Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mesa Verde Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 366 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2011

My son is in 5th grade at Mesa Verde and has attended since 1st. Compared to his kindergarten school, Rio Vista, I LOVE Mesa Verde. The principal, Mr. Hepler, is awesome and very involved with students. He is always out and about on campus and knows all the kids by name. In fact, as it is such a small school, my son knows all the faculty and they all know him. They do have various community building activities which I think help to make this a great school. Teachrs all seem to care but some are just plain better than others, which is true of any school. The one thing I wish was better is communication between parents and teachers. I know the Amphi school district is working on a portal website for online access to student records, such as homework and assignments, and hopefully this helps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

It's time to change the School's official name... Does "Christina GREEN Elementary School" sound appropriate?


Posted October 13, 2010

I used to work at Mesa Verde Elementary as a Teacher's Assistant with special needs kids. All of the teachers were so hard-working,dedicated, creative, and supportive to the kids in meeting their educational goals, and the kids themselves were wonderful to work with!


Posted May 25, 2010

I felt a little isolated at this school as far as connecting with parents and teachers. My daughter's class did not take parent volunteers (I think Kindergarten, 1st, and 2nd grade classes should always take volunteers, studies show how kids self esteem improves with volunteers, and this gives the kids more individualized help and attention.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

As a parent of a Mesa Verde 4th grader, we are extremely pleased with the school, teachers, and administration. Our experience over the last 4 years has been excellent. My wife and I would recommend Mesa Verde for any age/grade. Thank you Mesa Verde teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

My daughter is in the 4th grade this year and has attended Mesa Verde for 4 years. This is an excellent school and she is excited to go every school day. The teachers and staff are great and all call her by her first name. This school is like one big family. I wish they offered pre-school for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

My son is in kindergarten at Mesa Verde this year, and we are very happy with our experiences so far. His teacher (Ms. Boreson) is great, and always makes a point to keep us aware of his progress. He had a little trouble adjusting to being in a school environment, and she came up with a great plan to help him transition. She is great with all of the kids. I really can't say enough good things about her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

Mesa Verde has been a great school for my child. The school is small, so everyone knows everyone. It is great to hear all of the staff call my child by name. My child is in the third grade and has attended Mesa Verde since the First grade. All of her teachers have been great. I would recommend this school to anyone who lives in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

My daughter just started Kindergarten and she loves this school. I have been very satisfied with things thus far. This school keeps up with old traditions such as school picnics to keep the spirit up. It reminds of my old elementary school out of state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

I can only say great things about Mesa Verde Elementary. My kids have attended this school for 2 years. The teachers are great- I only had one problem with one teacher which is no longer with the school and when I did have a problem the principal intervened and helped me move my daughter to a new class. The special education department is wonderful, the principal is wonderful and goes out of his way to help, the office staff is friendly and very helpful. I can't say things good enough. Unfortunately we have to move across town and my children won't be able to attend Mesa Verde anymore but if I could I would send them here until middle school and continue to send my other kids here as well. You won't have any regrets sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

My child has been enrolled in this school for 4 years. Teachers are 'hit or miss' as far as our experience. 2 wonderful teachers, 1 that should be nowhere near children & one that means well - but might just need more experience with children's needs. I would not give this school my recommendation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

Mesa Verde is a wonderfu school. The principal cares about each student. There teachers are awesome, especially Mr. Govig. I love this school and would recommend it to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

We have never lived within district boundaries of Mesa Verde, but recieved such a high recommendation, I decided to send my son there. I have been so impressed and my son has been so happy, that he had been attending through open-enrollment for for the past five years! We love Mesa Verde.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2006

Mesa Verde School demonstrates quality education for our children. The principal exhibits child-centered leadership-- the teachers we have met so far have high expectations for our children's learning potentials. Barbara Borich
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

My son entered the 2nd grade transitioning from the 1st grade in NYC The Principal (Mr. Hepler), Staff (Ms. Walsh), his Teacher (Ms. Hut) were simply terrific on every level, academically & psycho-socially. And, yes, Parent involvement is extremely valued/encouraged!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

This is a great school. The teachers and staff are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

Mesa Verde is an excellent public elementary school, the majority of the teachers are very committed and the principal is the best I have ever encountered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

In the short time my son has been enrolled at Mesa Verde, I have been very happy. The teachers and administration are helpful, courteous, and care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

Mesa Verde has been a great experience for my son. The Teachers are helpful and take the time to learn about each student and their needs. The class rooms show the achievement of all the students on the walls for the year. The office staff and Teachers make you feel welcome at all times. I am proud to have my children go to Mesa Verde.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2004

This is what elementary school should be. They provide a campus where the children are safe and respectful and where parents feel welcome to participate in all aspects of their childrens education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 25% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1661 W Sage
Tucson, AZ 85704
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT