Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palo Verde High Magnet School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2012

Palo Verde has really "turned it around". Take a look at our Achievements: In the 2011-2012 school year, Palo Verde earned a B rating according to the Arizona Department of Education Letter Grade Evaluation. 99% of Palo Verde students completed the AIMS testing in 2011-2012 school year. 86% graduation rate in 2012. 80% of students show overall satisfaction with school (2012 School Quality Survey) Over 60 students participated in job shadow/internship experiences in the 2011-2012 school year. First high school in TUSD to hold AP Boot Camp. Finished 4th in TUSD Superintendent s Cup Competition in 2012. Placed 2nd in the State Girls Soccer Tournament in 2012. Reached the Final 4 in the State Girls Basketball Tournament in 2012. Best of the Best Award - 2012 Cleanest High School in TUSD. I'm proud of our STUDENTS, our TEACHERS & STAFF, and the dynamic moving force: the ADMINISTRATION! Take a look yourself. Attend our Fine Arts Presentations, see the "Students of the Month" and Award ceremonies, watch our Athletes in their chosen sports. These students are succeeding and on the move to be successful in their future endeavors.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 19, 2011

It's sad to see what Palo Verde has turned out to be. It was such a great school in the past and now not only are locker doors just hanging all broken, but they can't even keep the teachers, one of my son's still doesn't have a math teacher and it's already the beginning of the second quarter. My other son keeps getting his classes switched around( no teacher, not enough students, etc.) So sad!!! We'll be looking for another school for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

Palo Verde is one of the best schools that I have been to in a long time. A vast majority of teachers are extreamly dedicated to their students safety, well-being and education. Homework being lost is unheard of. (It's only been 'stolen' by the boogyman at Fry's.) PV's extracurricular activities are near perfect. In my freshmen year (05-06) the varsity football team won the state championship. Also, 06-07's Titan Players (advanced drama students, which I am 1 of)made it to state competitions. I've had excellent teachers like Mr. Anderson, Mrs. Johnson, and Ms. Ihrke. Mr Anderson had taught me so much in my Soph. Honors english class that I was more then happy to know I had him for junior english (due to a lack of space in our EVER growing AP classes.)Students with a desire to learn learn much. Believe it from someone that's been going, and STILL goes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2007

Palo Verde does have its weak spots, just like every other school across the world. Your never going to find a perfect school. I would highly recommend Palo Verde as a high school of choice though. The students at Palo Verde have the right to speak their minds, and their voice is always heard. If the parents really want to help their child, and are being ignored, then they should go down to the school, and address the problem to whom it may concern; and there should be no excuse to why they cant. If they have the time to worry about it, they have the time to confront it. The faculty is always willing to help, and always there if a fault is made. I have attended Palo Verde for 3 years, senior now, and love it. If you want more information contact me, I'd be happy to help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2007

The school does not focus on its priorities and goals as should be for a 'Engineer & Technology'. It also does not have good staff who are able to give parent a right answer rightaway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

I have attended Palo Verde for 3 years now, going on my senior year. I love it here! Teachers are great and so are the principals and the activities. There are so many to chose from! I'm a member of volleyball, YES, DECA and student council. High school is what you make of it, if your kids aren't involved, don't participate in class, or just don't talk to their teachers about their grades or ask questions then yes, you might not like PV...but every school is that way unless it's a charter school in which you don't get the activities or AP and honors courses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2007

My child will not be attending next year. I found the teachers detached and disinterested. My daughter's homework was lost by more that one teacher on more than one occasion. Homework credit was given to some and not to others for identical work handed in at the same time. When I sent a note asking why, I was ignored. My child received high marks on work that contained incorrect grammar, spelling, punctuation, etc. but fulfilled the assignment objective of writing an Argumentative paper. Quite a disservice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

I would love to know what planet is tucson living on. The administration just turn their heads like there is a problem with the children. Not dealing with the entire problem. We have only been living here for one year and I must say things need to change in tucson and at Palo Verde.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

Great school for technical/engineering prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2005

Palo Verde is a very great school for students looking to get a excellent education before entering college. Palo Verde has tremendous extracurricular activities. PV won this year's first 2005 State 4A Division Championship since 1972. PV also has a fantastic musical program for students including choir, orchestra, and band. There is also Titan players which is a drama club which performs for the school. There is basketball, football, softball, soccer, baseball, volleyball, dance, and cheerleading if you're interested in sports. PV also gives great after school clubs and tutoring in Math, Science, and other classes to. Parents are a big part of PV to with helping with fundraisers, showing support for our teams, and just being there for their kids. PV has a friendly campus with a two story building and a gigantic gym. Palo Verde is sure to keep your child educated and involved to become a future star.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2005

This school has a great academic program that is very progressive. They have very versatile extracurricular activity programs that keep the student interested. But the level of parent involvement opportunities are a little lacking. Overall a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

This school is one of the best their are hardly any racism, gangs, ethnic fights etc teachers respect u and Mr.Gasteulleum is the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2005

This school has gone through 4 principals in the last 10 years-- at least. Every time you turn around; a new principal. One of the latest principals made it impossible for teachers to implement discipline and the school suffered because of it. I would avoid this school until there is a greater control of the students and the staff is supported.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2004

The teachers don't seem at all invested in the success of their pupils.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2004

If you want your teenager to get a proper high school education, I suggest you take them to another school. Palo Verde High School is so unorganized, its hard to find where the chalkboard begins and where it ends.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 4, 2004

there is a huge teacher shortage, hardly and discipline, the principal who was supposed to make the school better was just fired due to excessive complaints from teachers, and not ebough money goes toward extra curricular activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2003

I love the school,especially the teachers like Anderson, Gonzalez, Feehs, and Soulier are the best!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2003

Palo Verde High Magnet School has been a awesome experience for our Family. The teacher's are very good. The teacher we have had care very much about our child's education. We have not ran across one negative issue. We are very happy with Palo Verde.


Posted October 15, 2002

Overall the school has been a huge disappointment. The new principal, Dr. Bishop will do wonderful things for the school in the years to come, but the current administration under her needs to be overhauled. Always an excuse why things are bad, no one wants to claim responsibility for errors that are made.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Underperforming".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 43%
White 30% 42%
Black 14% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 584-7441

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1302 S. Avenida Vega
Tucson, AZ 85710
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT