Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

La Paloma Academy

Charter | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 16 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

This school is not bad for elementary. but honestly the administration could care less. All they care about is that the money keeps coming in. The discipline at this school is a joke. Just as the after school program is a joke. The afterschool program is just kids playing outside for hours after school with barely any supervision. Parents please dont be fooled, there are way better schools to send your child to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

I've found this schoo lis only going downhill.My son complains about being bullied and other children get bullied but nothing is done about it.The biggest bully he has had this year is the school founders son! He had a rock thrown at this face, it caused a red mark on his cheek right under the eye. Punishment for the bully, to pick up trash.Had a student spit on his backpack and throw it down right in front of him, nothing done about that even when reported to the monitor by him and the office by me.I even had the spit covered back pack in my hands.He has had two backpacks stolen this year and countless jackets, pens, pencils, markers, I bought a lockable pencil box and someone stole the key from his desk so it was locked shut.His 3DS was in his backpack.The pack showed up a few days later but no game system.Did the school attempt to help at all, ask students do anything not one bit.His fault for taking it to school in the first place but at least pretend to care.The principal does get back to you same day when bullying is reported by a parent but the problems just don't seem to be improving.I won't be taking him back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

La Paloma Academy Central has been a blessing for me and my children. They have excelled and grown both socially and academically since they have attended this school. With their recent additions in their sports programs to include 4th- 8th grades and addition of tackle football for junior high it has made this educational setting well rounded and solid compared to any other public school setting in our community. Great Job.. Keep it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

La Paloma Academy is a caring and supportive environment for students in grades K-8. Every day caring and dedicated teachers are working hard to ensure students academic success. Students are encouraged to dream big and to work to their full potential, so they can achieve their dreams. Mrs. Sullivan
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2012

La Paloma Academy's staff is professional, highly qualified, and strives for academic excellence. Incredible improvements have been made over the past few years! Leadership is strong and it resonates through the teachers and onto the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 29, 2012

Thank you for the amazing Harvest Fest. We brought our entire family and they had so much fun. Its fun to see all the teachers and administrators out there working. Food was great. Our kids had so much fun, thank you. I thank you for everything you do above and beyond the normal school stuff, makes us really feel like we belong. I have two kids there and our youngest will be there in a year, they love their teachers. Thank you to Mr. Williams, the coach, for doing an outstanding job with the sports. My son is on the tackle football team and they are going to the championship game!!!!! I cant say enough good things about this school. Keep up the good work Mr. Rubasch and Mr. Ewald and everyone else there that makes this a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

This is my first year teaching at La Paloma-Lakeside and I am enjoying the school, the students and staff tremendously. It is an excellent working environment and I do enjoy working with the students on a daily basis. The staff have been very helpful. La Paloma is a great school and a school that is good for the community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 29, 2012

This is my first year teaching at La Paloma/Lakeside, but not my first year teaching and I find the school run by three amazingly capable, caring, courteous, creative, and professional on site administrators. Their strong leadership is the bedrock foundation of what makes LaPaloma/Laskeside a great school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 26, 2012

I think its great that the administrators would write about their school as well as have their own kids there. Works for me! My son moved twice before we ended up at La Paloma. My coworker has her two kids there and talks about the school all the time. The teachers there are nice and helpful and for the first time in 5 years my son actually is enjoying school and his grades are improving. Thank you for giving us a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2012

You can tell which of these reviews were written by the school's administrators. The thing is, if you want to decide whether you should send your children here, look at the test scores which are NOT good and have gotten worse. Also, look up the financial information of the school if you have the time. Something is not right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

Six of my children have all attended La Paloma Academy. It is still the best school I have been a part of. It is a second home to my kids and their friends. The school is a safe place where everyone truly cares about the kids. I appreciate the strong academics and emphasis on family values--and I love all the community events such as the Harvest Fest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

I love this school and the teachers. Nice group of people who really took the time to help my kids. They have already learned more than they did at their other schools and I like the smaller campus. It feels safe and happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

Thank you La Paloma Academy for what you did for my daughter. She wasn't well liked at her other school and had a very low self esteem. It was devastating trying to get her up every morning and she was becomming depressed and her grades falling to D's and F's. We started there last week and she is a new child, happy, and yesterday I got a call from her teacher just to tell me how much she liked having my daughter. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

I am so please with this school! My child is in the 7th grade and she couldn't be happier. The principal to the teachers have really made it a place to belong and be successful. Thank you La Paloma!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

We Just moved our child from this school because he was being bullied and the school staff did not do anything to stop it. Instead they wanted to provide counseling services to our child since they believed that our child " had some self esteem issues". Very insane , right? But it is what the school professionals " including the Vice president Mr Elwards and the Counselor told me and my wife! . Totally insane! It is too bad because it used to be a great school. We don't recommend this school for any child..lots of future delinquents are good protected at la Paloma central campus
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

Do not enroll your kids at this school!!! The parent in the previous review is right! Many poor kids are being bullied by some " favorite kids" who have attended to the school for many years and thats why the school vice principal and other staff are protecting them. I moved my kid to another charter school this year because she was being bullied and I reported it to the Conuselor but he did not do anything about it. Everybody knows who are the bullies and they do not do nothing to stop them! It has became a very bad situation and if they do not do anything fast to stop the bullies then the school will become even worst. Give your kids a favor and do not enroll them at La Paloma!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2012

My son started at the Central Campus for his Kindergarten year, The teacher was ok, not the best, I gave it another try for 1st grade and that was a great experience for him. Thinking things were ok he started his 2nd grade year.. there were classroom problems that the staff could not resolve, They made it seam like it was my son's fault. He was bullied through out the year. He made several attempts to report it and one day he came home upset and crying saying he hates the school and some staff. They didn't help him, but told him to work out his own problems. Although there were no problems with his grades, the emotional stress was more than enough for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

Love this school! My daughter goes went to 3rd grade and she did very well because all the extra help of the teachers. Thank you La Paloma Academy-Lakeside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

I love this school! My kindergartener is having fabulous first year thanks to everyone that works there. Thumbs way up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2011

Be careful with this school. My son couldn't pass he AIMS test for 8th grade. He was not taught enough Algegra. He spent a year at Sylvan just to fill in the gaps of what La Paloma was teaching him. And that wasn't enough. La Paloma does 'social passing' for 8th graders. I know this because I talked with an 8th grader who didn't have the grades to pass 8th grade but La Paloma still passed him. I suggest you look for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 43%
White 37% 42%
Black 8% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Spanish
Ukranian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Ukranian
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:15
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Fax number
  • (520) 721-4263

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Ukranian
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • The students are involved in community service projects that connect them to the outside community. parents volunteer to help in classrooms, go on field trips, assist with school events, and help with fundraising.
More from this school
  • La Paloma Academy was built on the principles of character, teaching trustworthiness, caring, fairness, citizenship, responsibility, and respect. The school serves as an extension of the home and works to instill strong academic and social skills and help students become independent and self-confident learners.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2050 N. Wilmot Road
Tucson, AZ 85712
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 721-4205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Adventure School
Tucson, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT