of his behavior-This is most definitely the best elementary of any type in Tucson, probably the state-their scores speak for themselves, but the atmosphere and sense of belonging and being cared about are what make this school so special. Great education with happy kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

My son was enrolled here for his K year and overall I was pretty satisfied with the exception of a couple instances I had with his teacher telling me thru email whenever I asked for updates on my sons progress his teacher telling me he was doing great only to find out that wasn't the case. He recently started his 1st grade year and by the first month he came home quite a few times in tears because of his teacher telling him he wasnt ready for 2nd grade yet and making him feel stupid. My son is very smart but does need help from time to time which I think all 6 year olds do. They refuse to give him help in the classroom and then punish him for not finishing his work. I feel that my son s level of educational performance is being specifically identified and assessed as a weakness to the overall class. Moreover, rather than assisting in teaching and developing his skills, he is being overlooked and not well supported by the teacher. I have since pulled my child from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

My son got into Manzanita K this year. This is the first year that AZ state cut the budget and resulted in only 1/2-day kindergarten program that is free of charge. Anyone would like to have full-day program that is called Kindergarten Plus would have to pay $300-320 extra per month (excl. snack & lunch). We paid and were pleased. The ratio is 1:10 (20 students to 1 teacher and 1 all-time aid). So they get more individual attention. Regular-school teacher in my son's classroom is also nice, but with 23 kinders to 1 teacher (with 1-hr aid) , this program rely heavily on parent volunteer in class. 1-2 parents volunteer during 'learning centers' to help the kids in 8 different centers finish their work. Good thing is that I saw volunteer sign-up sheets pretty occupied. Of all works that sent home , I don't see any science project at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

Class sizes can be as high as 29 per teacher at this school. Kindergarten class size ranges around 23. Most teachers are outstanding. There was one Spanish teacher who was insulting and frightening. it took a long time to get rid of her--administrators kept defending her instead of disciplining her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I have two kids at Manzanita and overall, we are happy with it. But we've been there for 4 years now and there has never been the 14:1 student:certified techer ratio that your website says. That's completely misleading letting parents think that is the teacher student ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Always a good choice, I chose my residence based on attendance district for this elementary. Just sad state funding has gotten so bad that my daughter will not get the same smaller class sizes her brothers did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

I agree with the comment that the teachers are overworked. But hey, nobody's making them take the job and they get summers off... I think they're willing to work with such intensity because it's worth it for them: they get an appreciative student body who really learn, get great scores, and don't cause the sort of problems that kids in other schools have. Hey, the teachers in those schools also are overworked: putting out fires that they wouldn't have to if they put more 'work-smarter' effort into fostering a better learning environment. A few of the teachers that I've met have been kinda too dramatic, but I can tell that it's because they really care about having a quality educational experience for the kids. And it works... The principal has that place running like a top.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2006

Have had a son who has attended Manzanita for 3 years. Great Values, teachers are great as well after school care program. Principal is very much a part of the kids school day. Special needs could be better for those who have minimal special needs. Could not imagine any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

Very disciplined . Has an advanced math and Science program. Affluent district. Located with a great view of the mountains. Kids are quite nice and the school responds to any poor behavior
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

Pretty good for above-average kids; but not so much for very bright kids or for kids with non-traditional learning styles. Some excellent teachers, but a few sub-par ones, too. Parents very involved; lots of professionals. Homogenous group. Nice principal, but over-worked teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2005

Parents are very involved and the school is extremely supportive and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

Incredible school! We've had nothing but positive experiences at Manzanita.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

Excellent school--my daughter loves this school, peers, and environment. She keeps on looking forward to attend there daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2003

Absolutely wonderful school!


Posted March 11, 2003

Manzanita is a school with a positive attitude towad children and very high expectations.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 42%
Hispanic 19% 42%
Asian 14% 3%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3000 E. Manzanita Ave.
Tucson, AZ 85718
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 577-5320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Learning Lab
Tucson, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT