Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Richard B Wilson Jr School

Public | PK-8 | 1115 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2005

Our daughter came here from a highly rated elementary school in california. It was in march of 2004. We found that she was significantly behind the children at wilson. She went to summer school after the fourth grade and again after the fifth grade. She is catching up but it has been a real struggle. The teachers at wilson have consistently taught the core basic subjects necessary for a child to learn. Reading, spelling, math etc. We are very pleased with all phases of the education our daughter is receiving at wilson. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

I think some of the teachers are a somewhat to traditional in that too many worksheets are used. I would prefer more real world experiences by having the children doing...researching....experimenting. In fifth grade my child was bored. The gifted program is not very organized and creative. Two of my children have a great teachers....so I think a successful school year would be based on which teacher the childen would get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

My son has attended this school for one year (1st grade) and so far I have been very happy with the school's performance and treatment of my son. A fairly conservative environment (a plus for us) and a fairly high socio-economic mix, we are pleased that the school can offer art, music, sports, etc. Tons of parent involvement; also a plus for us. Terrific admin. staff and supportive nursing staff when needed. Lots of communication from school and very active PTO with many opportunities to help and plenty of parents to participate. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

Wilson overall is a very good school. They push the kids very hard in academics. I believe they want to be a school that is always excelling and not settling for anything less. Parent involvement is very high at this school as well, which contributes to students' success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

My daughter has been a student at Wilson since 1st grade. Without exception, she has been provided with stellar academic challenges along with many opportunities to become involved in sports and extra curricular activities. The school enjoys high parental and community participation providing for a safe and enriching school environment. Her teachers have been willing to meet with me and conference with her when necessary to improve her achievement. The school has a homework hotline and a website to keep families informed and involved. Peer groups are excellent although student diversity is not high at this school. The school enjoys the benefits of an affluent constituent neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

I have two children at Wilson, one in kindergarden and the other in 3rd grade. We have been extremely happy with their teachers and with the school in general. The art and music programs are terrific!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2003

Standing ovation to Mr. Erickson. Another great thing about Wilson is that the administration backs up its teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

The purpose of my filling out this form is in response to a previous message dated August 2003 in which someone has provided completely false information. The teachers at Wilson do not teach to the test. They teach to the curriculum provided in the Arizona State Standards as all teachers throughout the state should do. Furthermore they do so with the hearts and souls. I have seen them in action and can say wholeheartedly that I have never seen such a dedicated hardworking group of educators. I am blessed to have the privilege to work along side them. Next, our teachers average 13.36 years of experience. That is the average. Yes we have some teachers new to teaching and even so they too are doing an excellent job. On the other end of the spectrum we have some teachers who have been teaching 30+ years. Finally, we at Wilson welcome any comments that can make the school a better place as long as they are accurate. To the person who wrote the previous message please feel free to contact me to discuss this matter further, not hide behind the mask of anonymity. Sincerely, Daniel R. Erickson Assistant Principal Wilson K-8 School (520) 696-5802 derickso@amphi.com


Posted August 22, 2003

This school may enjoy some high ratings due to its policy of 'teaching to the tests'. It spends an inordinate amount of time in requiring students to study for the sole purpose of scoring well on the Standford and AIMs tests; unfortunately, in reality, it teaches its students next to nothing. Any education a student or his parents wish to obtain must be taught or learned at home on a student's own time. Most teachers have 1-2 years' teaching experience and are, truly, from the bottom of the barrel.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Hispanic 16% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2330 W Glover Rd
Tucson, AZ 85742
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Casas Christian School
Oro Valley, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT