Advertisement
Advertisement

San Miguel High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tucson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $74,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 29, 2012

First of all I'll be graduating this next school year from this school and honestly it's been one of the smartest things I've done in my life so far. For all those who are talking it up about how it only advertises itself and what not, well of course it is, it's a business? This school offers a lot, I already have a secured job after I graduate at a great workplace all Becaus of the opportunity I have here. The staff is amazing, I know every single one of them if not personally at least I can talk to them about how the days going. The education they offer is great, it's strict yes I know I'm going on my 4th year there but it's for our own good. Honestly there's nothing to bonplain about. I come from public schools and it wasn't anything I couldn't handle. And the fact that it targets Hispanics, why's wrong with that, were getting an opportunity to succeed. All those who complain about the school don't really appreciate what there being offered, I myself realize that by going to San Miguel I'm already more prepared than my friends at public schools! Not to say that at public schools there any less but here they actually push you to become the best you can. This school is worth it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2010

I love San Miguel High School because I have attended this school for nearly 4 years now and I have no complaints. I love the rigorous curriculum, the faculty, staff, teachers, and students who truly care about each other, and the great work experience all of the students gain there. This school is affordable to every family and offers much more than just a good education. Their work internship program truly helps kids gain useful work experience that will most definitely help them later on in life. This school is amazing in all it does for its students and all it does for the future of our community by helping build a brighter future for its students.


Posted June 11, 2010

My daughter is Freshman at San Miguel, and my expectations this year were not met at all, not even half way. they put way to much time into advertising than they do into the actual school. I do not mean to Generalize but its located on the South side, and it caters to low-income families. Do the math. dont get me wrong at all, I have seen some extraordinary students that go there (they're leaving this year) but my daughter says the classes are extremely obnoxious, not disciplined, immature, rude, mean, and very poorly behaved, I might as well have sent my daughter to a public school. Most of the kids are sent their by their parents to keep them out of trouble at public schools. As a way to discipline them, and my daughter is affected by this. There is absolutely no variety whatsoever. i would continue, but im limited
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

This is an excellent school for any student that wants to ready themselves for college or career or life in general. My son will be a junior next year and we both have been very pleased with his experience at San Miguel. Sure they have dress codes and rules, but they have wonderful teachers and strong leadership staff that truly care about the future of these kids and prepare them well. My son has truly grown as a person and the experience he has received from his CIP internship jobs has been invaluable. You get out of school what you make of it and that includes parent involvement also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

I am a student at San Miguel and I do not enjoy it. The school really does focus on college, the college counselors are constantly drilling college into our minds. It really is strong in some areas. I really enjoy the CIP (CORPORATE INTERNSHIP PROGRAM) it exposes me to possible career fields that i am considering of pursuing after high school. The uniform is really strict. its a community that focuses on education and service to others especially. because the school is located in Southside Tucson it is predominately Hispanic/Latino, it can be uncomfortable if you are outside of the Hispanic race. The students are not disciplined well. it is disturbing to your studies. and you do not change your classmates. its like elementary school where you are around the same kids from 8 to 3:30. so you better pray to God you get along with everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2010

What this school offers is not much. They say that they are a college prepatory high school. What i say is that i do not agree with what they have to say. As a junior at San Miguel i have seen countless times of horible behavior, workmanship, and overall the teachers are even worse. they say that they can teach us and all and that but i say that this is below unsastasfactory. i have wasted my 3 now on to four years at san miguel
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2009

This review is coming from a graduate of the first class...one part is definitely true...this school is not for everyone. It is for individuals who want to succeed both in the workplace and in school! I have succeeded far beyond my imagination since my freshman year! I was able to keep my faith and learn from the teachers who I can honestly say did a great deal for me as well as other students. Parents, I have witnessed other students completely give up and refuse to work at this school! But I have never seen a teacher give up on a student! This school is what you make it, just take advantage of the incredible opportinuties! As far as the curriculum, I had almost 12 college credits before I left SMHS. I didn't have to take 2 of my 3 university placement exams and was very preparred for my first semester!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2009

The school is what you make it,like any other school. It is a great school if you can take the pressure & the resources that are given to you.It can change & help your life completely.SMHS is not for everyone. You need to be in a certain mind set and wanting success.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2009

My daughter went there last year, the teachers were rude, no patience, the challenge at this school is to get along with the teachers, because they make everything harder for the students. Keep that in mind parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

This school advertises itself to be a college prep school. By that they mean someone else will do most of the legwork to get your student into a college. Be aware that this does not mean the curriculum or instruction is at an appropriate level which will allow your student to gain skills they need to succeed once they are in college. The 'rude' teachers that another reviewer spoke of are educated professionals who share their knowledge with students who for the most part do not want what is being offered. The 'rude' teachers who would like to spend the majority of their time teaching, instead deal with students' poor behavior, ridiculous excuses, and the defenses offered by their confrontational parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 26, 2009

It is a great school! it really changed my life around; i cant wait till next year come :dd
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

This school is a excellent school because their Corporate Internship Program gives the experience for any career that you are interested in. The academics there prepare for college/university which is great. This school is full of future educators, lawyers, doctors, and etc.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 85% 39%
White 8% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 11%
Black 2% 6%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (520) 294-6417

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Tucson
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 22199
Tucson, AZ 85706
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 294-6403

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT