Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Joseph Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $90,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2014

My son went to St. Joseph Catholic School from Kindergarten through 8th grade. He is in high school now and is in honors classes and has made honor roll. He was very prepared for high school thanks to the principal and teachers at St. Joseph. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

I am so happy with the progress my kids have made since we moved them to St. Joseph's. The principal has been more than supportive in helping each of my children succeed. Her changes and attitude have made a crucial impact in our life. It is because of her I will suggest this school to anyone I meet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

St. Joseph's is a school that creates and supports a culture of bullying. The principal refuses to address the issue, and hides behind an inadequate handbook. Students are subjected to verbal and physical harassment with the perpetrators receiving minimal consequences for their actions. In terms of spiritual development, this school is all talk an no action. Removal of the principal and replacing them with a stronger, more progressive individual would go a long way towards improvement. Compared to other catholic schools in the area, the academics are adequate if mediocre. Scholarship is not very well regarded amongst the students - especially those who contribute to the bullying problem. Because of minimal consequences for bullying, other children do not take a stand and speak up against the bullying - knowing full well they will become the next targets. Morally and ethically, this school is demonstrably disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

this is a great school could not be happier with the education my kids have gotten for St. Jos'e!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2011

We moved to Tucson from Virginia in 2004. We have had two kids graduate from St Joe's and three that are still there. We have been nothing short of amazed at the outstanding education and values our children have received there. The staff is terrific - caring & compassionate, yet challenging. Our graduates of St Joe's have goone on to do very well in HS due to their time at St Joe's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

We have been enrolled since 2003. This school has really been sliding the last few years. While academic expectations are high, emphasis on Christian values is almost non-existant. There is a bully problem. Administrators do not seem to notice, nor follow through. Although most teachers are good, they are not interested in hearing any criticism of teaching staff. Many families have fled and enrollment is so low, some grades are down to one class of 30 students. Even so, they have hiked up tutition. On top of that, we are nickle-and-dimed to death. The main emphasis here is on fund-raising.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

Great school! Have maintained very high academic standards over the last 6 years my family has been in school there. Our oldest is in college prepatory now and is getting straight A's due to the solid foundation he recieved at St. Jo's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

This school is amazing! by far better than others- as a student at St.Joe's I enjoy partying aswell as working. When we work, we work hard and a great motto at our school is...'Teacherson't give out grades...students earn them!'
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2007

The school is very well run and secure. Academics are disappointing though. It seems too much time and emphasis is spent on prizes and reward parties for mundane accomplishments rather than significant achievements. The children also seem rather pleased on how well they fare with little effort expended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

Wonderful school, a lot of parent involvement. Only downfall is very high studio ratio in classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

We moved in the middle of kindergarten and my son did great. We finished 1st grade and now we're in 2nd. Great parent/teacher involvement. Test scores are good. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 42%
Hispanic 42% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Tucson
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

215 South Craycroft Road
Tucson, AZ 85711
Phone: (520) 747-3060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tuller School
Tucson, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT