Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

W Arthur Sewel Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 307 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 9, 2013

Is a A+ school as of 2013 has many things to provide students. Sports teams, band / orchestra / OMA, updated computer lab,and the entire campus was redone by the U of A in 2011. Students like their teachers and care for them like their own kids.


Posted August 22, 2013

My school is a wonderful place to work. We work as a team and support one another!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2013

Sewell provides great environment for learning. Students are held to high academic standards as well as given many opportunities for personal growth. Students are encouraged to participate in music and athletics.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2013

Sewell is an "A" school with educators who are extremely dedicated and committed to student success. It is a pleasure working in such a positive environment. We collaborate to guarantee students achieve beyond their highest potential. Sewell is a Ben's Bells kindness school with some of the most respectful students. Children support each other and are understanding of individual differences. Sewell is also an OMA school which offers many unique musical and creative opportunities throughout all grade levels. The sports program is top notch, along with the rigorous academics. I wouldn't want to work anywhere else!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2013

Sewell is a great school in so many ways! It has wonderful teachers and staff members. Sewell challenges students to high academic standards and expectations! The principal is well liked, and holds teachers to high expectations themselves! The sports program is one of, if not, the top elementary program in TUSD! Students enjoy coming to Sewell!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 25, 2013

Love it! So many opportunities for my son- sports , academics - we got it all here! We were transplants from a closure - but earned our keep last year !! Such a family for public school - absolutely LOVE Sewell ! Watching my boy grow in this environment is priceless! Proudest Mom ever
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

All my three sons have atttended Sewell Elementary (one is in high school, one in middle school and one is still at Sewell) and I can't praise Sewell enough for the quality of education and extra curricular activities it offers its students. From Opening Minds through the Arts to community involvement such as partnering with a nearby retirement community, to sports and more.. .the students are getting a well rounded education and learning to be good, productive members of their communities. IT's also a Ben's Bells Kindness school so kindness is at the core of everything the kids do and learn. The staff and administration and amazing. The principal is visible at all times, knows the kids' names and they know him. It truly is a model school in TUSD, one that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a top-notch school for their kids. We love Sewell and are proud to be members of the Sewell Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2012

This school has been a hidden gem in the midst of all the troubles with TUSD. We have barely noticed any of the district's problems due to the wonderful teachers my boys have had at this school. The OMA program has a terrific director who genuinely cares about each student and exposes them to different cultural arts. The principal is always present and available among the students and kids. Awesome learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

The preschool at Sewell Elementary is amazing! I love the kind and caring teachers, staff and students. The OMA program at Sewell encourages self-expression and builds artistic abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

My granddaughter attends Sewell and I am so impressed overall with this School. I am very involved in volenteeering and such. She experiences lots of perks and field trips they have a great system to keep students on track and the teachers are wonderful! Basically Take Care of yourself, Take Care of Others and Take Care of Your School. I Love this school and feel she learns in a comfortable but academically based atmosphere. Thumbs up for Sewell!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

Principal not involved enough in student problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

My daughter is in the Autistic class for Sewel, and has been for the past 3 years. She has made so much progress the past 2 years with Lisa Larabee. Sadly, Ms. Lisa will not be at Sewel next year. But I'm hoping that my daughter will adjust and do well with her new teacher also. All of the staff at Sewel is very friendly. And it seems they make it a point to get to know as many of the students as they can. Each and every time I have gone to the school, they all know my daughter and always say hi to her. She loves going there. And she is very proud to be a 'Sewel Sabercat'. She earned an award of Student of the Quarter and was so excited when she received a Sewel t-shirt. She wears it all the time. Academically, she has advanced very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2005

Our first-grader really likes Sewell. His teachers (K and 1st) have been very supportive and helpful. He is reading and writing well above his grade level, and has been on field trips all over town (the zoo, a hospital, two plays, a science fair, etc.) The OMA program has gotten him involved with singing and music. There isn't as much parent involvement as one would hope. The same small group shows up for field trips and other activities, and the PTA is always hurting for active members. However, the annual Fun Fair and other fund raisers seem to be well-attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

My son is currently attending his 3rd year at Sewell Elem and we have had a very positive experience each year.We recommend this school to anyone looking for a stimulating learning environment for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 42%
White 33% 42%
Black 10% 5%
Two or more races 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 6%
Asian 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (520) 584-7201

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

425 N. Sahuara
Tucson, AZ 85711
Phone: (520) 584-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Tuller School
Tucson, AZ




Adventure School
Tucson, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT