Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Gregory School

Private | 5-12 | 290 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, October 26, 2014

We couldn't be happier with this school. It offers the perfect combination of academics, community and extracurricular activities. My kids moved from a local charter school that absolutely killed their love of learning. It's back at the Gregory School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2014

Tucson has so many options for high school, and I looked at each one objectively for my child and chose Gregory for many reasons. Overall it provides the most well-rounded education, if you care about great academics as well as great art, sports and extracurricular clubs and being held accountable for community projects, then Gregory is the best option. The classes are small, teachers respond immediately to concerns and tutoring is offered daily, and encouraged. The athletic teams have great school spirit, we have highly ranked teams going to states, and art classes that are more inspired than those I took in college. The campus is the most attractive in all of Tucson and the science building is incomparable with beautiful labs and inspired teachers. There is dedicated college counseling with a very devoted counselor and a huge college fair annually. The student body has a large international contingent, my child has friends from South Africa, German, Ukraine, China, Turkey and Brazil. It's incredible! I think it's impossible to find a better option for middle or high school, just send your child for a one day on campus visit and they will not want to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2014

While it was just renamed, the school is still the same. My daughter is in high school and her teachers are excellent. They all have advanced degrees in the field and they are experienced in the classroom. The academics are great preparation for a top-tier college or university, but they value critical thinking, writing skills, and creativity over pure test prep like you see at many other schools. Students are well rounded because of arts, sports, and extracurriculars. The education is great, but the school is run by its biggest donors who are appointed to the school board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

St. Gregory completely prepared both of my children for college. They went to competitive universities and one has sailed through and graduated, while the other is a junior and doing beautifully. Both will tell you that it was their preparation at St. Gregory that afforded them the opportunity to become critical thinkers, have a connection to their college professors, and most importantly have a desire to be lifelong learners. It was worth every cent....enroll today. I cannot believe that my grown children still think that St. Gregory was the best choice they ever made.


Posted November 29, 2013

Small class size, excellent curricular approaches, family-like student/faculty relationship, rigorous education in preparation for entry into college/university of choice. Minimal teach-to-state/fed test misdirection. Excellent paving-the-way to the higher level experience. The new leadership is bringing an even more superior approach to giving the students every possible step up in his or her journey through the educational process.


Posted June 10, 2013

omg this place is awesome i love it more than any other school in el mundo
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2012

I strongly encouraged my grandson to attend St Gregory's now 3 1/2 yrs ago. I am overwhelmed with the broad education he has received, many of the courses being advanced. The school has provided a medium for him to excel as a leader, as a very creative contributor to the audiovisual needs of the school, as a poised liberal arts educated young man and involvement in school athletics. To put a number on his education, his pre-college testing has placed him in the top 1% nationally. A retired U of A professor.


Posted September 23, 2012

This is a great school! I highly recommend it to anyone looking for great academics, fun athletics, and to educate the whole child. There are many extracurricular activities and opportunities, for example summer trips to a foreign country to immerse yourself in the language and culture (a big part of learning a language here). Students participate in activities having to do with the core values: character, scholarship, leadership, and innovation. This is not just a school for rich kids. While many of the families here are well-off, many are not. 1/3 of the school is on financial aid, and several students are on scholarship. The teachers here are excellent and very on the ball. Academic-wise, the students are very challenged. They can test into higher level classes, such as those having to do with math or languages. Socially, students are very accepting compared to students from a public middle or high school. Again, this is a wonderful school!


Posted August 12, 2012

St. Gregory has an outstanding academic course with attention that you will not find at ANY other school. All the grades make a special bonding with each other even though ages differ. You make a special bonding with teachers and the environment is just so welcoming and comfortable that help you study at your fullest.


Posted January 11, 2012

My children have been at St. Gregory since middle school. We have been very pleased and impressed by the incredibly dedicated, caring and involved teachers/staff. They know my children. They take a special interest in their progress (or lack thereof if there is a problem, the teachers are right on top of it!) The work that my kids are doing in class far surpasses that of any of their peers in town. They are taught how to think critically, how to ask the right questions and to write well. They have to make presentations to their peers and to the school. Learning how to speak in front of groups is a wonderful skill. These kids will be extremely well prepared for college and for whatever career/life path they pursue. St. Gregory is an accredited Independent School, the only one in town. There are national standards that must be met to achieve this.(NAIS.org) This school strives to educate the whole child, not teach to the test. This is a personal choice. If you value that then this is the place for your child. I feel that the school has very strong leadership and a clear direction. The school is also very diverse and has 1/3 on financial aid. Dollars do not talk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

St. Gregory is a wonderful school. My child has been at St. Greg's from middle school and will be here until high school graduation. This school is just as wonderful as the very selective Independent Private Schools where we moved from. The teachers are very caring and committed to bringing out the best in each student. The environment is very positive and the kids are happy. I'm sorry that the person who left the dismal review had such a poor experience. I have spoken to many, many parents and former students and can say that person is definitely in the minority. If you are looking for a school, I can highly recommend St. Gregory for a superb education and a great all around school experience that will benefit your child for a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

This is an amazing school. My son is in his 4th year at St. Gregory and has received a great education there. We are grateful for the educational rigor, individualized attention and commitment to excellence. My son is a top student and really values being appreciated by the staff & faculty for his intellectual curiosity and enthusiasm. There are many, many bright kids at this school that are thriving. St. Gregory just celebrated their 30th anniversary and has grown in attendance every year that my son has been there. We really believe they are committed to the promises they make in preparing students to be leaders and innovators for the 21st century. It makes me crazy to read reviews like the 2 before this one, undoubtedly written by the same parent, because they clearly had expected an exclusively academic experience and were surprised to find out that St. Gregory offers their students so much more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

To whomever may have read my comment from August 22, 2011. I owe a huge apology if your choice was influence in anyway by that comment. St. Gregory is a sinking ship. The honeymoon period wore off quickly and it was a great disappointment. The curriculum is substandard! There is no expectation and therefore no performance. Every one gets an A as long as they show up. Most of the teachers are okay, but the liberalness of the school is "crazy". I removed my daughter as soon as possible and she return to BASIS. A school I highly recommend, if your student is hardworking. St. Gregory's was a HUGE MISTAKE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

There are some major problems at this school. Staff turnover is high, many of the teachers are disorganized and lacking in ability to control their classes. The discipline of students is sporadic at best and no matter what the infraction a donation will make it all go away. Complain about a teacher and the stock response is your kid is a troublemaker. Teachers use innapropriate language to students. There is a lot of bullying.


Posted September 17, 2008

If you have been looking for a great middle school, look no farther! Tucson really lacks in this area and is fortunate to have St. Gregory. Students have many opportunities for learning. The faculty is great. The school prepares well for high school.


Posted August 31, 2008

I am commenting on the Upper School. Our children started at St. Gregory during their freshman years. We wanted them in a good school that was safe. Words can not describe how wonderful we think this school is. The headmaster is one of the finest human beings you will ever meet. Susan Heintz, the upper school head, is the most 'with it' person I know. The faculty members are incredible teachers as well as wonderful human beings.There has been very little turnover and both of our kids have had the same solid core of teachers. We are not wealthy but our kids have been treated just like anyone else. We have never regretted the money we have spent on this school. It has been worth every cent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

The Great teachers never seem to stay more than 1 yr. Head of middle shool has changed a couple of times in 2 yrs. Their commitment to Character is not true. This school used to be known for it's academics and integrity, now it's all about the kids whose parents donate the most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

This is a review for the Middle School. Our child was at St. Greg for the 3 yr. Middle School Program. Something is very, very wrong at this school. High, high, high staff turnover, no leadership. Every leader has left, most teachers (in the middle school) have left in the three years our child attended there. Very high pricetag for the 'quality' of teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

I echo the words of praise for St. Gregory. The faculty is a collection of some of the finest educators in the teaching profession. They are truly caring human beings. There was never a doubt that my child would be safe and supported at SG and now that he is excelling in college, I know we made the right decision. It really is a college preparatory school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

St. Gregory Middle School is definiatly the best middle school in the city. I tried sending my kid to Orange Grove Middle School, and found St. Gregory was way ahead in everything. Even though at St. Gregory middle school you might find your child struggling because of the tough curricular, then ends benefits will highly pay off. The middle school prepares their student to be very succussful at almost any public highschool. If you have the money and value education, then send your child to St. Gregory.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Julie Sherrill
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS & ISAS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3231 North Craycroft Road
Tucson, AZ 85712
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 327-6395

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT