Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Tucson, AZ
Students enrolled: 320
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 41 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Michael's School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
This is our sixth year at St. Michael's and I still drive away from school every morning feeling immensely grateful that my child spends his days in a beautiful campus being challenged, nurtured, and cared for. This is an exceptional school that manages to balance demanding academics with a strong arts program and plenty of athletic opportunities. Every teacher we have had has been not just highly qualified, but incredibly dedicated. Every year I have felt my son's teachers knew him well, cared for him, and took the time to figure out his needs. As a non-religious non-parishioner I truly cannot relate to previous reviews that describe feeling there is preference for students and teachers that belong to the church. In my experience, St. Michael's is a close-knit, supportive, inclusive community. We're definitely staying through 8th grade and can't wait for middle school!

St. Michael's School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
This is our 3rd year at St. Michael's and we couldn't be happier! We came from what was supposed to be a one of the best public elementary schools in Tucson. They could not challenge our child due to the high class sizes and was bored and not learning a thing! All of the teachers we have had at St. Michael's have been wonderful. They are caring and professional. The new head of school is wonderful. She genuinely cares for all the students and their families. She is out front each morning to greet us as we drop of our children, never saw the principal at the public school do this! Our children love this school and have asked to stay there though 8th grade. They say the kids are nice and they are not bullied like they were at the public school. The parent involvement here is fantastic! St. Michael's is truly a special place and we are glad to be a part of it!


St. Michael's School 1

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
Very poor experience. Administration management quite unprofessional and education not worth the high price tag.

St. Michael's School 1

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
Political cartel of parent s and admin who sing from the same choir book make this school intolerable. Ineffectual senior directors complete the sad end to this once fine school. There are terribly poor teachers in this school that frankly, should have retired years ago. They are tired, mean spirited phone-it-in individuals and the children suffer for it. Science and math are sub-par for a private school (8000/year or so - are they kidling?).

St. Michael's School 5

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
St. Michael's is full of kind hearted children from loving homes. Families appear to give more than they receive. Beyond the generous monetary gifts and the volunteering of time, families interconnect and want all the children to thrive. Families go to basketball games, even when their children aren't on the team. Families support the school play, even when their children aren't in the cast. The school has a buddy system which allows the grades to interact on a regular basis, the other classrooms aren't filled with strangers, but they are filled with friends. We are getting ready to start our 6th year at St. Michael's and both our children love their teachers, their friends and their school. They are happy, they are learning and they want to go to St. Michael's. St. Michael's has so many families that I want my children to be around. When I look at the school through their eyes, there isn't another choice.


St. Michael's School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
We have found St. Michael's an excellent school, where our child has thrived since moving from Houston, TX, in 2011/12. We do not see preferential treatment based on race, religion or lack of it. We have experienced transparent Parent-Teacher relationships in her 2 years here, and have not regretted our choice of St. Michael's.

St. Michael's School 5

Posted May 19, 2013
- a parent
The school has evolved to become one of the best schools in town. The academics, atmosphere, and athletics have made my children become well rounded people.

St. Michael's School 1

Posted April 20, 2013
- a parent
I feel the reviewer on April 6th below expresses the feelings of a very small community of people in this school. We did not like the way our children were treated here and they now attend an academically advanced charter school. The science was very poorly taught in this school and the teachers were not able to teach math to the level the children needed for complete comprehension in order to score well on testing. Our children are now thriving elsewhere and we feel we should never have enrolled them here in the first place. I agree there is too much politics in the school and this reflects on how the children are treated. There were teachers that picked favorites and treated others very poorly. The academic directors should retire and fresh faculty needs to reform the school. None of these changes seemed to be on the horizon and it does not look like the new Headmistress will change anything. Too much parent involvement lead to some key parents being power hungry and taking over too many activities and not allowing other parents in the school to be involved. Board members and parent association chairs should have a one term limit, this is key for limiting their influence.


St. Michael's School 5

Posted April 06, 2013
- a parent
Our child has attended St. Michael's since kindergarten. The new headmistress appears to be well qualified, professional, and nurturing. Also, the headmistress appears to be open and welcoming to parental input. The K-3 teachers are nurturing, dedicated, and simply amazing! Our child has loved each one and has thrived in their classrooms. Our child has been challenged academically and often does work a grade ahead of what is taught in public schools. We love the small class sizes. The students are well mannered, articulate, responsible, and kind. The art/music teachers truly challenge the kids to explore and love the fine arts. There are a lot of options for after school activities. The drama teacher is one of the best in Tucson. The school community is welcoming and there is high parent involvement. Like most schools, St. Michael's would benefit if it encouraged a few of its teachers to retire. Overall, though, we think the school is amazing! We love the academics, excellent staff, reinforcement of values, and friendly community.

St. Michael's School 1

Posted April 03, 2013
- a parent
i completely agree with the reviewer on 3/22/2013. We too experienced disrespectful behavior from the faculty of this school. They claim to teach the children manners but fail themselves to show any of it towards many parents. The headmaster ran the school on rumored nonsense he would hear from the teachers and curriculum heads and have conferences with parents regarding their "behavior". Our experience has been that professionalism is not something that is practiced by the faculty of this school. There appears to be no protocol of appropriate conduct on behalf of the faculty here, they can do as they please. As long as they are part of the church their position is secure. We too have now enrolled our children elsewhere and they are much happier and less stressed. We also were not happy with the curriculum, it seems they spend very little time teaching relevant topics like math during school time and would load them up with homework and have them figure it out at home. Not sure what we were paying tuition for when we spent all our time reteaching our kids the material at home.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Michael's School
602 N Wilmot Rd, Tucson, AZ  85711
(520) 722-8478
Last modified St. Michael's School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Michael's School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top