Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tanque Verde High School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a student
I graduated from TVHS last year and I can honestly say those were the best four years of my life. I made so many great friends and I had the time of my life. The teachers were generally pretty good. Dr. Zreda is absolutely fantastic, I learned so much from her and I truly admire her passion for what she does. The overall atmosphere in the school was amazing and I'm sad to have to move on. GO HAWKS

Tanque Verde High School 2

Posted August 18, 2013
- a community member
I am a student at Tanque Verde High School. I've been here for a while (unfortunately,) and there is absolutely no diversity at this school. Everyone likes horses and if you don't like horses as much as they do, it's hard to find people to talk to. Lots of cliques. Lots of religious preeching. Teachers are decent, some are really good, some suck. Administration is unfair and rude. Getting really sick of this school in general. Counting down the days until I leave.


Tanque Verde High School 3

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
The high school is pretty good. It is small so that can be good or poor depending on the classes you want. Very limited selection of classes as the low enrollment limits the number of teachers and times/periods that classes are offered. Spanish is the only foreign language available. If you don't have internet or able to get to the public library most days you miss out on a lot because there are no school or class newsletters except on the internet and some assignments must be turned in on-line. There are no report cards sent home. You have to go on the internet to print it out - you can go in to the office and make a special request that your students report card be mailed to you, but that is an exception. Some of the classes are overcrowded, but I think all schools are probably like that now. There is one day a week when the school has a late start day so the kids have about a half hour to get in to see a teacher and or make up a test, but the teachers are busy too and sometimes have meetings or appointments so they are not always there at that time. It is as good or better than most schools. The office staff is very friendly and helpful which helps a lot.

Tanque Verde High School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
Tanque Verde High School net and exceeded our families expectations. Our child made life long friends not only amongst the students but with the teachers as well. Dr. Zreda, Debbie Mackinney and Dr. Sharon Akridge touched our daughters heart each day in many ways. The small school numbers provided smaller classes with more attention by the staff to allow students more indepth discussions on their subject materials. This young school rocked!

Tanque Verde High School 1

Posted January 09, 2012
- a parent
The Administration is terrible, pretty decent teachers though. Dr. Zreda is a great science teacher


Tanque Verde High School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a teacher
It's a small school and district by the Catalina Mountains in Tucson, Arizona. Everyone knows everyone and it's so nice to be able to walk around and know who is who. It's a very caring community with lots of parent help. The school really concentrates on improving education and having classes that help the environment. They have a great Special Education program that is very supportive through out the school. It gets lots of pear tutoring with other students, which is so important.

Tanque Verde High School 5

Posted March 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Tanque Verde High School 5

Posted March 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Tanque Verde High School 5

Posted February 14, 2009
- a parent
Tanque Verde High School is a blast from the past! Small classes. Great school spirit. Involved parents. Active sports programs. Caring, effective teachers. One of the best choices we ever made.

Tanque Verde High School 4

Posted August 27, 2008
- a parent
Though TVHS is a newer school, they have been strong. They are working on building more extracurricular activites. Teachers are helpful, students are kind. I'm glad for this smaller school. My child would get lost at one of the bigger high schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tanque Verde High School
4201 N. Melpomene, Tucson, AZ  85749
(520) 749-5751
Last modified Tanque Verde High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tanque Verde High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top